We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salt Lake City KOA

Salt Lake City KOA
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salt Lake City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Salt Lake City KOA
Save Saved
You added Salt Lake City KOA to your Saves list
1400 West North Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84116   |  
Hotel amenities
Broomfield, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I took my 2 kids here and we LOVED it!

The pool is a nice way to cool off after a hot day, or during the hot day :-)
The bathrooms are very clean, the showers were hot and I was really pleased that there was an area with a big sink for doing dishes in the group area. There are ample laundry machines and wireless access throughout the camp. They also have a water aerobics class, movie night on Fridays and s'mores night on Monday (which we will miss, sadly). They also do a pancake breakfast on Saturday and Sunday mornings that was well priced and very good. In addition there is a free shuttle tour to downtown on the half hours.

This is a great base camp for visiting the Salt Lake area. I have stayed at other KOAs that were not nearly as nice as this one. I'm really happy we stayed here!

Room Tip: There are cabins here too. Next time I will try one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    19
    9
    6
    7
See reviews for
19
23
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, CA
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Yes, this KOA is not in the best part of town, but it never bothered us at the least. Everything seemed safe and secure, clean and friendly.
Our site was well maintained, all services worked fine, check in was quick and easy. The showers and facilities were above average, but not excellent.
While it is nothing outstanding, it is a good camp ground in a good location and I would recommend this KOA to anyone who's travelling to Slat Lake City.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Friendly helpful staff, .the park is clean with clean facilities and RV sites, even the tent sites looked great. Grassy sites with nice trees and close to stores and shopping. They have a well stocked store with necessaries.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This KOA would be the biggest by far we have stayed in to date. Very friendly staff at book in and helpful when needed with Internet issues. Every bay, whether for RV, Winnebago Truck or tent has shade trees. Several cabins are also available. Toilets are secure as is the pool. Right out the front in North Temple Ave is a light rail track system that will have you in the city in 12 minutes or will take you to the Airport as well. A car wash and large Laundromat on site. They have just upgraded their internet for easier access.
The hot tub was wonderful, but the pool was a little dirty.
Tent sites have a privacy bush between then.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I liked this KOA. I am not normally to impressed with KOAs, and I have stayed at a million. This is defiantly one of the best. It is close to the middle of the city, and the staff is amazing. I stayed at this KOA during a road trip that my boyfriend and I were taking across country. I love that it has showers and laundry facilities because we need them!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocatello, Idaho
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Huge and a bit crowded. Not exactly a camping experience but in a convenient location for visiting in Salt Lake. Friendly and helpful staff. Pool was closed for the season but the hot tub was still available. Restrooms and shower facilities were closed at different times than posted. A trolly station will soon be opening very near the entrance making it even more convenient for extended stays in Salt Lake City.

Room Tip: Do not come here if you are looking for a "camping" experience. This is a convenient stop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Stayed in many RV parks during our 14 day vacation - this one was by far the worst. Dog poop all over the ground - cigarette butts everywhere. Some full-time person's unleashed dog went after my dogs. Dead lawns. Over all a horrible park and I would never recommend it to anyone. Next time I will either find somewhere else to stay or not stop in Salt Lake City at all!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slckoa, Manager at Salt Lake City KOA, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thanks for your review and for your phone call. After you called, I went to the tent site to clean the butts and doggie doo, but someone had beat me to it. The big tent site you referred to was clean. We did reassign the workers so that this will not happen again.

I spoke with the longterm resident the next day after your dog got scared. She said her dachshund/chihuahua mixed dog ran out past her. I reminded her that dogs need to be on leashes at all times. She said she does leash her dogs, but this time it slipped past her.

As I said during our phone call, I am sorry your dog was scared. None of us likes dogs running up to us.

We do try to address problems as soon as they occur when they are brought to our attention, and we try to provide an enjoyable experience. I'm sorry we let your down.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Salt Lake City KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt Lake City KOA

Address: 1400 West North Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84116
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty lodging in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Salt Lake City Koa Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City KOA Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salt Lake City KOA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.