We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellent 2 bed suite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 W 400 South Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #44 of 75 hotels in Salt Lake City
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent 2 bed suite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel isn't new, but it is in a very good location for dining out in SLC and for the summer Saturday markets in Pioneer Park. The AC works really well (although the return vent is very noisy) and you wouldn't know it was 100 deg outside. All these 4 storey timber hotels are noisy, it's the way it is. I bring earplugs! The pool is dated but ok, kids don't care if a pool is old, I only care that it is clean and it was. We had a 2 bed suite and it was excellent for our 2 children and I. Breakfast is just what you would expect, includes scrambled eggs, self-made waffles, french toast. All in all I thought the hotel was good value for money.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    40
    24
    11
    4
See reviews for
19
18
9
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

the motel lobby was well decorated. carpeting in halls and room appear new. comfortable beds and nice linens.friendly helpful staff. we walked to the conference center and the beautiful downtown area and did not see the homeless Park. we saw great restaurants good shopping and lots of tourists. we've been traveling for 4 weeks and would definitely choose this motel again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colora
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The property from the hotel website picture looks like it sits on a large lot. However, it sits on a very narrow property in somewhat an L shape with access from two roads. There is limited hotel parking. The lobby has the bistro and a small pantry. There is a pool on the first floor but I did not have time to access it this stay. I received the upgraded king room. My sister had a regular king room. Both rooms were relatively small, but had a love seat and desk with a chair. There was coffee and the usual amenidities, iron, ironing board, hair dryer in the room. My room had a jetted tub, which also served as the shower. I did not like this set up. It was hard to get into and out of the tub to use the shower and I do not use jetted tubs in hotels. The night clerk was very friendly and suggested a restaurant for us which was very good for breakfast, Market Street Grill. It was a short walk from the hotel. There is a bar near the hotel and I can see where it might get overcrowed and noisey in the area on weekends. However, I did not stay on the weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I was on business in Salt Lake in late May and stayed at Courtyard in Downtown SLC. When I received my express check-out bill early on the morning I left Salt Lake, I assumed it was correct. The hotel had made a $100 mistake in their favor and charged the additional amount to my credit card without notifying me. I discovered the additional charge a month later when I received my credit card statement. I had already billed my customer, so there was no way I could recoup the additional expense.

I contacted Marriott Customer Care and they passed the information on the the hotel management. The hotel management refused to admit that they had made any mistake (even though I emailed a copy of the incorrect bill) and refused to make any restitution.

I have been a loyal Marriott customer for 19 years and my business spends between $35,000-$40,000 per year on hotel stays for business travel. I have now changed all my hotel business to other hotel chains and will not at stay at any Marriott property in the foreseeable future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This must be one of the original footprints of the Courtyard brand. Small rooms but everything worked with the exception of the weak WiFi which I could never get a strong enough signal in my room. Comfortable, clean with ample supplies. Cold rooms for the heat wave! Accommodating staff. Business center had paper and supplies with support of the front desk as needed. I really have no complaints but after coming from another Courtyard in Washington state which was EXCELLENT, SLC was a bit of a "disappointment" or a downer experience. Nothing I can really hang my hat on. Location is great to the convention center; lots of great food places nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Rooms and overall structure of the building are dated. However, the lobby looks new and modern. It is past midnight and I can hear dance music thumping. I am unsure where this is coming from. I have been to Courtyard Marriott's in the past and this has been somewhat disappointing. No free shuttle service is offered. Other hotels like the Sheraton offer free shuttle service to and from the airport. The only good thing is the free internet which is a rarity in most hotels in downtown Salt Lake City.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Did what it says on the tin! Comfortable, quiet, within easy walking reach of the centre of town, and even closer to a great brew pub! Staff helpful and unobtrusive. Enjoyed breakfast but, being relatively new to the US, were surprised that we were served with food we didn't think we asked for!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown

Address: 130 W 400 South Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 75 hotels in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown Hotel Salt Lake City
Courtyard Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Marriott
Salt Lake City Courtyard
Courtyard By Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.