We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Hotel, Great location, ample amenities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little America Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Little America Hotel to your Saves list
Little America Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Solid Hotel, Great location, ample amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Thanks again TripAdvisor reviewers! Little America is nice enough hotel, but with tons of amenities in a great location at a reasonable price. Tip - I'd follow the recommendation of many others here and pay the extra money for a tower room. I also requested, and received, a room with a view upon check-in - which was an added bonus.

The rooms themselves are very spacious. The decor isn't my taste, but is clean and in good condition. I never quite understand nightly turn down service, but it was offered here and a warm and friendly manner and fit the welcoming nature of the city itself.

Downstairs, the lobby is warm and welcoming and there are a few stores, a restaurant, and bar. One peeve about the bar is that they require you to order food along with drinks, but I assume that's more a sign of the Utah drinking laws than anything else.

There are plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance and freeway access is easy as well. Parking at the hotel was free and there were plenty of spaces both above ground and in the garage.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    351
    100
    50
    37
See reviews for
158
302
62
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011 via mobile

I stayed at the Little America Hotel while in SLC for a wedding. I received a great deal for the room on Priceline. The room was of a nice size. It was not in the main tower but in the rooms off from the main building. I was a little concerned that the room seemed so far away, but it was not as far as it appeared. The hotel also had a very nice restaurant. I had breakfast there. The food was very good and was not as pricey as you normally expect for a hotel restaurant. The shop in the hotel, though convenient, were pricey. They did however have a variety of item that would help in many situations. i.e. Dresses, scraves, ties, jewelry. I was very satisfied with my stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Even though I got in at about midnight, the front desk clerk was upbeat and perky. I would stay there again and recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrEdBox, General Manager at Little America Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you chose us to share your special occasion. Thank you so much for your kind comments about your stay. We will be sure to share your comments with our Managers.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Regards,

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
logan, ut
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

I would agree with previous reviews when they pointed out the datedness of the rooms. We were supposed to have a suite in the tower - we had a room on the third floor that smelled of smoke and had dinged up furniture. When we called the hotel office, they said the quality of our $200 a night room was not their problem, because we had booked through priceline. Priceline wasn't any help either and the kids were tired so we just went to bed.

On the plus side, the pool was nice, and the lobby was updated - but that is not enough to call this a 4-star hotel. This hotel should update their rooms and work on their customer care.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrEdBox, General Manager at Little America Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at The Little America Hotel. It is unfortunate we were not aware that your room was problematic. Some guests prefer to be near the elevator for convenience. The Hotel’s construction consists of 12 inch concrete walls, floors and ceilings. However the sound may travel through the space beneath the door. It is ADA (American Disabilities Act) compliant to have the elevator door sound at a significant volume when it reaches the floor, along with a clearly-visible indicator light. Had we known about your discomfort, we would have made every effort to accommodate your needs and move you to a more suitable room.

Salt Lake City is on Mountain Standard Time (which is one hour ahead of California). Perhaps, during your stay, our Housekeeping Attendant inadvertently set the clock in the room two hours ahead of Pacific Time. In that case, we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you during your stay. We have reviewed the procedure with our Housekeeping Manager to review with the staff.

Because there are many dining options within the Hotel, we are not sure which take-out service was responsible for the oversight. We thank you for your input on your restaurant experience and will strive to correct any problems.

We appreciate your business and hope you will choose The Little America Hotel again.

Sincerely,

Ed Box

General Manager

Little America Hotel, Salt Lake City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

I just stayed here for the past two nights. I have also stayed here last year for three nights. The rooms are large, but that is the only good thing about the hotel.
Here are the problems I had:
The walls are very thin. I had a room right in front of the elevator and I could hear a loud ring everytime the elevator arrived to the floor. It was very loud and I could not sleep at night at all. I also heard the noise from the elevators going up and down.

The clock in the room was wrong. They set it to an hour ahead. I am visiting from California and the wrong time in the room was very confusing.

The restaurant here has bad service. It took a while to get my to go food and the order was incorrect. They gave ms the wrong soup and did not give me dressing for my salad.

I will not stay here again. Maybe I will go to grand America next time I am in slc.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrEdBox, General Manager at Little America Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at The Little America Hotel. It is unfortunate we were not aware that your room was problematic. Some guests prefer to be near the elevator for convenience. The Hotel’s construction consists of 12 inch concrete walls, floors and ceilings. However the sound may travel through the space beneath the door. It is ADA (American Disabilities Act) compliant to have the elevator door sound at a significant volume when it reaches the floor, along with a clearly-visible indicator light. Had we known about your discomfort, we would have made every effort to accommodate your needs and move you to a more suitable room.

Salt Lake City is on Mountain Standard Time (which is one hour ahead of California). Perhaps, during your stay, our Housekeeping Attendant inadvertently set the clock in the room two hours ahead of Pacific Time. In that case, we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you during your stay. We have reviewed the procedure with our Housekeeping Manager to review with the staff.

Because there are many dining options within the Hotel, we are not sure which take-out service was responsible for the oversight. We thank you for your input on your restaurant experience and will strive to correct any problems.
We appreciate your business and hope you will choose The Little America Hotel again.


