We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Experience in SLC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little America Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Little America Hotel to your Saves list
Little America Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 74 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Nice Experience in SLC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

Little America in SLC was a great hotel! It is right across the street from its sister hotel, The Grand America, which is a luxurious 5 star hotel. You can go over to the Grand Hotel to eat or use the spa facilities and charge anything to your room at Little America. We did not stay in the main tower at Little America, we stayed in the 2 flat walk-up/outdoor hallway type buildings. At first i was a little concerned, however the room was great! Very clean, tons of mirrored closet space, ok size bathroom, seperate vanity mirror outside of the bathroom. The only thing lacking in the room was a refrigerator... however, i think you can request one. Also, a couple of our friends had problems with a noisy radiator, but we did not experience this issue. The beds were nice enough. The breakfast area in one of the restaurants was delish and there are a lot of stores in the main hotel. Also, the hotel decor is very tasteful and impressive. We traveled to SLC for a snowboarding trip and opted to stay in downtown SLC instead of at the ski resorts. It really was the best option because we were able to visit 3 different resorts in 3 days- all were a 25-30 minute ride from the hotel- and get a cheaper rate then a resort. And when we were looking for dinner options, there were beyond numerous options right down the street from our hotel. Everyone in our group of friends agreed that we would definitely stay at Little America again!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrEdBox, General Manager at Little America Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2011
Dear ValerieM,

We are so glad you were able to stay in Little America’s Courtside Rooms. Our guests often find these rooms to be a pleasant surprise. So many of them want to stay in the luxurious tower—but come to find that same luxury carries over to our Courtside and Garden Rooms. As you know, these guest rooms are a spectacular value—especially when it comes to the living space and bathroom amenities. And you’re right: refrigerators—and even microwaves—are available upon request. As you likely noticed, coffee makers are also provided in every room.
Most of all, we are glad you thought of Little America when it came to snowboarding and skiing. Many guests are unaware that when staying with us, you can be skiing at any of eight different world-class resorts in under an hour. Some are as little as thirty minutes away while others are just forty-five—and the snow is unbeatable. Plus, you have the great après-ski factor with our proximity to downtown nightlife after hitting the heated indoor-outdoor pool, Jacuzzi, and dry saunas.
Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next ski vacation. But don’t forget our mountains and Little America have something unique to offer in every season!

Best,
Kit Olpin
Little America Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    413
    124
    63
    43
See reviews for
195
349
72
425
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

My wife and I were in SLC over the Christmas holiday visiting one of our children. After extensively researching our lodging options we made reservations at Little America. I did so with some trepidation based on a few lack luster reviews posted on this site. From the moment we arrived we we very impressed. The location could not be more convenient. Great restaurants. Cozy bar. Literally steps away from the FREE TRAX light rail system. A very pleasant doorman assisted us with our luggage and directed us to the clean well lit underground parking area. Check-in was a breeze. Our tower room was spacious, nicely furnished and what a view! Free high speed internet. The lobby was a visual delight. Lots a comfy couches and a roaring fire in the central fireplace. The service and fare in the steak house did not disappoint. The breakfast buffet was exceptional. We visited the indoor/outdoor heated pool and spa nightly followed up with a good sweat in the sauna. The staff was very attentive. The public areas of the property were impeccable. Interesting specialty gift shops. The grounds were tastefully decorated and nicely maintained. Friends of ours stayed in the "Garden" area and they were also very satisfied with their accommodations. Bottom line: Little America is a class act an certainly worthy of your consideration when visiting SLC. Thanks Little America! We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrEdBox, General Manager at Little America Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2011
Dear WSMc,

Thank you for complimenting us on being a class-act at the Little America Hotel! You are right—location is everything, and our proximity to downtown, the mountains, and the airport are bar none. Our free parking and free public transportation are always plusses—glad you could take advantage of both.
We pride ourselves on encouraging our staff to be friendly, assertive, and predictive of your needs. Thank you so much for acknowledging those who stand out.
Our tower rooms are among the largest in Salt Lake City, and we are glad you were delighted with both the comfort of the room as well as our public/lobby spaces. Even though complimentary WIFI is available in the rooms and throughout the hotel, don’t forget that we also have a self-service Business Center available 24 hours, should you need it.

We believe that our gift shops, restaurants, and our spa facilities are some of our best-kept secrets. Isn’t it great to take a nice hot Jacuzzi or swim in the comfortably heated indoor-outdoor pool in the middle of January? Glad you had the pleasure…
We’d like to thank you for being a class-act, and look forward to your return.
At Little America, we truly aspire to make your experience so memorable, that you return again and again.

