We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love the Hotel Monaco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 West 200 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Playground
Ranked #9 of 75 hotels in Salt Lake City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Moab, Utah
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“I love the Hotel Monaco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Hotel Monaco never fails to please. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. We did an e-upgrade (most recent visit) and we were very pleased with the suite that was prepared for us.
I strongly recommend being an Intouch Kimpton member. It does seem to upgrade your overall experience.
I have been staying at the Monaco (and other Kimpton hotels) for over five years and I am disappointed in the redecoration of the SLC Monaco's lobby. I loved the previous lobby. The furniture, colors and textures were so welcoming and yet still elegant. The new lobby is less welcoming and frankly rather stark. I'm hoping the re-redecorate again soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, they're generally bigger. I've seen the base rooms and they don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    352
    166
    45
    24
    14
See reviews for
72
198
44
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Very friendly, welcoming professional staff who gave us an upgrade to a beautiful suite as we were on honeymoon complete with wine in our room. Suite was gorgeous with cute furnishings and I loved the fun animal print robes too. Free coffee in the morning and the wine and nibble hour was a lot of fun and a great start to a night on the town. Utterly excellent stay in a good, central location. Loved it here and can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Room very clean. Valets & bellmen very courteous. Room small, with a goldfish bowl taking up lot of space on desk. Not a lot of flat room to put things. $10 free from minibar. Great disappointment because restaurant & bar were closed on arrival bec. of Labor Day. We paid for this 'perk' in our room rate but did not get it. Had to leave hotel for dinner after a long trip on the road. Also, breakfast was not complimentary & price of breakfast was rather on the high side. All things in consideration, we feel we did not get the value that we paid for in this much touted hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed here on a one night business trip to Salt Lake City. Room was nice and clean, little small for the money. Front desk agent was nice. She told me all about the property. Not really needed for a one night stay. Within walking distance to everything, mall, right aide and more close by. Called down the next day to make sure I had a taxi waiting to get to the airport. When I walked out not a taxi on site. No worries I was early. Next thing I know a town car pulls up. I really don't mind taking town cars but when you are expensing it to the company it's hard to explain a town car / limo receipt to the boss. They explained it would be the same price as a cab. Well, it wasn't the same price. Only $5 more but again hard to explain to the boss. Cab ride to the airport $20.00 and about 15 - 20 minutes away from the airport. Nice place a little over priced. Will I stay again?? Depends on the price, I think anything under $125 it would be worth it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel upwards of 20 times and always had a great experience. And I should have reviewed it then. However, the last stay was a pretty frustrating experience from beginning to end. I've also been an Inner Circle member (but am not this year), which may or may have impacted how I was treated.

At any rate, as others have noted here, the customer service is abominable - starting at the top. I left a message for the GM to chat with her after checking out and never heard back. Wow - not what you'd expect for a Kimpton property. Guess I'll contact the CEO.

They need a complete overhaul of staff here to restore what was a great hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmhotelmonaco, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Good Morning!

I can't tell you how sorry I am for the lack of my response and the poor customer service you experienced during your stay. I would love they opportunity to speak with you.

Warmest Regards,

MaryLynn Beck
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I was looking forward to staying at this hotel for a while. My daughter made the reservation for me however when I called the hotel the "rude" snob who answered the phone said that there was no reservation for me although I gave him the confirmation number and spelled my name several times. I therefore made reservations at another hotel (which by the way is awful) but when my daughter called the hotel back she said the other personnel who answered the phone were very nice and did in fact find my reservation. However, I thought that if I was going to be treated so rudely on the phone, I did not want to deal with any staff in person, I was "fined" $172 for my trouble. I know people love this place but I am very distressed with my experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The Hotel Monaco in Salt Lake City is very conveniently located. It has an advantage (for downtown hotel) of having an off street entrance for arrivals and valet parking. Everyone employee we met was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were a nice size, clean, and comfortable. We were not able to take advantage of the afternoon social/wine hour, but it looked like fun. All in all, we highly recommend the Monaco (and will be checking into other Kimpton hotels when we have the opportunity).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 15 West 200 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Spa Hotel in Salt Lake City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#6 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#14 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated boutique Hotel Monaco, located in the heart of downtown Salt Lake City, combines sumptuous décor, savvy service and superb amenities, making this luxury hotel unabashedly seductive. Set in a refurbished landmark building, the hotel sits across from the Capitol Theater and near Energy Solutions Arena,historic Temple Square, Salt PalaceConvention Center, Salt Lake Art Center and more. Adjacent is the award-winning Bambara restaurant, a favorite of locals and visitors alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton Salt Lake City
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel Utah
Hotel Monaco a Kimpton Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.