Sincerely,

Ed Box

General Manager

Little America Hotel, Salt Lake City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

If you book through Priceline and end up here, they will stick you in the assisted living facility. Or at least that's what the room looks like--complete with toilet-side telephone in the pink-tiled bathroom. The hotel consists of a tower and "garden" rooms. I can't comment on the tower, although the lobby is quite well-appointed. The "garden" rooms, however, are desperately in need of an update unless 1980s-great-aunt-apartment is a new style trend--pink and kelly green plaid furnishings, white wicker. Cleanliness and amenities were not on par with the star-level of the hotel--shower didn't drain properly, scuffs on bedspread. no fridge, coffeemaker, really iffy wifi. Location overall is okay--near the light rail and walkable to what feels more like downtown---shops, business, restaurants--nothing much except Grand America and a car dealership in the immediate area. Definitely wouldn't stay with this chain again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
801-258-6609, General Manager at Little America Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2011
Dear Guest,
I am sorry that you were disappointed with your recent stay.
I would like to discuss the details of your stay with you as you mention in your comment that you reserved a Garden room. I am concerned because all of these rooms have a refrigerator and all of the rooms at our hotel have coffee makers in them.
Please email me your information to edbox@littleamerica.com and I will research your stay and
contact you.
Sincerely,
Ed Box
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

Little America in SLC was a great hotel! It is right across the street from its sister hotel, The Grand America, which is a luxurious 5 star hotel. You can go over to the Grand Hotel to eat or use the spa facilities and charge anything to your room at Little America. We did not stay in the main tower at Little America, we stayed in the 2 flat walk-up/outdoor hallway type buildings. At first i was a little concerned, however the room was great! Very clean, tons of mirrored closet space, ok size bathroom, seperate vanity mirror outside of the bathroom. The only thing lacking in the room was a refrigerator... however, i think you can request one. Also, a couple of our friends had problems with a noisy radiator, but we did not experience this issue. The beds were nice enough. The breakfast area in one of the restaurants was delish and there are a lot of stores in the main hotel. Also, the hotel decor is very tasteful and impressive. We traveled to SLC for a snowboarding trip and opted to stay in downtown SLC instead of at the ski resorts. It really was the best option because we were able to visit 3 different resorts in 3 days- all were a 25-30 minute ride from the hotel- and get a cheaper rate then a resort. And when we were looking for dinner options, there were beyond numerous options right down the street from our hotel. Everyone in our group of friends agreed that we would definitely stay at Little America again!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrEdBox, General Manager at Little America Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2011
Dear ValerieM,

We are so glad you were able to stay in Little America’s Courtside Rooms. Our guests often find these rooms to be a pleasant surprise. So many of them want to stay in the luxurious tower—but come to find that same luxury carries over to our Courtside and Garden Rooms. As you know, these guest rooms are a spectacular value—especially when it comes to the living space and bathroom amenities. And you’re right: refrigerators—and even microwaves—are available upon request. As you likely noticed, coffee makers are also provided in every room.
Most of all, we are glad you thought of Little America when it came to snowboarding and skiing. Many guests are unaware that when staying with us, you can be skiing at any of eight different world-class resorts in under an hour. Some are as little as thirty minutes away while others are just forty-five—and the snow is unbeatable. Plus, you have the great après-ski factor with our proximity to downtown nightlife after hitting the heated indoor-outdoor pool, Jacuzzi, and dry saunas.
Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next ski vacation. But don’t forget our mountains and Little America have something unique to offer in every season!

Best,
Kit Olpin
Little America Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

My wife and I were in SLC over the Christmas holiday visiting one of our children. After extensively researching our lodging options we made reservations at Little America. I did so with some trepidation based on a few lack luster reviews posted on this site. From the moment we arrived we we very impressed. The location could not be more convenient. Great restaurants. Cozy bar. Literally steps away from the FREE TRAX light rail system. A very pleasant doorman assisted us with our luggage and directed us to the clean well lit underground parking area. Check-in was a breeze. Our tower room was spacious, nicely furnished and what a view! Free high speed internet. The lobby was a visual delight. Lots a comfy couches and a roaring fire in the central fireplace. The service and fare in the steak house did not disappoint. The breakfast buffet was exceptional. We visited the indoor/outdoor heated pool and spa nightly followed up with a good sweat in the sauna. The staff was very attentive. The public areas of the property were impeccable. Interesting specialty gift shops. The grounds were tastefully decorated and nicely maintained. Friends of ours stayed in the "Garden" area and they were also very satisfied with their accommodations. Bottom line: Little America is a class act an certainly worthy of your consideration when visiting SLC. Thanks Little America! We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrEdBox, General Manager at Little America Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2011
Dear WSMc,

Thank you for complimenting us on being a class-act at the Little America Hotel! You are right—location is everything, and our proximity to downtown, the mountains, and the airport are bar none. Our free parking and free public transportation are always plusses—glad you could take advantage of both.
We pride ourselves on encouraging our staff to be friendly, assertive, and predictive of your needs. Thank you so much for acknowledging those who stand out.
Our tower rooms are among the largest in Salt Lake City, and we are glad you were delighted with both the comfort of the room as well as our public/lobby spaces. Even though complimentary WIFI is available in the rooms and throughout the hotel, don’t forget that we also have a self-service Business Center available 24 hours, should you need it.

We believe that our gift shops, restaurants, and our spa facilities are some of our best-kept secrets. Isn’t it great to take a nice hot Jacuzzi or swim in the comfortably heated indoor-outdoor pool in the middle of January? Glad you had the pleasure…
We’d like to thank you for being a class-act, and look forward to your return.
At Little America, we truly aspire to make your experience so memorable, that you return again and again.

We look forward to seeing you soon,
Kit Olpin
Little America Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Little America Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little America Hotel

Address: 500 South Main Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salt Lake City
#4 Best Value Hotel in Salt Lake City
#13 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#13 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#19 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Little America Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 850
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Little America Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Little America
Little America Salt Lake City
Little America Hotel Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little America Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.