We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little America Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Little America Hotel to your Saves list
Little America Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 74 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

Great location to downtown, airport and to Temple Square. Buffet offered homemade fresh delicious food and not expensive!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    382
    110
    58
    39
See reviews for
178
322
68
390
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Recife, PE
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

Fist time in Salt LAke and in the Little America Hotel and What a god surprise. The hotel is very big (it takes a whole block!). In the begginig it's a little dificult to localize yourseff even with the hotel map front desk gives to you. There is a main building and other small buildings around.
The rooms are large with a confortable bed large bathroom (some with a small fridge... a little strange but...) other sink in the room (hall of entrance).
The staff is frendlly and ready to help.
Free parking and complimentary wifi internet.
great hotel.
Dont forget to have breakfast in one of the restaurants, fantastic!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
655 reviews 655 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 241 cities Reviews in 241 cities
346 helpful votes 346 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

This was our first visit to Little America and what a pleasant surprise. This is a very comfortable hotel, reasonably priced with quality throughout - we were particularly impressed with the quality of the furnishings in our large room. We decided to use room service for dinner as we had been travelling all day. I had chicken, my wife had steak - both dishes were very good and we thoroughly enjoyed. Staff were very pleasant and helpful throughout the hotel. The room contained a fridge but it would have been nice to have had a coffee percolator to enjoy a freshly brewed cup of coffee within the room.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

While the hotel have a very nice appearance, the service is terrible. It was clear that the housekeeping staff did not adequately check out the room as the lamps were unplugges (and the bulbs didn't work when the lamps were plugged in), there was not dining information in the room guide, etc. The person working the front desk was very put out when I asked to have the items addressed.

Also, note that the hotel is a patchwork of building, each constructed at a different time so there is no direct way to many of the rooms and there is no signage to help customers from their way to their room. The (same) person at the front desk was again very put out that I didn't know the layout of the hotel and thus needed directions to my room.

I would defenitely not stay at this hotel again and would never recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

We have stayed at Little America several times and have enjoyed it each time. The rooms are large, the beds comfortable and the rooms are always clean. It is a large hotel and it has that feel but he rooms are very classic. We suggest paying a few extra dollars are getting a corner room. It is bigger and has fantastic views from 2 balconies!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

Booked Little America as a place to put down our heads before getting back into the car to set off again. Having never stayed in a motel I was expecting it to be run down like in movies. Room was large, huge bed, free wifi, huge tv and hot shower. Couldn't have asked for more.

One issue were the staff in the main hotel, we went in to buy a bottle of water and we were followed around the store. Wasn't happy about that, but maybe thats the way they go about customer service in SLC?

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
230 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
275 helpful votes 275 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

This is an interesting spot. From the outside it looks like a 50's Motel. It has a funny entrance and a two story wing with exterior hallways. However, when you step inside it is very nice with a large reception desk, roaring fireplace etc. It looks like an "old school" resort with a shopping walk of 6 or 7 stores. There's a decent bar and a good buffet restaurant (with booths right out of the 50's). The tower rooms are huge with a large sitting area. The bathrooms are large with a second sink in the separate dressing area. The gym is very very good - far better than you would expect. The pool is an indoor/outdoor type where you can swim under a wall and go in and out. They also have a large hot tub. It is a short walk to the tram (but a short walk to town so you won't need it unless walking is a concern). There are two gas stations across the street when you want something beyond what the gift shop offers. All in all a good spot.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Little America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little America Hotel

Address: 500 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#4 Best Value Hotel in Salt Lake City
#13 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#14 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#14 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Little America Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 850
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Little America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Little America
Little America Salt Lake City
Little America Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little America Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.