We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad this was booked on Priceline!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 West 200 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Playground
Ranked #9 of 75 hotels in Salt Lake City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Glad this was booked on Priceline!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Can't imagine paying full price for this hotel.
Location is dangerous @ night.
Rooms are typical 4 Star.
Unlike other Kimpton brand hotels.
There's no wine tasting or complimentary anything.
Front Desk guy was a jerk.
Hated us because we booked a low 3rd party rate.
4 star rating is deceiving. You'll be treated better @ Motel 6. Restaurant food is overpriced & sucks.
Stay @ Hilton, Marriott or @ any reputable chain. Hotel Monaco is obviously Mr Kimpton's illegitimate stepchild.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    352
    166
    45
    24
    14
See reviews for
72
198
44
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
portland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We love the Kimpton Hotels and this one was no exception. It is a tremendous value. The rooms are on the small side, but the are well decorated and cozy. The robes are a bonus. They have friendly staff and they love dogs. We stayed one night with our mini-schnauzer and had a great time. We arrived late and had a fabulous meal in the restaurant, Bambara.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I booked this hotel on a Sunday and have to say that it more than exceeded my expectations. I travel with my large dog and timid cat so how the staff treat my animals is more important to me than price. You get what you pay for here. The service is excellent, the rooms are very clean and smell great. There is no noise from other rooms or ice machines. While this is a rather large and busy hotel everyone is more than willing to please and very respectful of the needs of my animals. There are cheaper places to stay but I would always chose to have excellent service and hot showers over cheap any day. If ever I get the chance I will be staying here again and again. It is in a very safe location as well.

Room Tip: Let them know in advance if you have a pet so you can be placed far away from other guests and yet c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Great hotel, very clean, excellent amenities for business or kids, very accommodating, great staff, they upgraded us to a suite since they had a few issues with the hot water one day. But overall would highly recommend the place. very professional and friendly staff and awesome food at the Bambara and VAULT restaurant. Be prepared to pay $20/night parking, but valet is great, fast service and also they gave us a booster car seat for free to use.

Room Tip: pick the suite with kids. Beds are excellent. Corner suite is awesome, large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmhotelmonaco, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hello -

Thanks so much for your comments. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us. Being "amazing" is the best feeling ever! Hope you will be back again soon.

Best,

MaryLynn Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a small boutique hotel, historic in downtown SLC. Usually our meetings are at larger hotels, but most were booked and this was an option for us. Downtown is clean, safe and Hotel Monaco was convenient to just about everything.The meeting/banquet staff, especially Issac
helped with every part of our meeting. The overnight rooms are beautiful and the bed is very
comfortable. Will return!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

What a lovely historic hotel we found on Google while travelling with our little dog Tiger. When I called to reserve, they were more than happy to welcome our little dog and do not charge anything extra for pets. The hotel is historic and in a nice area just a few blocks from the Temple if you want to visit there during your stay - highly recommended. The room was lovely, very clean and they put out a large dog bed, dog dishes and a huge cookie for Tiger. The only area of concern was when we had dinner at the four star restaurant in the hotel. What a beautiful room - superbly designed! We selected a table by the open air kitchen. We always enjoy watching kitchen staff prepare food. We were dismayed at the service staff - touching their hair and then touching the plates, brushing off food with their fingers. And the hygienic standards of the Cooks were less than desirable - cross contaminating food with tongs for example - picking up a paper order sheet and then using the same tongs for the fish - that sort of thing. The Server that brought out our food was not clean looking at all - dirty uniform and fingernails. This is a five star widely recognized restaurant who recently won Best Restaurant and Best Chef awards. The food was lovely but our appetites and our experience were less than four star desirable. Too bad. We would stay at the hotel again but not eat at the restaurant.

Room Tip: The rates are expensive but worth it - we had a king sized bed. Expect the rooms to be a little sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel is not your typical hotel. Everyone was professional and happy to the T! This was a romantic getaway for me I'm looking on coming back. I love how the rooms were decorated, I took pictures so I can use some of their ideas

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmhotelmonaco, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Hello!

We agree, different is better! So glad you chose us for your romantic getaway. We love it when our local friends are here with us. Hope to see you again very soon.

Best,

MaryLynn Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 15 West 200 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Spa Hotel in Salt Lake City
#6 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#14 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated boutique Hotel Monaco, located in the heart of downtown Salt Lake City, combines sumptuous décor, savvy service and superb amenities, making this luxury hotel unabashedly seductive. Set in a refurbished landmark building, the hotel sits across from the Capitol Theater and near Energy Solutions Arena,historic Temple Square, Salt PalaceConvention Center, Salt Lake Art Center and more. Adjacent is the award-winning Bambara restaurant, a favorite of locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Salt Lake City
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel Utah
Hotel Monaco a Kimpton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.