We look forward to seeing you soon,
Kit Olpin
Little America Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

We booked online the night before we arrived in SLC and got a fantastic weekend night rate. The room was huge with a separate sitting area with sofa and armchairs for reading, and a desk and dressing table too. The bathroom was spacious with an over sized tub. Too bad the pool was not available that evening. The grounds, with gardens and fountains, are well kept. It's an eady drive to many restaurants and sights.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

Great price on priceline ($66 incl taxes/fees on priceline - tip it is the only 3.5 star hotel in entire Salt Lake City Area, so you can start bidding low and continue to add areas as you increase your price. The lowest price I got without tax was $52, then with tax $66). There is FREE parking. This is a bonus. The rooms are BIG and very nicely appointed. With priceline, you will not get a "Tower" room, but the "Garden" level rooms are just fine. You have access to a great gym and pool. My only complaint was that initially they would not give us a King bed because of the "Priceline" booking. However we checked into the room and although it was very clean it smelled mildly of vomit, so they switched our room to the King Suite. I was very pleased.

I am originally from Salt Lake City, but currently live in MN. Every year I go back to SL to ski and play my string bass with the Mormon Tabernacle Choir for their December Christmas Concert. My wife and I stay with my parents until the Thursday night concert series begin. In the past we have stayed at the Hilton, that I have been able to book for ~ $75 - 80 (incl tax) on priceline.com. However, they always charge $20 per night to park a car. This year I bid on the the Little America instead and was very pleased with the service, amenities and room. I would stay here over the Hilton in a heart beat.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

On the outside this looks like a brick apartment building but inside it was really quite nice. Stayed 4 nights, 3 nights in the tower and one night in the garden rooms outside. It is definitely worth the extra money to stay in the tower for the view alone, not to mention the ammenities that are an elevator ride away instead of all the way across the parking lot.
Having spent 3 nights in the tower we took a trip to Bryce Canyon. We needed to make arrangements to come back for 1 night just to check in late at night and leave for the airport the next morning so we opted for the less expensive garden room which is like a motel. The desk clerk unlike the very helpful clerk who checked us in a few days prior was a little snippy.
Lobby was beautifully decorated for Christmas.
Would definitly recommend and would absolutely stay in the tower again......
Pro's
I found both rooms to be clean.
ammenities were good
choice of restaurants in hotel were good
food was good
services were good
tower room very nice and very large with great view
free under ground parking
free wifi


Cons
garden room slightly small
desk clerk a little stand offish when we booked the garden room

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

WOW…What a hotel. Best stay I ever had. Certainly better then some upscale east coast hotels I have stayed at. The lobby was grand and opulent and dressed our nicely for Christmas. I choose to pay the extra and stay in the tower. The room was very large and allowed plenty of room to entertain. Food in the restaurants was a bit pricy but good. Housekeeping did a fantastic job keeping the room clean and supervisors following up. The turndown service is a nice touch with them also bringing ice and chocolate too. There was a large tub in the bathroom that could have been even better if there had been a jacuzzi tub. The elevators (3) were all very fast covering the 15 floors in about 20 seconds. There was a lot in in-hotel shopping which I cannot speak about. The business center was very expensive at $1.00 a minute for computer/printer access considering at most hotels this is a free service. Don’t forget your phone charger because the hotel changes $10.00 an hour to use theirs. We did have free H/S internet in our room and choose to go wired instead of wireless for security reasons. Valet parking was very inexpensive with very short wait times and a very attentive valet staff.
This is one place my wife will never forget and talk about forever.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

This was my first stay at Little America, and I was looking forward to it on the recommendation of friends. The front desk staff member checking me in was pretentious and stuffy. Not at all friendly or helpful. The bathtub in our room was completely plugged, not draining for hours. Maintenance did come to fix it, but it shouldn't have been in that condition. No coffee maker in the room - just a note to call the front desk to have one brought to the room. Two hours later the coffee maker still hadn't arrived, and we had to call again. Beds are not comfortable at all - they haven't been upgraded to pillow-top type mattresses and are similar to sleeping on a bed of rocks. Not a good experience and I will not recommend to friends.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#2 of 74 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 stars 945 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a ...
#10 of 74 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 stars 771 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City
0.3 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt ...
#14 of 74 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 stars 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little America Hotel

Address: 500 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#6 Best Value Hotel in Salt Lake City
#16 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#17 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#18 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Little America Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 850
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Little America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Little America
Little America Salt Lake City
Little America Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little America Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.