We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good not great.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Salt Lake City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Express Salt Lake City to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Express Salt Lake City
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   121 North 300 West, Salt Lake City, UT 84102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #45 of 76 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    165
    123
    49
    22
See reviews for
91
118
33
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moab Utah
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I like that there is a convenience store in the next block. The trax construction is complete and a great way to get around. In fact the Green Bike SLC bike share is on the north end of the Gateway Mall two blocks away too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The outside could use some updating. That being said, I enjoyed my stay. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. The bathroom had a shower but no tub.The front desk clerks were friendly and helpful. I especially liked the very comfy bed with all the extra pillows. Nice!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arimo, Idaho
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were really disappointed with this facility. The entire structure appears to be of last century vintage. Some of the plumbing fixtures were in dis-repair(shower) the beds and rugs were old and ragged. The entire room was small, poorly arranged and dingy. WE were not given any bath towels, when we arrived the first day and had to call for service.The TV set is of the old species but worked okay. The rooms were quite clean . The breakfast meal was the worst that we have ever had.I guess you pay for what you get. The front office access was hard to find and the office and staff seemed polite but disorganized and it looked messsy. The parking lot was a big joke. There were roofing nails on the asphalt where cars parked.In general, we know that we wil never
book a room at this hotel again.We will go with the other cheap hotels( Super 8 etc.).At least they are modern. Richard L Walker 08/25/2013

Room Tip: Do Not book rooms with Howard Johnson in Salt Lake City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed at this location after finding a hotel coupon book in Wyoming. Received $10 off the normal room rate. I actually stayed at this location in 1976 when it was a different hotel chain. Liked it then; liked it this time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Express Salt Lake City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Salt Lake City

Address: 121 North 300 West, Salt Lake City, UT 84102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Salt Lake City 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Salt Lake City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Salt Lake City Hotel Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Salt Lake City
Howard Johnson Express Salt Lake City Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Salt Lake City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.