We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little America Hotel

Save Saved
You added Little America Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Little America Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$20 Sinclair Gas Card
Ranked #16 of 75 hotels in Salt Lake City
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I was stayed here for a conference and I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived in my room. The rooms are HUGE!!! Supersized suite is more like it.The décor is a little grandma's sitting room, but everything was very clean. The beds were very cozy. The staff was very cordial and helpful.
The hotel is centrally located and also near the public rail line. There were numerous restaurants within walking distance. The food in the hotel, was OK, but overpriced as with any hotel.
If I ever traveled to Salt Lake again, I would stay here or recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    407
    309
    86
    44
    33
See reviews for
139
272
57
307
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed for two nights at Little America at the start of our road trip to Grand Tetons, Mount Rushmore and Yellowstone. The hotel is in a great location, easy enough to find after a long haul flight and near to the tram system which goes downtown and out to the airport. We had one of the motor lodge rooms which was clean and spacious and not that far from the main complex (It also meant that we could park really close to the room). The main hotel is impressive and seems to have everything to satisfy the holiday or business traveller. The restaurants are very good and the sports bar was excellent, although it did get full with people from business seminars on our second night. Little America is excellent value for money and we would recommend staying there. We certainly hope to be back again for the start of another road trip

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany ny
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We were attending a conference 9/22-27/13. Upon arrival the bell staff was amazing esp. David and Chris. Check in was just okay. I tried to explain to staff that I needed a room closer to the conf. rooms because of mobility issues. I ended up in the Garden rooms; which required me to walk up/down stairs. So, I go back to the desk to get my room changed. Now the walk is a bit further outside of the tower rooms and I was just too exhausted to change again. Shanda and Amy did all they could to make us all comfortable even though there was constant construction going on in the tower.
The rooms were very nice and the arm chairs were to die for. Even in the lobby the seating was large and comfortable. The pool area was indoor/outdoor and the hot tub was nice and hot. I only got to use it once unfortunately. The antique look to the hotel was really nice. The free trax(trolley) was right outside the hotel. All in all I had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Get a room in the tower esp. if you have mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at the Little America Hotel for 2 nights while on a road trip from Denver to Yellowstone. This is a great place to stay in downtown Salt Lake City. We are from Boston where you can't stay in the bad neighborhoods on the outskirts of town for $100 per night but we were able to stay at this hotel for right around that price, which was pleasantly surprising. The courtyard rooms are spacious and clean. The furnishings are a bit retro which is cool, but the girlfriend found it a bit "creepy". Overall this is a great stay and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are spacious and only 2 levels. We did not stay in the tower though we heard the to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

What a really nice surprise! Very good, large, well equipped room in the Garden Terrace. Great service. Whole hotel is very well maintained. Good restaurant. Very nice swimming pool with the warmest water we have ever experienced in a hotel in the US. Very well located near the free tram to downtown. Wished we had been able to stay longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGrandAmerica, Public Relations Manager at Little America Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear 3rdrocktraveller-

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your stay. We are glad to hear you were able to enjoy our restaurant and pool upon your visit. We hope you’ll stay with us once again upon your next visit to Salt Lake City.

-Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night when we left Salt Lake. All our belongings had been packed and sent cross-country so we only had a few bags to take on our flight. We stayed here because it was reasonably priced, close to our old home (which was being cleaned) and to the the interstate to access the airport. We stayed in the adjoining section off the main hotel and our room was perfect for us. The bed was comfortable, there was a small balcony and even a small refrigerator hidden in the bathroom. The hotel is a bit dated, but that's fine. There was a pool which we didn't try, and we liked the outdoor fountains. The landscaping is gorgeous - I've seen the folks working on my daily commute and they do a great job. We went to the informal hotel restaurant to pick up some food to eat in the room. The service was a little slow, but we were given water to sip on and we weren't in a big rush. The meal was tasty, especially the bread pudding. Check-in/check-out was fairly simple.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Grande, Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Close to downtown, 1/2 block from a train station. Excellent service, fitness center, breakfast, and the price is lower than expected based on the overall structure and facilities of the hotel. I would definitely come back or recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Little America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little America Hotel

Address: 500 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#3 Best Value Hotel in Salt Lake City
#12 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#14 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Little America Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Little America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Little America
Little America Salt Lake City
Little America Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little America Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.