We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Stay in Salt Lake City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites SLC Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites SLC Airport to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites SLC Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   307 North Admiral Byrd Rd., Salt Lake City, UT 84116   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Military Family Rate
Ranked #14 of 75 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Sapphire, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Our Stay in Salt Lake City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel is called "Airport" but it's a quiet area. We never heard the jets. The only thing we didn't like was the fact that there were really no places to eat close to the hotel. The hotel itself was a nice Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IamHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites SLC Airport, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
For a hotel located as close to the airport as we are most would anticipate a some what rough night due to noise. That is an area that we are great in. We are a very quiet comfortable place to get a great nights sleep and our Serta Dream Structures help in the process. Thank you very much for choosing us and taking a minute to port your thoughts on TA. Wishing you many safe travels for you and yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    100
    31
    18
    8
See reviews for
75
109
32
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gualala, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Overall, my wife and I had an excellent experience at the Hampton Inn & Suites SLC Airport.

Our room was spacious and comfortable. The bed was excellent and the linens fresh. The bathroom was very clean and tidy.

The hotel staff was very agreeable when checking in and out.

Things fell apart at breakfast. When we appeared at 8:15 for breakfast, there were no omelettes. So we waited. Then my wife decided she'd have a waffle instead. The waffle machine was occupied so we waited and waited.......slowest waffle machine in the West I think. She finally gave up and ate a boiled egg.

Finally, the omelettes arrived. The lady brought out six and put them in the empty steam table pan. The 3 people ahead of me were gluttons and between the 3 of them took all six. I still had no omelette. So I waited. Ten minutes went by and FINALLY, the lady servicing the breakfast bar made an appearance......not with omelettes, but to bring more plates. I can't eat plates. Before I could catch her, she disappeared back thru the service people only door. I never saw her again in the next 18 minutes we were there. I finally gave up and ate a boiled egg as well.

After staying at Hampton Inns for the past 12 years, I THINK something is not right. I would hope management could train their breakfast staff to check on the breakfast bar food supply at least every 10 minutes. Is that asking too much? If it is, show me where the boxed omelettes are and the microwave and I'll service the breakfast bar myself.

Room Tip: We had a corner room which was great......highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IamHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites SLC Airport, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Your glowing review filled me with joy and confidence in my team until I read about the breakfast. Please accept my apology. I would love if you would reach out to me at teresa.capener@hilton.com. Our guests are what keep us in business and we want you to be happy, please give me an opportunity to make it right. Hopefully when it is all said and done you will choose Hampton again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Rockaway, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We arrived late in SLC - hotel is in the airport business park, two exits down from airport (4.5milies), neighborhood was quiet and clean. Check in was seamless. The room was oversized, comfortable and clean. They do offer complimentary airport shuttle and breakfast.

Room Tip: Continue to check price of room. I saved $20.00 by rechecking the website two days before travel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IamHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites SLC Airport, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for posting on TA. We are happy you chose to stay with us when there are so many other options. Please be sure to stay with us again if you are ever back in Salt Lake City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, Oregon
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is why Hampton's 100% guarantee works. We had so many complaints about a stay at the Elk Grove Hampton during the first part of our trip that the front desk person zeroed out our charge. Thanks to that gesture, we gave Hampton another try toward the end of our trip, and were completely satisfied.

When we booked online, we reserved a corner room and requested a quiet location on the top floor away from the elevator and ice machine. What we were given at the SLC Hampton was a huge suite on the second floor directly across from the ice machine. They said the corner rooms were being worked on. It turned out to be a more than fair trade. The suite was so large that the bedroom was quite a distance from the hall and ice machine. No noise there, though we could hear the upstairs guests early, which is common at airport hotels. What we didn't hear at all were planes, which makes this one of the best hotels near the SLC airport. The fan in the air-conditioning unit was also less noisy than is usual these days. The room was pretty clean, and the staff friendly and helpful, even leaving chocolate mints on our pillows. . Breakfast was decent. I enjoyed the scrambled eggs and French toast sticks, but the bacon was limp and soggy. All in all, this was probably the best chain hotel we stayed in on our 4,000 mile trip around the Southwest. I think this is what Hampton has in mind for all its hotels, hence the guarantee.

By the way, we were driving, not flying. We chose this Hampton because it is just west of the city, close to the freeway. Travelers heading west can avoid the morning traffic jam in SLC by staying in this area.

Room Tip: The suites are great if you can get a free upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IamHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites SLC Airport, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
The 100% Guarantee is what Hampton is built on. We not only believe in it but we really live by it. Thank you for all the wonderful things you mentioned about our hotel (that we love too) and the great team. Thank you for giving us a try and so happy we didn't disappoint. If you are ever our way again be sure to stop in you're always welcomed here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

In the past, our travels to Salt Lake involved staying downtown. This time we stayed at the Hampton Inn by the airport. At first I was concerned about not being in downtown, but I was quickly won over by this pleasant hotel. Downtown hotels are spendy -- the Hampton was reasonably priced and had free parking. Downtown hotels tend to be noisy, but the Hampton was very quiet. The staff went out of their way to make the stay a pleasant one. In fact my husband stayed at this location a few weeks before and the staff went out of there way to help him after the airlines lost his luggage. They recognized him as soon as he walked into the hotel. Rooms were large and very comfortable. Exercise facility was clean and well maintained. Free breakfast was more than dry cereal and coffee. There were cheese omelets, sausages, pastries, fresh fruit, great oatmeal... Coffee and tea were available 24 hours and cookies were on the counter every night. I did find myself driving downtown, but it only took 10 minutes at the most. It also made me explore other areas of Utah since we were so close to the freeways. The only negative would be the lack of places to eat in the area -- but again, we found great places not too far away. I look forward to staying at the Hampton in the future especially in the summer -- they have a great outdoor pool area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IamHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites SLC Airport, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Ok, I need to start by clarifying that you were not paid for that glowing review and observation :) Thank you so much for stating all the points that we love about our hotel. Our guests are so very important to us and it looks like you felt it during your stay. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to all your future visits. Be sure to let us know any special requests you might have that will make your future stays even better. Thank you for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eau claire, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This property is overpriced for what you receive by $25-$30 per night as compared to other properties of similar comparisons. Did not care for the breakfast selection. Chose to go out for breakfast. Would like to see Hampton Inns change their food offering from time to time

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IamHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites SLC Airport, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Your feedback is so appreciated. We always make a concerted effort to be fairly priced and I am sorry you did not find that in your research. You are right about breakfast however, we do need some improvement and I and all Hampton's are listening. I am glad to share the news that some improvements are on the way right around the corner. Thank you so much for giving us a try and hope that you will stay again if travel brings you to Salt Lake City in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Hampton accommodated us on short notice, and provided a room with easy access from outside, so my wife wouldn't have far to walk. She has been having trouble walking. The breakfast service was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IamHampton, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites SLC Airport, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
So glad you allowed us to take care of you and your sweetheart. It is nice to know you were able to enjoy a pleasant nights rest and breakfast. Be sure to come and see us again, we loved having you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites SLC Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites SLC Airport

Address: 307 North Admiral Byrd Rd., Salt Lake City, UT 84116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Salt Lake City
#9 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#11 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
#22 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites SLC Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites SLC Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Slc Airport
Hampton Inn & Suites Slc Airport Hotel Salt Lake City
Hampton Inn Slc Airport
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites SLC Airport Salt Lake City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites SLC Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.