We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for SLC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little America Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Little America Hotel to your Saves list
Little America Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good choice for SLC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stay at Little America in the tower each time we visit to ski. It's conveniently located in downtown SLC, close to the airport and interstate, making travel to ski resorts easy. Rooms are big and clean. Staff is helpful. Both restaurants are decent. The tower has garage parking - a must for cold, snowy mornings.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed the week for work when visiting, nice clean hotel although it is more along the line of suites as the rooms are quite large.

Nice restaurant and bar downstairs although the menu choice after 3 days was a bit repetative - quality was good though.

Gym was useful but not a huge choice of equipment - never used the pool but looked ok.

Location is close to centre SLC - tram ride is free to the centre. Would stay again for work

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank willb78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a conference. The property is beautiful and going through a renovation so there is only restaurant and it is a catch all bar/restaurant/ coffee house. There is limited seating the "bar" so dont expect a place to unwind.

The food itself was good but overpriced. The buffet was amazing but over $20 so when I can only eat one plate not really worth it.

The staff was amazing and the rooms are clean and spacious. Others are right the beds are HARD but the bedding is nice. One complaint I did have was that it was always hot in the hotel. It never got below 69 even with the air blasting in my room.

The location was nice with free trolley going through the downtown for sight seeing.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank UPGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I spent 5 nights at this property in August for the Outdoor Retailer trade show. We were happy to stay downtown as opposed to staying out by the airport- rooms are scarce for this particular trade show.

I had an issue before ever walking into the lobby. Somewhat of a bizarre incident. The doorman was busy assisting someone else so I pulled the door open. It flung back quickly- something broken with the hinges? The prong on my engagement ring broke due to the door swinging back so fast causing my hand to hit the wall. The young lady at the check-in desk was completely unsympathetic. As I went back out I commented to the doorman who immediately got the manager on duty. Thankfully, the hotel DID take care of my ring repair but it was due to me not accepting the young lady's nonchalant attitude. I do appreciate mgmt working with me on the ring repair.

My room was not inside in the tall towers. It was across the parking lot in the courtyard "motel type" rooms. This was quite disappointing. The room was very spacious but the decor quite outdated. Getting past all that...the room let in a lot of the outside noise. The worst part though is the bed was hard as a brick and the pillows were terrible - they flattened like pancakes. 5 nights of terrible, noisy, uncomfortable sleep. I can deal with a lot but I must have my rest. Based on this experience I would not stay again.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are noisy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ginabuchanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandAmerica, General Manager at Little America Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am glad that you were able to get your ring repaired. I apologize for the unsympathetic response you received. Please know that I have reviewed your comments with our Front Office staff as it is important for them to know the impact they had on your stay. It is unfortunate that you did not make us aware of your discomfort during your stay. I assure you that had we known you were unhappy with your room we would have done everything we could to make sure you were comfortable during your stay. We may have been able to move you to a different room or delivered foam pillows which we keep on hand for guests who do not like down pillows, or delivered a mattress topper to your room, etc. Thank you again for posting your comments. It is important for us to know the areas in which we need to improve.
If you have any further comments about your stay, you are welcome to email me directly.

Sincerely,

Ed Box
General Manager
Little America Hotel, Salt Lake
edbox@littleamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We couldn't have been more disappointed in this hotel. At check in the front desk staff acted as if they were doing us an enormous favor by allowing us to stay at the hotel. The electrical outlets in the bathroom and at the vanity outside the bathroom didn't work consistently so we couldn't get ready in the bathroom or close to any mirror. In addition, the cord from the coffee maker wasn't long enough to reach the electrical outlet so if you wanted to make coffee you had to balance it on top of something so you could plug it in. The restaurant staff was rude and inattentive. When we told the front desk about our difficulty with the electrical outlets, they offered no apology and didn't seem the least bit concerned that we'd had a problem. We stayed at this property several years ago and loved it but I can't see us ever staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe1834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Never wrote a review before, but this stay really was not good. There is little insulation and you can hear everything in the courtyard, as well as the rooms adjacent to you. But, my problem really started at 10pm, when I was woken up by someone coming in to my room. Seems the hotel had just booked someone into the room they rented to me earlier. Then at 2am I was woken up by a GIANT (and I mean GIANT) moth, or something that looked like a moth, flying around the room. It went under the bed before I could kill it. I searched for a good 30 minutes before having to climb fully under the covers for a few fitfull hours of sleep before having to get up at 5am to go to the airport. I was hoping to have some empathy from the morning person working the front desk, but she was so disinterested and did not even bother to ask how my stay was that I really felt frustrated enough to write this review.

Room Tip: stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meredith c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandAmerica, General Manager at Little America Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Meredith,

Thank you for posting your comments regarding your stay. I’m sorry to hear that you were inconvenienced during your stay with us. The person that entered your room was one of our bellman that was delivering luggage to a guest in the room near yours. Unfortunately he mixed up the room number, I do apologize for this inconvenience. The response you received from our Front Desk is unacceptable. Please know that I have shared your comments with my staff as it is important for them to know the impact that we had on your stay. If you have any further comments about your stay, you are welcome to email me directly. Thank you again for sharing the details of your stay. We use our guest comments as a valuable training tool and it is important for us to know when we fall short.

Sincerely,

Ed Box
General Manager
Little America Hotel, Salt Lake
edbox@littleamerica.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at Little America five different times for certain special occasions and we love it there; however, the beds are too firm and not very comfortable, so our quality of sleep suffers a little because of it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Tawna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand America Hotel
Grand America Hotel
#1 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,082 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a Kimpton Hotel
Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City - a ...
#13 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 stars 856 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt Lake City - Downtown
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Salt ...
#15 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 stars 587 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#12 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 stars 802 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downtown
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City-Downt...
#10 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 stars 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little America Hotel

Address: 500 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#5 Best Value Hotel in Salt Lake City
#15 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#18 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Little America Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 850
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Little America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Little America
Little America Salt Lake City
Little America Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing