We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be nice when renos done” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 South 300 West, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
City Creek Shopping Offer
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Will be nice when renos done”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed there as it is within walking distance to the home of the jazz.
Renos on all floors so if you like to sleep in, forget it for another couple months. Renos didnt bother us as we were just there for one night and found the staff nice and the room clean. i would only stay there again if I wanted to be downtown as the area isnt the best.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    149
    23
    8
    5
See reviews for
111
115
21
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Topanga, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed recently for the second time at this Hampton property in order to be close to events downtown. As clearly stated on their website, the lobby was undergoing construction but except for the elevators, the construction did not affect my stay. The property is clean and everything pretty much appeared in order. The hotel staff were friendly and no problems with my bill. Housekeeping seemed to have skipped my room one day but I believe it was because the management had me down in a different room from the one I was assigned.

The furnishings in my room seemed a little old and some of the fabric was just showing its age; however, no funny smells or unsightliness. The flatscreen TV had a decent assortment of offerings and the Wi-Fi mostly worked fine though often it took several attempts to log in before I could access the internet. I saw a fitness center and saw guests using the indoors pool. The complimentary breakfast was up the usual Hampton standard s with hot entrees of biscuits, sausage, and gravy one time, omelettes, sausage, and potatoes another, and finally scrambled eggs, sausage, and breakfast muffins on my final day. There was cereal, pastries, toast, bagels, cut fruit, and the obligatory waffle maker. The coffee was pretty good and available all the time.

This property is within easy walking distance to the Convention Center and to the TRAX lines. There is a Wendy’s, a McDonalds, and a Denny’s on the same block as well as a pawn shop and a state liquor store. I tried to avoid walking by the liquor store at night because of the shady figures and I saw variations of them at all hours except of course on Sunday when it was closed. Nervous guests might want to take note. Sometimes these shady figures wandered through the Hampton parking lot and contributed to the smell of cigarettes around the exteriors of the property. Sometimes the tobacco stink was offensive. Fortunately, the side doors require the keycard 24/7 and the parking lot is well lit. During my stay, many of the guests were attending a convention downtown or were young people on some kind of school outing. My neighbors whom I could clearly hear through the walls seemed to keep the same hours as myself.

Overall, the main reason to stay here is the location in the downtown area close enough to walk to the Convention Center though admittedly walking alone at night might give some guests anxiety. Even though overall I don’t have any complaints about my stay, I’m not sure I would stay here again even if I had business in the Convention Center area because there are plenty of similar lodging choices close by without having to wonder about the elements attracted to the neighboring pawn shop or liquor store.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Aldthough the lobby was being remodeled, the staff made the experance worthwhile. The room was very good, clean and comfortable. The free breakfast was one of the better I have had. It changed a little every day. Check in and Check out were effortless. I will stay there again when in Salt Lake City. Great location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elko, Nevada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Usually, when I read a review of a hotel that is being remodeled it is a negative review and doesn't give a true picture of the facility. Updating hotels is a necessary evil to keep the facility in good repair. How the hotel handles the disruptions and noise is more important. Our room was clean and roomy with a very nice flat screen t.v.. The breakfast was very good considering the food was served in a meeting room. The entire lobby and eating area was under complete renovation. The management scheduled the noisy work at the appropriate times and kept the guests updated with what was planned for each day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Clean, comfortable rooms. Staff is extremely pleasant, great channel selection.

There are some renovations going on (which I knew in advance from the website), but there is no disturbance from it (I was able to work in my room during the day with no construction noise). I'm sure the renovated space will be great.

Only think I would have liked to have is mini fridge in the room.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

See my title above. I have stayed in several hotels around this area (SW of downtown). This is among the better. Short walk (<5 mins) to restaurants and just a couple more to downtown center. Staff were extremely friendly and very helpful with directions. The renovations were visually unattractive but I didn't notice any noise (though admittedly, I was on a high floor). Breakfast OK for what it was - hey! It's free, right? Some variety... coffee, juice, eggs, cereal etc. Standard fare. Would probably stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I've stayed in dozens of Hampton Inns, and I was disappointed with this stay from the start. The main floor of the hotel was undergoing a major renovation and I'm sure it's going to be great when it is done.

That said, I'll only deal with my experiences in my room and outside the hotel. The furniture was a little banged up, but the room was clean. The walls were thin and I heard conversations much of the night, along with a lot of road noise. On the bright side, the TV had a ton of channels, much more than usual.

Outside of the hotel was worrisome. The area seemed bad, a lot of homeless people. I walked to a nearby restaurant for dinner and was approached by panhandlers three time. I was very uncomfortable on foot. The hotel does not offer shuttle service to the airport, but I was able to get a cab for about $20.

The desk staff was extremely nice, but overall this is not a hotel I'll use again. There are many other hotels that looked better from a neighborhood standpoint, closer to Temple Square.

Overall, it's not up to what I expect from a Hilton property and I advise you to avoid.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slc425, General Manager at Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
MarkDavis,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. Please accept our sincere apology for your experience. We want you to know that the comments we receive from our guests are taken very seriously and your suggestions will help us to improve the safety of our hotel. If I can be of further assistance please feel free to contact me at 801-741-1110.

Sincerely,

Joe Bessette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown

Address: 425 South 300 West, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
#6 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#7 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown is located just blocks from Temple Square, the Salt Palace Convention Center and the Energy Solutions Arena. We are within walking distance of shopping, restaurants and theaters, and only a short drive to most major attractions.Whether you come to Salt Lake City for business or pleasure, it makes sense to stay in a hotel with the same standard of comfort as the town it serves. The Hampton Inn® hotel in Salt Lake City-Downtown was designed to help you take advantage of the area with style, and to predict and satisfy your every business need...or vacation dream! Our spacious rooms feature king or queen-size beds and many small touches you will appreciate. You can count on our Salt Lake City hotel to offer the relaxing atmosphere and accommodations you deserve. Once you've arrived at our hotel, you'll find a lot of great amenities waiting for you in your room. Need to get some work done while you're with us? We offer free high-speed internet access in every guest room. Prop your laptop on our handy lap desk and type away while you watch TV. Or simply listen to your favorite kind of music by pressing one of the preset buttons on your room's alarm clock. When you're ready for some rest, hunker down for the night in our comfiest amenity yet: Clean and Fresh Hampton Bed.™ The Hampton Bed Experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown Hotel Salt Lake City
Hampton Inn Downtown
Salt Lake City Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.