We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated property but accommodating staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 W 400 South Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #47 of 75 hotels in Salt Lake City
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Dated property but accommodating staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This must be one of the original footprints of the Courtyard brand. Small rooms but everything worked with the exception of the weak WiFi which I could never get a strong enough signal in my room. Comfortable, clean with ample supplies. Cold rooms for the heat wave! Accommodating staff. Business center had paper and supplies with support of the front desk as needed. I really have no complaints but after coming from another Courtyard in Washington state which was EXCELLENT, SLC was a bit of a "disappointment" or a downer experience. Nothing I can really hang my hat on. Location is great to the convention center; lots of great food places nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    36
    22
    11
    4
See reviews for
18
17
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Rooms and overall structure of the building are dated. However, the lobby looks new and modern. It is past midnight and I can hear dance music thumping. I am unsure where this is coming from. I have been to Courtyard Marriott's in the past and this has been somewhat disappointing. No free shuttle service is offered. Other hotels like the Sheraton offer free shuttle service to and from the airport. The only good thing is the free internet which is a rarity in most hotels in downtown Salt Lake City.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Did what it says on the tin! Comfortable, quiet, within easy walking reach of the centre of town, and even closer to a great brew pub! Staff helpful and unobtrusive. Enjoyed breakfast but, being relatively new to the US, were surprised that we were served with food we didn't think we asked for!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed for 5 days at this hotel on the first floor. It was located at the end of the hall away from any noise. I was very surprised to hear the neighbors TV's on both sides of my room and all the squeaking of the occupants of the second floor above my room. I could hear it all save for my trusty ear plugs. The lobby and pool/jacuzzi were nicely appointed. There was no gluten free choices in food but there are plenty of restaurants near by that can accommodate.
The personnel were very accomodating, friendly, and professional. The airport shuttle was on time.

Room Tip: Perhaps the top floor would be more quiet...at least there would be no squeaky floor above you to de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is a great location for business travle to Salt Lake. Near the freeway, but quiet, and lots of walkable restaurant options. Not much else to say, except that the experience was everything I have come to expect and appreciate form a Marriott. You won't go wrong here.

Room Tip: Towards the back, away from 400 South.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I can always count on a good night's rest when staying at Courtyards, but not this time. The walls/ceilings are apparently thin, because there was a lot of sound coming from all sides. The location is fantastic, but since it's close to so many restaurants and bars, there gets to be another round of noise coming from outside around last call. The lobby area is very modern, but the rooms no so much. The rate I got made the minor setbacks acceptable. I would probably stay elsewhere next time, unless the rate is too good to pass up.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights for a conference. This hotel is CLEAN! I was very pleased to stay here and I higly recommend this place.
Salt Lake City is a welcoming city and this hotel is in a great location close to everything and in a walking distance to the conference center ( 8-10 min walk).
Staff is extremly polite.
However KUDOS to the cleaning lady:) I hope her manager will read this review and give her credit.
I stayed on the 3rd floor:)

Room Tip: ask to stay on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown

Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown Hotel Salt Lake City
Courtyard Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Marriott
Salt Lake City Courtyard
Courtyard By Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown Utah
Address: 130 W 400 South Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 75 hotels in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.