We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown to your Saves list
Residence Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   285 West Broadway, (300 South), Salt Lake City, UT 84101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #28 of 74 Hotels in Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great hotel was very clean and had friendly staff free breakfast and free parking is was down town close to many resturants ,shopping I am planning on stay there agin this year I really like all the residence inn I have stay at

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    85
    27
    13
    6
See reviews for
72
39
11
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We would have thought the hotel was fairly new but the pink tiles in the bathroom gave it away! We arrived on a Saturday and there was a farmer's market directly across the street so very convenient. Hotel has free parking and is located much closer (20 minutes walk) to Temple Square than I expected. The kitchen is well equipped with a full-size fridge, dishwasher, four-burner stove and microwave. No oven though. The area is fine; there are some homeless people hanging around because of the proximity to the liquor store, but they were no issue for us and seem to be all over SLC anyway. The outdoor pool was great in the heat of summer - too many kids in the pool but I guess that's to be expected at this time of year.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
76 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We choose the Residence Inn in downtown Salt Lake City because we were looking for a 2 bedroom - 2 bath room to share with my brother and his wife. This was the final stay of our week long stay in Montana, Wyoming and Utah. This room was the most reasonably priced stay of our week. Courteous staff and clean, large room with living space and kitchen for less than $200 on a Saturday night. This hotel is within a few blocks of walk of more than a dozen restaurants. I would highly recommend this hotel location. Please note that construction is underway on a portion of the hotel which may be disruptive on weekdays stays. I would ask the hotel about their construction when making your reservations for the remainder of August and into September.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigby, Idaho
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I booked a youth group at this hotel several months ago for a stay in Aug. 2013. I worked with Blair McDonald in the group travel dept. He was outstanding. When we started planning the trip we did not know for sure how man youth would be attending or adults. Blair was great at quoting prices, as well as giving us several option on different room types. As the date approached for our departure we had several different room changes up to the day before we left. Blair was great to work with. He made all the changes with a smile and what was more amazing is he kept it all straight!! We ended up with thirty youth and eleven leaders. On the day of our arrival we were able to check in early enabling us to leave our luggage and go about our youth conference without worrying about bags. Everything was very professional. The kids loved the pool. The breakfast was above average. The hotel even had a BBQ on the first night we were there. The rooms were clean and large. Just perfect for our group. I would stay there again. I loved the service. It was within walking distance of Trax to downtown so we were able to park our large fifteen passenger vans at the hotel and avoid the traffic. Thank you Blair and the staff for a great trip!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared S, General Manager at Residence Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hi LisaC214 -

Thank you for the review--and especially for the details about Blair and our other staff! I love hearing and forwarding positive feedback to my associates. I'm glad to hear that your youth conference was a success. Hopefully we will see you again soon. Next year?

- Jared
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
160 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Spent 6 days here for a conference with my wife. Service was outstanding. Breakfast was above average, very well attended by staff and a bit of variety daily on the hot items. Had an evening spread on three evenings, Tue-Thur, the week we were there, which was good and took the place of needing to find a place for dinner. Located in two buildings. We stayed in the the main one. Our king room had two rooms, bedroom and bath area and kitchenette & living area. Furnishings, while nice and pretty basic were beginning to show some wear and tear, but room was very clean. Kitchenette was very well stocked, except for some dish soap. They apparently assumed that 100% of everything would go into the dishwasher. Bath vanity was really small for such a large room and seemed much lower than normal, so we really had to bend over to use it. Needs a larger and higher vanity. Have plenty of room in the bedroom area to do that. Tile in bath/shower reminded us of the 70's decor. Bed was good, but not superior. Would stay there again. They are planning a major remodeling during the last quarter of 2013, so it will be interesting to see what changes during the remodel. Contractors were taking measurements for the remodel during our stay. We'd love to stay in again in early 2014 after the remodel and see what the difference is.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared S, General Manager at Residence Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hello davenmanja -

We are looking forward to our upcoming renovation for many of the reasons that you mentioned. In fact, we have already begun work on the exterior of the buildings. Work on the interior will begin at the end of October. When you stay with us next, you will hardly recognize the lobby, etc., and that "amazing" bathroom tile will be gone!

Please know that I will pass on your feedback. I truly appreciate it.

