We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value & Quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little America Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Little America Hotel to your Saves list
Little America Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 76 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Value & Quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is an older hotel but is clean and comfortable. The location is good for downtown attractions and close to the Trax line. The pool and workout facilities are also very nice. The staff was friendly and check-in was smooth. Easy in and out with plenty of parking. Highly recommend Little America.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    341
    96
    49
    35
See reviews for
157
292
61
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We have stayed here at least half a dozen times, typically when coming in to Salt Lake for skiing, or as a gateway to Arches/Canyonlands National Park, or Dinosaur national monument. I don't know what separates 4 star and 5 star for some people, but in my mind this is 5 star! We have stayed in the Grand America next door, which is clearly a 5 star property, and I like the Little America better! The Grand America has more granite, more art, and grandness, but that doesn't impress me as much as comfort, service, and convenience. Just being bigger doesn't make you better in my mind. Sometimes it makes you less convenient. More granite doesn't necessarily make you better.

We typically stay in the tower rooms, which are huge and very comfortable. Cleanliness is a given. Beds are very comfortable. View isn't as important to us as light and openness, and the rooms we have stayed in never disappoint. We have usually requested a mountain view, but have had city views also which is not your disappointing urban experience. Salt Lake simply isn't a claustrophobic experience.

Dining has always been satisfying, from the coffee shop/diner to the steak house. The food is good, solid American fare. Room service is exceptional. If you have breakfast, don't pass up the muffins!

Service is also exceptional. It shows you can be friendly, courteous and efficient at the same time.

We typically self-park, because no matter how fast and efficient valet is, it still takes time. There is an ample parking structure under the hotel, and lots of space in the surrounding parking lots.

We have never stayed in the garden rooms, but they look to be very nice, and a great value.

Speaking of value, we have found the Little America with AARP discount to be in the same price range as much lesser hotels. Don't be afraid to check out the discounts. Often, the garden rooms are cheaper than one of the run of the mill chains.

As for the size of the room, the double queen tower rooms will have ample space for a family of 4. The garden double queens would appear to have ample room also, but I can only speak from personal experience about the tower.

This has a western style and feel to it. The lobby area has a huge fire place with overstuffed leather chairs and couches and is very open. No cramped spaces here!

Now for the complaints. This really is more a Salt Lake complaint, but a complaint nonetheless. The drinks are lilliputian. You will be disappointed by the mixed drinks. The service will be fantastic, the drinks will be tiny. That is just the way it is in Salt Lake. There is, however, a state liquor store 2 blocks away.

They say they have the best pool in the west, and I must agree. Bring a swim suit!

You will not be disappointed by your stay at the Little America, of course unless you want a mixed drink!

Room Tip: Tower rooms are wonderful. We have never had a bad experience. East facing rooms have a great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandAmerica, Public Relations Manager at Little America Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear PL21046-

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate your kind comments and will make sure to pass them on to our staff. We hope you'll stay with us again soon!

Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My fiancé and I were in Salt Lake City as part of a 30 day road trip across country. The Little America was one of our favorite places that we stayed, and definitely the best value (especially with a AAA discount). Our room was clean and beautiful, and extremely spacious, with a dressing room adjacent to the bathroom, both with large vanities. When you stay here, be sure to take full advantage of the indoor/outdoor swimming pool-- one of the most unique we had ever seen. We have family in Salt Lake, and we will be sure we always stay at the Little America when we visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We have enjoyed going to The Little America each year as a family tradition on Black Friday. We reserve enough rooms for all of our children and their families. The hotel has comfortable beds and large rooms. The rooms are a bit old-fashioned, it's true, but we like that. They have always been very clean. The tram is next to the hotel, and you can easily travel downtown to see the sights. I suggest getting in "the tower" rather than the garden rooms, but it depends on what you like. (The tower rooms are a little more expensive.)

Room Tip: The tower rooms are our favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

For years I've heard great things about this place so on a recent trip I decided to try it out.
What did I find? It is slightly better than average. It is more like a glorified Motel 6. Yes the rooms were clean but I didn't find them to be anything special. In fact, the decor was rather old. The bed and pillows were slightly better than average. (Personally one of the things I don't like about a hotel design like this is when you walk right out of your room into the parking lot. The designs tend to me a bit noisier whenever someone parks their car at night.)

Don't get me wrong. You can't go wrong here. It is clean and well managed. It is just not a remarkable place, especially for the price.

My review shouldn't say average. It should say a really good average place. Does this make any sense to you?

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey/ New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Its not a four seasons. It is a great hotel, immaculate, great staff and wonderful rooms.
Like I said, the fun part is in being surprised as to how good a hotel it really is. Quite enjoyed the stay here.

Room Tip: Any room is fun
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I was in SLC to run a two-day training program. The hotel was top rate with comfortable appointments and no worn carpet or leaky faucets. Room was spacious--as with most places I would have liked more electrical outlets. I did have difficulty getting the thermostat to warm the room up. The audio-visual staff was very prompt, friendly, and knowledgeable, helping me get my computer and projector up and running quickly. The hotel is doing a lot of renovation, and my participants were sometimes bothered by a glue or paint smell, but that is temporary.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Little America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little America Hotel

Address: 500 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#5 Best Value Hotel in Salt Lake City
#12 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#15 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#18 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Little America Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 850
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter and Tingo so you can book your Little America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Little America
Little America Salt Lake City
Little America Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little America Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.