We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 West 200 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Playground
Ranked #9 of 75 hotels in Salt Lake City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Incredible hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

This was a truly incredible hotel! Very unique in its decor, but fun, clean, and modern. Room was large with a great view. You have the option of "adopting" a guppy for the night which was a fun added touch. Location is amazing, and if you are unsure of where to go for dinner ask at the front desk. They recommended an Italian place to us (Caffe Molise) which was about 5 minutes away and had by far the best Italian food we've ever had outside of Italy (and was probably better than some Italian food IN Italy!!). No breakfast included, but the hotel restaurant has amazing food (but on the pricier side). Valet parking is expensive - but there is a garage right next door for about 1/3 the price. Would return to this hotel in a second!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    352
    166
    45
    24
    14
See reviews for
72
198
44
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

I have been a frequent visitor to this hotel and have never been disappointed. The staff is extrememly attentive and pays attention to every little detail and are always very helpful. I love the boutique decor of the hotel. It's fun, yet classy and the differnet patters and colors make you feel relaxed, along with the laid back atmosphere. Perfect place for a little rest and relaxation which was just what we needed. It's right in the heart of downtown and is basically within walking distance to anything. We will definitely be back and I highly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

We were driving from Phoenix to Jackson Hole and decided to break our trip in Salt Lake. I went online to find hotels and Hotel Monaco seemed like a decent place to stay for a night. We were pleasantly surprised by the decor, rooms and central location However, the best feature was clearly their staff who were courteous and went out of there way to help.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

When I entered the Hotel Monaco, I instantly felt at home. The staff was inviting and made me feel welcome. The hotel was cozy and my room was delightful. I haven't slept that good in years. I will be back again soon, and often.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

I am a repeated customer at this hotel. I travel to SLC quarterly and always stay at the Monaco. The service is great, the staff pleasant and helpful. I recommend using their valet services for parking. The hotel is only a few minutes from great restaurants (including the one in the hotel) such as Takashi, The Melting Pot and so forth. The views are OK, but not great. Also, if you are travelling alone, they will set you up with your own gold fish companion. I named mine Sir Wiggle-A-Lot.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, CT
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

I can't say enough about how much I love this hotel. I stayed there twice and will stay there again next week. The only downside is their parking because it's all valet, but other than that, this place is flawless. It feels nice inside; the rooms are nice and immaculate. The staff is incredibly nice and helpful. I sleep better there than I do at home! I look forward to staying at this hotel every time I visit.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmhotelmonaco, Manager at Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2010
Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at the Hotel Monaco in Salt Lake City. We are so thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us! You mentioned that it was perfect other than the fact we only offer valet parking. We do have some self parking options nearby, I apologize that no one mentioned that to you when you made your reservation. We can't wait to have you staying with us again soon.

Warm Regards,

MaryLynn Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tropic777
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

We chose this hotel based on comments by people. What a great choice! Hotel is nearly flawless!
Walls a little thin but so are all hotels.
Dinner at the hotel was great-service great there and at front desk.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 15 West 200 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Spa Hotel in Salt Lake City
#6 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#14 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated boutique Hotel Monaco, located in the heart of downtown Salt Lake City, combines sumptuous décor, savvy service and superb amenities, making this luxury hotel unabashedly seductive. Set in a refurbished landmark building, the hotel sits across from the Capitol Theater and near Energy Solutions Arena,historic Temple Square, Salt PalaceConvention Center, Salt Lake Art Center and more. Adjacent is the award-winning Bambara restaurant, a favorite of locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Salt Lake City
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel Utah
Hotel Monaco a Kimpton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.