We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 West 200 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early + Save 20%
Ranked #8 of 76 Hotels in Salt Lake City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I was happy with my stay at Hotel Monaco, my 1st at a Kimpton property. It's right in the middle of everything and on the Trax light rail line. The staff was very friendly and helpful, both at the desk and the valets. The bed was comfortable. I like Kimpton's personal touches (a welcoming note on the bed, minibar stocked based on your preferences as noted w/ their loyalty program, etc.). I will definitely consider Kimpton hotels in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    175
    48
    28
    15
See reviews for
81
212
44
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I really wanted to like this hotel, we've stayed here before and I was hoping this stay would be better but it wasn't. I feel like with this hotel for each positive there's a negative.
The rooms are really nice but sooo tiny!
The bathrooms are also really nice but have no ventilation.
The hotel is pet friendly without a pet fee, but I don't think the rooms are set up for pets-- there is no place to put litter or food and water without stepping all over it.
The beds are elevated so pets can hide under, which happened to us, took us a while to get our two kitties out.
Oh, and this year the rate was double what we paid last year.
I will say that the staff is super nice and helpful, they go out of their way to make you comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bega, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed for one night and I have to say the hotel is well appointed and the staff very friendly. We got an upgrade and as an overseas visitor had a problem ringing the local airline and the front desk was very helpful and went out of their way to help. On a walk outside most things seemed abandoned or closed early but I could not say more about this hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had stayed at a Kimpton Hotel in NYC and enjoyed it so much we thought we would try the Monaco. It was great from start to finish. From the moment we stopped in front, to the moment we drove away, the service was top notch. Check in was smooth and simple and very personal. The clerk made sure to explain all amenities available to us, and gave directions to internal and external points of interest.

The hotel building itself is a nicely restored historic bank building, that has managed to retain the style of the original building, while infusing a touch of new elegance to the setting. Quite posh.

The rooms are tastefully decorated and contain all you need to have a great stay. The wine receptions in the lobby are fun and also a pleasant way to start your evening conveniently and without fuss.

Centrally located, the hotel is close to many of the downtown attractions and provide a good home base for a little foot-borne exploration.

We loved this "boutique" approach to our stay in Salt Lake City and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We have stayed at the Hotel Monaco severl times, most recently a couple of weeks ago. We also had my 80 year old mother staying at the same time. I wanted to thank the staff for taking such good care of her. They were very aware she was in the hotel, and were so kind and attentive.

The property is, as we have come to expect from the Kimpton brand, a very clean and comfortable property in a great location. Salt Lake has changed a bit with the addition of City Creek, and this property is within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and I spent the first and last night of our summer vacation here after flying in and out of Salt Lake City on our way to Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Parks. This place is almost too good to be true. Coming from New York City, the prices are extremely reasonable (at least during the summer season). Physically, the hotel is immaculate and the entire place smells clean. Their gimmick is "guilty pleasures" so there is free candy, citrus water and iced tea in the lobby in addition to hula hoops, and bikes. They even have a free wine and appetizer hour in the lobby from 4-5 PM. The hotel staff is so friendly and accommodating it almost feels like an alternate universe; from comping our parking to giving us detailed directions to local restaurants. The icing on the cake was receiving a tray of deserts just for returning on the last night of our vacation. have nothing bad to say about this place except I wish I lived closer to it. If all hotels ran like this, the world would be a better place.

Please note: this is a pet friendly hotel and while we did not being our furry friend on vacation with us, the dogs/owners in the lobby seemed happy and well taken care of. Additionally, we did not eat any meals in the hotel itself but the Monaco boasts its restaurant as the best rated in SLC.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I like to write positive reviews but I cannot this time. We have stayed one night in SLC only. We decided to book the Monaco hotel for it´s good reviews and the location, which was close to the Main Street and Temple Square. The staff was OK but a little stiff. The room we were given was the darkest room I have ever stayed at. 12th floor but still very dark with only one window. But it was not the major source of disappointment. The disappointment consisted of the constant noise from the air condition located outside! We switched the room aircondition instantly, this is what we always do but we could not do anything about the outside source of noise. Our room was not even located towards the street where the noise would be expectable. It was located to the backyard of the hotel...So I could not sleep for more than 2 hours here, the same my partner. I would never go back to this place even if the hotel was so good located, clean and nicely refurbished.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 15 West 200 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Spa Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#6 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#20 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated boutique Hotel Monaco, located in the heart of downtown Salt Lake City, combines sumptuous décor, savvy service and superb amenities, making this luxury hotel unabashedly seductive. Set in a refurbished landmark building, the hotel sits across from the Capitol Theater and near Energy Solutions Arena,historic Temple Square, Salt PalaceConvention Center, Salt Lake Art Center and more. Adjacent is the award-winning Bambara restaurant, a favorite of locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Agoda, Venere, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Salt Lake City
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel Utah
Hotel Monaco a Kimpton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.