We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, free parking, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   425 South 300 West, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
City Creek Shopping Offer
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Nashville
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great location, free parking, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

In SLC for business. Selected the Hampton because of location in downtown and I like Hamptons. It is a pretty short walk to downtown restaurants and brew pubs (Squatters and Red Rock). It is also convenient to getting on/off the freeway. Staff was very nice. And parking is free.
About the only drawbacks were: This is an older-design Hampton with a small bathroom. The lighting is also bad, not dim; they have put high watt CFLs in the fixtures which stick out and create a bad glare on the TV. Neither of these would deter me from staying again.
NOTE: If you walk in the area, avoid the park diagonal from the hotel. It is full of homeless folks. While they probably won't bother you, it could be bothersome to some. Otherwise stay toward downtown walking and there is no problem.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the street if you need quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slc425, Manager at Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
TN-Bill,

Thank you for staying with us. I love the restaurant choices that we have near our hotel. Red Rock Brewing Company is one of my favorites. I will pass on your compliments to my staff.

I apologize that my housekeeping staff put the wrong light bulbs in the bed lamps. I will make sure that we are using the mini CFLs which fit in those light fixtures better and thank you for your note on the park across the street. As with many large cities there are some homeless people, who like you said probably won't bother you. Even with these issues, Salt Lake City is a very safe and clean city.

Thanks again for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Joe Bessette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    149
    23
    8
    5
See reviews for
111
115
21
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
126 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

The Hampton Inn in Salty Lake City is a great place to stay. Spacious rooms and a very good bathroom. The staff is professional and helpful. There is a free hot breakfast included in the roomrate. There also is wifi and a business centre with no extra cost. And check out the swimming-pool, fitness centre and hottub. This hotel offers everything a exhausted traveller can ask for.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

I love staying at the Hampton inn. It is a very pleasant hotel, well located, with very enjoyable employees. However, things were different on September 3, when I dared try to check in, interrupting the game that Mary was watching on TV… Actually, I did not disrupt anything as she ignored me during the process as well as she ignored my husband when he nicely let her know that there was a spill in front of the door. Mary went even further in her excitement, shouting at the screen, completely oblivious of her surroundings. This employee is a disgrace for this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slc425, Manager at Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and for letting me know about this problem. We are commited to providing quality service and I apologize that you did not receive our usual service during your stay. I have talked to Mary about this review and made sure that it will never happen again. Once again I apologize for the service that you received. If you would like to talk with me about it further please contact me at 801-741-1110 or joseph.bessette@hilton.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here for two nights while helping our son move into the University of Utah. In general when I need a simple, clean convenient hotel I try to find a Hampton Inn because they usually get it just right on all the important things. This hotel also gets it right -- the room was clean, the bathroom very clean and functional, and the staff helpful and polite. Most Hampton Inns include a continental breakfast but I thought this Hampton Inn's breakfast was a little bigger and better than some of the others, perhaps because the hotel is larger and more full? Only concern I have is the hotel is on what looks to me to be the edge of the center of town, on the side where the industrial-type businesses begin. I was able to walk from the hotel up six blocks to the Salt Lake City Public Library (view from the library roof garden is amazing) but the walk from the hotel is pretty congested and busy with traffic. So I would say the location isn't perfect if you are on foot but is great if you are traveling by car. The hotel includes wifi which was very handy.

Room Tip: Not sure. Our room was fine, it faced the side parking lot (south?) and was on the 5th floor I beli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, CO
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

This is the second time I've stayed at this Hampton Inn. It is very convenient to the highway and downtown restaurants. Free parking, nicely updated rooms and polite staff. The only downside was the fitness room. It is small and some of the equipment needs replacing. One of 2 treadmills was not working, and I'm pretty sure it was broken when I stayed here more than 6 months ago.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slc425, General Manager at Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
AEgan,

Thank you for staying with us! I appreciate your compliments about our rooms and our staff. We actually started a remodel of our fitness center on Wednesday and hope to have it done by mid September. When the remodel is complete the fitness center will be double the size and include a lot of new equipment.

I hope you will come back and visit us after the project is complete so you can let us know if we got it right!

Sincerely,

Joe Bessette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop Notts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

This was a typically good Hampton Inn. Service was impeccable. Bed was very comfortable and room spotlessly clean. When parking in the car park (free to residents) they give you a permit to display on your dashboard. It was very well situated for visiting the city. A good continental breaksfast was included and the staff very efficient and friendly.

Room Tip: There was some traffic noise from the road at the front of the hotel. Perhaps ask for a room at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slc425, General Manager at Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. I will make sure and share your comments with all of my staff. Thanks for staying with us!!

Sincerely,

Joe Bessette
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

My husband and I spend 2 nights at the Hampton Inn and it was great! While we were in Salt Lake City we went to a Utah Jazz game, and the arena is within walking distance of the hotel.

The tub was spacious, the continental breakfast was well stocked, and the front desk people were helpful and willing to give extra toiletries such as mouthwash when asked. I didn't get to use the pool unfortunately, but it looked nice.

My only complaint would be that the TV went out of service for a time and it interrupted our time watching the College Basketball finals.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown

Address: 425 South 300 West, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Salt Lake City
#6 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#7 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown is located just blocks from Temple Square, the Salt Palace Convention Center and the Energy Solutions Arena. We are within walking distance of shopping, restaurants and theaters, and only a short drive to most major attractions.Whether you come to Salt Lake City for business or pleasure, it makes sense to stay in a hotel with the same standard of comfort as the town it serves. The Hampton Inn® hotel in Salt Lake City-Downtown was designed to help you take advantage of the area with style, and to predict and satisfy your every business need...or vacation dream! Our spacious rooms feature king or queen-size beds and many small touches you will appreciate. You can count on our Salt Lake City hotel to offer the relaxing atmosphere and accommodations you deserve. Once you've arrived at our hotel, you'll find a lot of great amenities waiting for you in your room. Need to get some work done while you're with us? We offer free high-speed internet access in every guest room. Prop your laptop on our handy lap desk and type away while you watch TV. Or simply listen to your favorite kind of music by pressing one of the preset buttons on your room's alarm clock. When you're ready for some rest, hunker down for the night in our comfiest amenity yet: Clean and Fresh Hampton Bed.™ The Hampton Bed Experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown Hotel Salt Lake City
Hampton Inn Downtown
Salt Lake City Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.