We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fine” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Little America Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Little America Hotel to your Saves list
Little America Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 74 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Just fine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Let me start by saying that the things that bothered me wouldn't have bothered me if we had not paid so darn much for a garden room. Apparently its a very busy week in SLC because affordable rooms anywhere were hard to come by. For what i would normally expect to pay for a 4 star tower room we got a garden room, which was a journey back in time to the 1950's. These are the outside entrance rooms with parking right in front....which is convenient. BUT... also very noisy every time someone started their car. Room was very clean and bed was comfortable. But the racket from all the parking lot traffic and people hanging out in the corridors was a bit much. One night there was a room near us (above us or next door, we couldn't tell for sure) that was either having a huge party, a wrestling match or overturning furniture all night long. There was a loose floor board in our room and every time we walked across the floor it sounded like someone was knocking on the door....it took us a bit to figure it out. I would stay at the Little America again but would probably chose several other places first.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    382
    110
    58
    39
See reviews for
178
322
68
390
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Logan, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

My wife and I visit Little America at least 3 or 4 times a year for a get away. The rooms are big and comfortable with a reasonable price. We love the coffee shop for breakfast. Would highly recommend if you are thinking of staying in the downtown Salt Lake area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I’ve visited this hotel many times growing up, and I was excited to take my SO here on a getaway to SLC. After being away for so many years, I’m happy to say the resort is the same as I remembered, with some improvements!

Check-in was a breeze. The lobby and common areas were newly renovated, but retained the LA charm. The tower rooms were exactly as I remember; large and comfortable, with a dressing room adjacent to the large bathroom. Fixtures and furniture have been very well maintained but could use an update to match the rest of the resort.

Dinner at the newly renovated coffee shop was good. The coffee shop is a fixture of Salt Lake City living. The menu has been condensed from what I remember, but the offerings were great. Gone was the Cowboy Joe burger I loved, but I have to remember the last time I was there was over 15 years ago! :) The Little America burger is a unique but fine replacement.

Sunday Brunch is an experience. Everything is delicious and made to order.

On cold nights, the hot chocolate at the café in the lobby was great! We would take a cup to go before venturing outside to the light rail station to head downtown.

You cannot beat the affordable luxury at the resort and I’m glad to see it has stayed that way from visits in the past.

Room Tip: Choose one of the getaway packages online for a welcome bag, restuarant credit, and other nice touch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Love it or hate it; it is classic Little America style. The rooms are monstrously large (probably as large as a suite) and have the same cliché decor such as red, white, and blue plaid lamp shades. Despite the dated feel, the room was absolutely spotless and had amenities such as a refrigerator, large tub, and fast internet.

The lobby is warm and elegant. Staff are friendly. I would recommend walking somewhere else to grab a bite to eat as there are plenty of comparably priced options just a few blocks away. For lunch, I recommend Robin's Nest.

Room Tip: If you are without a car, request a garden room near the lobby, but facing inward toward the parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigham City, Utah
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have enjoyed this hotel a couple of times unfortunately this was not one. It was New Year's Eve , my husband had gone to a lot of effort to make this a special night for us. However when we got there they had us in the wrong room, he had ordered a room in the tower so we could see the fireworks from our room if we chose to be in. And he had ordered me stargazer Lilly's and columbian roses, my favorites but instead we had three red roses for Kate . The hotel never did find mine. Also several necklaces went missing that we're very important to me. House keeping has not turned anything up. Really disappointed with their nonchalance attitude. My husband did present me with a lovely engagement ring, no joke, he wants to get remarried. But not here!

Room Tip: I don't think they handled the crowd for first night well at all, the food was to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I have been anxiously awaiting the completion of Little America's lobby and coffee shop upgrade. When we visited December 18, it had been unveiled. The changes are improvements that keep within the spirit of Little America. We frequently visit here and love the ambience, so I was relieved that no damage was done to the tone of the place with the improvements. Well done, Little America! I will look forward to the next phase of changes.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toadlena new mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The hotel is nice but if you stay in a Garden Room at the back you will find that the rooms are cold and don't heat up very well. Got so cold had to call the front desk for extra blankets at 2AM and got no break in the price for staying there...excellent hotel otherwise but the Garden rooms on the west end are older and the heating systems don't heat the room well, the floor is cold and drafty...otherwise the service, food and hotel staff are exceptional.

Room Tip: if you get a Garden Room you will need to bring an electric blanket and slippers because the floor i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandAmerica, General Manager at Little America Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments about your stay. I’m sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that the room you booked did not have proper heating. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. In most cases, our staff would have offered to move you to another room if convenient. I am sorry that this was not offered to you. Please know that we are constantly looking for and finding ways to improve our property and our rooms.
If you have any further comments about your stay, you are welcome to email me directly.
Sincerely,
Ed Box
General Manager
Little America Hotel, Salt Lake
edbox@littleamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Little America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little America Hotel

Address: 500 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#4 Best Value Hotel in Salt Lake City
#12 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#14 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#16 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Little America Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 850
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Little America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Little America
Little America Salt Lake City
Little America Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little America Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.