We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Customer Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   285 West Broadway, (300 South), Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #32 of 76 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Customer Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

As other reviewers have pointed out the hotel is undergoing a renovation so you need to be aware of it before you stay here. We did know about the construction in advance and found that when we stayed here we were not very effected by the construction. We were comfortable with the location. If you enjoy walking you can easily walk to restaurants, Temple Square, the convention center and the downtown mall. Yes, we did get approached for money by street people, that is not a hotel issue, it is an issue that Salt Lake City needs to address. I got solicited for money more in Salt Lake City than in NYC. The staff at the hotel were friendly and very helpful in identifying a variety of restaurants for dinner. Once the construction is done this will be a super place to stay in Salt Lake.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    65
    21
    10
    3
See reviews for
60
27
9
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Spent 3 days in this property this week. Upon arrival found it under extreme construction and no access to our balcony. The parking was limited at ground level and the access to the underground lot was partially blocked due to scaffolding. Our room was on the park side of the property with heavy traffic. There is an issue with homeless persons in the whole of Temple Square area. During our last night, there was an event in the area that was extremely loud. At 10:15 p.m. I called the desk for an explanation as to what was causing the noise. The clerk told me it was an event at a nearby club for Breast Cancer Awareness and the police were called but there has been no change in the noise. I asked if there was a noise ordinance timeline. The clerk has no idea and no one had informed him there was any relief coming soon. It was past midnight before I was able to get to sleep. While the interior was pleasant and breakfast was nice the exterior issues was a big drawback.

Room Tip: Ask about any construction or upgrades in progress. Ask for a room away from the traffic and whethe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Was not all that impressed AND the hotel is in the middle of a major remodel. The noise was pretty loud during the day and may not affect many who are not staying in their rooms to work during the day. The hotel seemed pretty old and was nothing special. Again, they are going through a renovation that may make it better. Found the wait staff in the breakfast area hard to communicate with since they seemed to all be spanish and couldn't really understand what I was asking for.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

It is located right in downtown. close to all other access like business conventions, malls (gateway & city creek etc.) and sports places (multiple stadiums around). It's totally away from the not-so-nice area so it's safe to go outside at night too.
The room we stayed is spacious, comes with the comfortable beds. It's a rather new hotel so everything looks clean and neat.
The self parking around the buildings is rather crowded but you have the option to go underground parking. Too bad they don't offer guest pass. If you plan to invite visitors to meet you there, they need to park at the street.

Room Tip: They don't offer guest pass. If you plan to invite visitors to meet you there, they need to park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Good hotel with nice spacious suites: 3 excellent beds, 2 bathrooms, a kitchen. Good location : Temple Square at 1 mile, but (free) public transport at 0,4 mile.

An easy indoor parking and a small nice swimming pool are also available.

At 3 minutes by foot, you can find 3 very good restaurants : Red Rock Brewing Company, Settebello Pizzeria and Squatters Pub Brewery.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Immaculate facility. Great staff. Stay here. Rooms very tastefully appointed. Room and entire facility very clean. Underground parking if you want it. Plus, many rooms have a deck. Great place to get some air and relax after a day full of stuffy meetings. I've stayed at many Residence Inns around the country and this one ranks on top from my perspective.
Kitchen was fantastic if you like to cook for yourself as I do. Granite countertops, four burner ceramic surface stove, full size fridge, dishes, sharp knives, etc...in short...."home away from home".

And the bed....forget about it. Slept like a pup.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had the most positive experience recently during our stay at The Residence Inn-SLC City Center. The hotel is immaculately kept: clean public areas as well as private rooms. The decor is up to date, pleasing to the eye and very comfortable. The extra levels of service that are available to guests-at NO Additional Charge is a breath of fresh air and very accommodating. The Front Desk Attendants are all very professional and positive. The breakfast is not only delicious, but extremely generous and varied...something for everyone! We found the location to be extremely centrally located and the fact that underground, secure parking is provided is an additional plus. They were courteous to alert us to construction on the property, however, it was never a problem or an inconvenience. I highly recommend staying here while in SLC. We are experienced travelers and have not enjoyed our stays in other cities hotels as much as we enjoyed our stay here. Thanks to everyone on staff.... A GREAT value for all that is received.

Room Tip: They are very accommodating here if your "room choice" changes after making reservations...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown

Address: 285 West Broadway, (300 South), Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Salt Lake City/City Hotel Salt Lake City
Residence Inn City Center
Salt Lake City Residence Inn
Residence Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.