We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Stay Excellent In Salt Lake City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 South 300 West, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 76 Hotels in Salt Lake City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Aston, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hotel Stay Excellent In Salt Lake City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Very Clean Hotel! Great staff! Great food! I could not ask for a better hotel to stay at in the Salt Lake City area. Also this Hotel has a great room rate for all that you get. I look forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    131
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
101
105
20
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The hotel and staff were wonderful. The hotel and our rooms were clean. It is a good location for walking to downtown and a variety of restaurants. I will agree with others, that the homeless in the area is a little much. They have a rock concert in the park, adjacent to the hotel, every Thursday. Yes, we were there on a Thursday. We walked downtown to catch the free lite rail transportation. As we walked there we were approached by three homeless people wanting some thing or another. We just ignored them and didn't have a problem. We walked to dinner and again had one homeless approach us for money. After dinner we walked back by the park and the music was playing. (we did not hear the music in our room) Yes, another homeless person was at the intersection pushing the "walk" button and wanted money for doing so. They were running a homeless person out of the parking lot as we left in the morning, so they are trying to curb it. I was very disappointed in the amount of homeless in the area. The hotel was wonderful though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Republic, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Hampton Inn is within easy walking distance of many of the city sites which makes dining and sightseeing easy. The hotel staff is quite helpful with directions and even provided an umbrella during an unexpected rain storm.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

During a 3 week road trip in the USA we chose the Hampton Inn for many of our overnight stays as you know what you are going to get. The Salt Lake City Hampton Inn did not disappoint and was in a good location for walking to downtown and for a variety of restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Thjs hotel was extremely pleasant and helpful. They waited for my party to arrive, which we did late, due to a mud slide on our route to Salt Lake City. The receptionist expedited out check in and allowed us to get to our room quickly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slc425, General Manager at Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for staying in our hotel and sharing your comments. I'm glad my staff were helpful and took care of all your needs.

Sincerely,

Joe Bessette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, Ca
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Clean room, clean hotel. Bad part of town. We had to drive a couple blocks to dinner instead of walking because of the homeless problem in the park adjacent to the hotel and around it. The one night we stayed they had cops in the parking lot, hopefully kicking out the homeless guy who was sitting near our car and the back entry when we left for dinner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slc425, General Manager at Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hea1t1her,

Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay with us. I'm sorry to hear that you had a negative experience. We do everything that we can to ensure the safety and security of our guests. Thank you for your comments as they will help us to better our property for the future. We hope that the next time you're in town you'll stay with us again!

Best regards,

Joe Bessette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The room was clean. Service very helpful. Indoor pool and a small gym are open 24/7 - nice touch.
The hotel is conveniently located. It's close to downtown, airport, parks and restaurants. Yet, it's calm and quiet. Free breakfast is included between 6 and 10am.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slc425, General Manager at Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
mkielbas,

I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I will share your comment about our clean rooms and service with our staff. Have a great day!!

Thanks again,

Joe Bessette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown

Address: 425 South 300 West, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
#5 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#7 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown is located just blocks from Temple Square, the Salt Palace Convention Center and the Energy Solutions Arena. We are within walking distance of shopping, restaurants and theaters, and only a short drive to most major attractions.Whether you come to Salt Lake City for business or pleasure, it makes sense to stay in a hotel with the same standard of comfort as the town it serves. The Hampton Inn® hotel in Salt Lake City-Downtown was designed to help you take advantage of the area with style, and to predict and satisfy your every business need...or vacation dream! Our spacious rooms feature king or queen-size beds and many small touches you will appreciate. You can count on our Salt Lake City hotel to offer the relaxing atmosphere and accommodations you deserve. Once you've arrived at our hotel, you'll find a lot of great amenities waiting for you in your room. Need to get some work done while you're with us? We offer free high-speed internet access in every guest room. Prop your laptop on our handy lap desk and type away while you watch TV. Or simply listen to your favorite kind of music by pressing one of the preset buttons on your room's alarm clock. When you're ready for some rest, hunker down for the night in our comfiest amenity yet: Clean and Fresh Hampton Bed.™ The Hampton Bed Experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown Hotel Salt Lake City
Hampton Inn Downtown
Salt Lake City Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.