We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, not great but certainly okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 W 400 South Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% This Summer!
Ranked #57 of 74 Hotels in Salt Lake City
USA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good hotel, not great but certainly okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is an older property that has been mostly though not totally renovated. Stayed here for a week last month and while it didn't knock my socks off, it was certainly okay.

Pros-
-easy walking distance to some local sites and restaurants (but no shopping really- downtown SLC is rather light in that department overall)
-small but nice indoor pool and hot tub
-all the conveniences you've come to expect from a Courtyard- laundry, boarding pass print out, the Bistro
-nice little outdoor patio off of the Bistro
-plenty of parking
-helpful (mostly) front desk staff

Cons-
-age of facility
-outside could probably also use a facelift
-located on edge of questionable area (although I still felt pretty safe- SLC overall is a very safe city)


About the noise- I am pretty sensitive to this when traveling and (at least on the 3rd floor) the noise was negligible, even though we faced the street. This could be because we were on the top floor and because SLC traffic is nothing compared to other cities. The noise guests on the first and second floor complained about is very real and I think it has to do with the internal structure of the (older) building, a problem that will be very hard to truly address. I noticed that the carpet in the halls and the room were WAY thicker than normal, probably trying to fix the problem. But the issue with noise is not with people's footsteps, it's when people or heavy luggage moves across the floor and the weight cause give in the floor itself. I'm pretty light and the noise the floor made when I walked made me sound like I was a giant. No real fix here except try to stay on the top floor.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    6
    6
    1
See reviews for
2
4
Solo
0
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

#317 is the handicapped room. I'm not handicapped but they stuck he here. I'm a Marriott Rewards member and frequent business traveler. Despite my "profile" which requested to be "AWAY FROM ELEVATOR" they put me right next to it.

The interior of room 317 is bare minimum of Marriott standards. No glasses in room, only paper cups?

Room 317 has a shower only. However, shower drains into bathroom not toward drain. You take a shower and it runs across the bathroom tile and down toward the threshold into the carpeting. I had to place a towel to stem the flow of water and put towels on the floor to prevent slipping. Years of allowing water leaking have resulted in STRONG mildew odor. Seems when they tried to retrofit this old dog they used idiot carpenters as the shower stall should be sloped toward the drain away from the opening.

A dangerously wet bathroom floor is a liability hazard, particularly for a handicapped room. Are you listening plaintiff attorney's????

There is MOLD on the ceiling!!! Yuck! Mold can be hazardous and certain strains are considered cancerous.

Bathroom lighting is very dim. (possibly to hide the mold???)

Not up to Marriott's usual standards.

They TILED the area near the elevator so EVERYTIME someone rolls their suitcase on and off the hotel you get to hear it and it wakes you up.

OLD windows which need replacing.

The only redeeming quality of the hotel is the nice lobby, and Bistro. However, Bistro was out of a type of bread ADVERTISED for a sandwich. How you let your kitchen service run out of bread is beyond me.

Oh and a nice outdoor seating area off the Bistro area is refreshing.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 317
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We only stayed for one night, but it was a great stay. Had to stay in stay in Downtown Salt Lake City. This Courtyard by Marriott was great. They confirmed everything for a late arrival and had everything we needed. The room was very comfortable, clean, and a reasonable price. Very good value for the money. The room was fairly quiet too. I would recommend this hotel if you have to stay downtown. Staff was excellent too.

Room Tip: Look for a name brand you can trust. They usually come through. Even though everything is normally d...
See more room tips
Green Features: Water conservation notes were in the bathroom. It was there, but subtle. All was very good.
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

In fairness, a very nice hotel that is well up to Courtyard standards. Welcoming reception area, comfortable rooms. But the location is just unattractive albeit relatively convenient. Given the choice of the Courtyard or nearby Residence Inn, choose the Residence.

For convenience, the Courtyard is right on 400 South so it's easy on and off the freeway. But the hotel is surrounded by vacant lots - not the most appealing backdrop for the short walk downtown.

Everything else about our stay was top notch from staff to quality of hotel itself.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andres N, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, April 23, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Salt Lake city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Indiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Very comfortable bed, but staff not so good. Hotel has a shuttle BUT if there is only 1 person at front desk, it doesn't run. We stayed 2 night (sat & sun). No shuttle available. So we took Uber. When we arrived, there wasn't a luggage cart so front desk they would find one. After 10 minutes we just took luggage to our room and when we arrived the keys wouldn't work and had to go back to front desk. Not much of an apology. . . . Don't know of we would stay here again.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andres N, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown, responded to this review, April 20, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Courtyard Salt Lake City Downtown with us. Every process put in place is aimed at providing you with an unforgettable hotel experience. From your recent feedback, I am disappointed to learn that we fell short of your expectations. I appreciate the opportunity to resolve this matter and if necessary use this as a teaching opportunity for our staff.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to serving you again when your travels bring you back to Salt Lake City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

The hotel is modern, comfortable and clean. Staff is the most friendly hotel staff we have seen in a long time. (esp Marjory). Wonderful Bistro with good food beer and wine.
Great location for all Salt Lake City activities (short walk to Temple and City Creek Mall).
30 minute easy drive to Park City and ski resorts. HIGHLY RECOMMEND for location, staff and property. Only negative is nightclub n the back...ask for front facing room.

Room Tip: Ask for front facing room...night club in back...late night noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

I was fortunate enough to be given a nights stay, and breakfast, at this property as a gift. The staff from the front desk, food services, house keeping and engineering were outstanding. The Bistro foods were well prepared and tasted great. My room was very clean. I did have a slight maintenance issue in my room which was addressed promptly by guest services, and engineering was there in less than 5 minutes and solved the problem right away. Convenient location for both downtown and freeway access.

Room Tip: West facing room has a better city scape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown

Address: 130 W 400 South Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 74 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown Hotel Salt Lake City
Courtyard Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Courtyard
Salt Lake City Marriott
Courtyard By Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.