We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 West 200 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Ski Packages
Ranked #8 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Really different and quaint rooms.
Happy hour with wine for all guests.
Gift at check in for frequent stay guests.
Good service that could be exceptional.
Restaurant Bambara is good but really overpriced even for a drink. If they revisited this they would get a lot of business travelers that would dine or drink here than find another place in the cold.
The next door bar - steps away - Red Door I think is a nice place.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    186
    51
    30
    16
See reviews for
86
221
46
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

We had a 1 bedroom suite which was large and roomy. The bed is very comfortable, but it appears that everything in the room is for sale: water $8, socks$15, minibar is good but pricey. No coffee maker (guess they will bring you one). The shower is dated and the hot water in the shower was fickle at best with low pressure.

Two orders of room service = 2 mistakes, red wine instead of white and forgotten breakfast meal! I know I sound picky but I travel a lot and for the price it didn't live up to expectations. Friendly people though.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I generally do not write reviews but this experience and the room we stayed in compelled me to do so. The size of the room was absolutely ridiculous. The end tables must be a nightmare for the cleaning services. The sheet and blanket barely fit between the end tables and the bed. All of this for $250.00 a night. The bathroom is literally right next to the bed. The decor is nice and the room is clean.

The location of the hotel is great and is centralized. There are tons of great places to eat and shop nearby.

Room Tip: Roll the dice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed twice in this fabulous boutique style hotel, once on our wedding night and once during our recent anniversary. The service is impeccable. The rooms are meticulously clean. The beds are super comfortable. We only have one minor setback from our previous stay: While they used to serve complimentary Aveda products for toiletries, they now use C.O. Bigelow products which is a step down in terms of quality but the front desk upon checkout said that the hotel can order them prior to arrival upon request. We now know for next time! Dispite this very minor change in comparing both of our stays, we'll definitely come back to this great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmhotelmonaco, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Congratulations on your wedding anniversary! It is so great that you decided to come back and celebrate here. Let us know when you are coming back and we'll have an Aveda care package waiting for you. Hope to see you again soon.

Best,

MaryLynn Beck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I really enjoy my time in salt lake city, hotel Monaco was great. Cleaning staff was great, very friendly, and everytime I came back at midday my room was done and clean. Free Internet access was great. Gym in the small side, but good enough. ONLY 100m to the convention centre. Breakfast in bambara is just excellent. Recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmhotelmonaco, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thanks so much for posting your comments - we really do love to hear that we are doing a good job! We do have a great team, and you are right, Bambara is the best. Hope to see you again soon.

Best,

MaryLynn Beck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Hotel Monaco multiple times for special occasions or just weekend getaways. The service is always incredible and we love their happy hour (with a massage therapist waiting by the wayside-LOVE). The only downside is that you have to prepare yourself for the possibility of a very small bedroom. Their beds, however, make up for the lack of floor space. They have some of the comfiest beds I have ever slept in.

Overall, we really enjoy staying here and recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson, wy
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

They are extremely pet friendly. We spent two days with our English Springer Spaniels. On arrival there were beds for each of them and water/meal dishes for each.
Apart from the pets, overall impression was very good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 15 West 200 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
#7 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#10 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#18 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated boutique Hotel Monaco, located in the heart of downtown Salt Lake City, combines sumptuous décor, savvy service and superb amenities, making this luxury hotel unabashedly seductive. Set in a refurbished landmark building, the hotel sits across from the Capitol Theater and near Energy Solutions Arena,historic Temple Square, Salt PalaceConvention Center, Salt Lake Art Center and more. Adjacent is the award-winning Bambara restaurant, a favorite of locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Salt Lake City
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel Utah
Hotel Monaco a Kimpton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.