Best Regards -
Jared
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tooele, Utah
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My sisters and I stayed at this location and 2 of the 3 of us had our cars towed and 1 had a boot, because we were not properly notified of where exactly we could park. We were told we could park "around the fountain" and assumed that meant anywhere near the fountain. Unfortunately, it did not. We apparently parked in the adjacent apartment complex's lot and we were towed after 2 hours. $260 for each car later and some time in a sketchy part of town, my sisters and I were less than thrilled with the front desk and how they treated us. We understand that it is not their parking lot and they have no responsbility for it, but a little bit of kindess would have been appreciated. If you stay here, make sure you get VERY SPECIFIC instructions on where you can park and then double check after parking to make sure you are in the right place. Also, the WIFI is very slow in the hotel. The free breakfast was definitely the highlight of the stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared S, General Manager at Residence Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hi Camille T -

I am sorry to hear about the parking trouble. Whatever the issue, and regardless of "fault," I expect that our staff will approach each situation with an empathetic, listening ear. It sounds like we have room to improve. Thank you for highlighting this service shortfall. Please know that we will address and improve based on your feedback.

As a note, we have just finished upgrading the wi-fi experience at the hotel. While we are still "dialing in" a few things, it is already a significant improvement in both speed, and signal strength.

Thank you for sharing your experience. I hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again soon!

- Jared
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los ángeles, ca
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I shared this feedback via a hotel comment card AND a customer survey 2-3 weeks before posting this, providing time for a hotel manager to respond, but I'm disappointed that I haven't heard any response.

We arrived a little past midnight to check in, and called ahead to inform the staff that we would check in late. Upon arrival, the front desk employee was not eager to help me (in a variety of ways, which I detailed in my feedback directly to the hotel). Essentially, the employee displayed an attitude that I was disrupting his quiet evening alone.

(If the hotel is reading this, I checked in the night of July 23, 2013/early morning of July 24, 2013. I believe the front desk employee's name was Derrick, but am not positive on that. Please check your scheduling records.)

The gentleman was polite, but it quickly became aware, as I checked in with 2 tired children, that he couldn't be bothered to provide me with a map to the property (large campus with multiple buildings) at midnight, wherein security immediately became a large concern. Parking was clearly full and difficult - I pictured myself walking aimlessly across a large, outdoor, unsecured campus with two young children, looking for my building and room, while masses of aggressive homeless are lingering around. Not the best "Welcome to Residence Inn - we hope you enjoy your stay!" message ever. Couldn't find me a trash can (when I'm sure there was one behind the front desk), couldn't offer a property map, couldn't find one when asked multiple times to do so, I had to ask 2-3 times for a luggage cart to be made available, and overall made the communication process of our check-in experience very difficult. He wasn't capable of running my credit card during checkin (he told me my card was declined, but the card worked fine at several other locations earlier that day, as well as the next day). I can only deduce that he didn't know how to use the machine, or had some other error but wouldn't say that. We did put the whole balance of the stay on that same card upon checkout, with no problems. (Checkout was a different employee.)

I'm sure this isn't what a hotel wants its customers experiencing after a day of travel. I have worked front-desk at a hotel early in my career and I know when an employee was doing almost nothing. I know overnight shifts are difficult, but that shouldn't show through to a customer. Ever.

I'm disappointed in this employee, but moreso on the manager for not following up with me (I have provided my cell phone number with each comment I have left). An employee and a hotel cannot improve without a manager's prompt to do so.

On a positive note, the morning meal buffet was great, and the staff there were delightfully helpful. After a bad experience with the front desk, I took to directing my questions to the breakfast staff instead.

The condition of our room (151) was a little old. The bathroom could use some maintenance (paint peeling, some caulking & sealing). The furniture arrangement in the master bedroom (2 room suite) was just plain awkward. I'd recommend to staff that they change it up.

Room Tip: There are multiple buildings with long corridors. We had an infant in a carseat & stroller so re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salt Lake City hotels
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Salt L...
#30 of 74 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 stars 431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hyatt House Downtown Salt Lake City
Hyatt House Downtown Salt Lake C...
#5 of 74 in Salt Lake City
4.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake ...
#51 of 74 in Salt Lake City
3.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Salt Lake City Downtown
SpringHill Suites Salt Lake City...
#37 of 74 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Salt Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown

Address: 285 West Broadway, (300 South), Salt Lake City, UT 84101
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
#28 Romantic Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Salt Lake City/City Hotel Salt Lake City
Residence Inn City Center
Salt Lake City Residence Inn
Residence Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Salt Lake City - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.