We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Improvement” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 W 400 South Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #45 of 76 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Needs Improvement”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Rooms and overall structure of the building are dated. However, the lobby looks new and modern. It is past midnight and I can hear dance music thumping. I am unsure where this is coming from. I have been to Courtyard Marriott's in the past and this has been somewhat disappointing. No free shuttle service is offered. Other hotels like the Sheraton offer free shuttle service to and from the airport. The only good thing is the free internet which is a rarity in most hotels in downtown Salt Lake City.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    47
    27
    15
    4
See reviews for
20
22
11
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Did what it says on the tin! Comfortable, quiet, within easy walking reach of the centre of town, and even closer to a great brew pub! Staff helpful and unobtrusive. Enjoyed breakfast but, being relatively new to the US, were surprised that we were served with food we didn't think we asked for!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed for 5 days at this hotel on the first floor. It was located at the end of the hall away from any noise. I was very surprised to hear the neighbors TV's on both sides of my room and all the squeaking of the occupants of the second floor above my room. I could hear it all save for my trusty ear plugs. The lobby and pool/jacuzzi were nicely appointed. There was no gluten free choices in food but there are plenty of restaurants near by that can accommodate.
The personnel were very accomodating, friendly, and professional. The airport shuttle was on time.

Room Tip: Perhaps the top floor would be more quiet...at least there would be no squeaky floor above you to de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is a great location for business travle to Salt Lake. Near the freeway, but quiet, and lots of walkable restaurant options. Not much else to say, except that the experience was everything I have come to expect and appreciate form a Marriott. You won't go wrong here.

Room Tip: Towards the back, away from 400 South.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I can always count on a good night's rest when staying at Courtyards, but not this time. The walls/ceilings are apparently thin, because there was a lot of sound coming from all sides. The location is fantastic, but since it's close to so many restaurants and bars, there gets to be another round of noise coming from outside around last call. The lobby area is very modern, but the rooms no so much. The rate I got made the minor setbacks acceptable. I would probably stay elsewhere next time, unless the rate is too good to pass up.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights for a conference. This hotel is CLEAN! I was very pleased to stay here and I higly recommend this place.
Salt Lake City is a welcoming city and this hotel is in a great location close to everything and in a walking distance to the conference center ( 8-10 min walk).
Staff is extremly polite.
However KUDOS to the cleaning lady:) I hope her manager will read this review and give her credit.
I stayed on the 3rd floor:)

Room Tip: ask to stay on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This hotel is located in convenient location in SLC- within walking distance to Capital Theatre, etc. There is complimentary parking- just make sure they give you a pass for your windshield.

We were on the 3rd floor so it was quiet, except for the people who came in during the early morning hours and we could clearly hear their entire conversation. The hotel was fairly empty, but would expect to need ear plugs as another reviewer pointed out.

The room was clean, but didn't smell "fresh." The beds were very hard; pillows not much better. I wouldn't stay here again based on that alone. It wasn't a good sleep.

If you do stay here, enter off 200 West, unless you are going west on 400 S as there is a median in the road.

The front desk was friendly during check-in and check-out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown

Address: 130 W 400 South Street, Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 76 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown Hotel Salt Lake City
Courtyard Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Marriott
Salt Lake City Courtyard
Courtyard By Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.