We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a pleasant stay. The staff was very good.A...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union

Save Saved
You added Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6990 South Park Centre Drive, Salt Lake City, UT 84107 (Formerly Candlewood Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #37 of 75 hotels in Salt Lake City
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    82
    51
    25
    5
See reviews for
73
43
32
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Very well priced room. Plenty of shopping nearby and a few restaurants. Overall good value however, old CRT TV and a noisy fridge. Staff very helpful and friendly. I'd probably stay again if in the area.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrennaJackson, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are centrally located to many restaurants and shopping! Also, if you’re into skiing, we are one of the closest hotels to 4 of Utah’s best ski resorts. We do pride ourselves on our staff and take comfort in knowing they are taking care of our guests. We really do hope you choose to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed in one bedroom suite. One bedroom with TV and living room/kitchen area with pullout couch with a second TV. Good channel selection on TVs. Not flat screen.

Kitchen has full size refrigerator, dishwasher, and two electric burners. Well stocked kitchen with glasses, plates, mugs, salt & pepper, pans, dish soap, dishwasher soap, paper towels, basic cooking utensils.

Location is very good. Close to major freeways with many restaurants and stores nearby. Also close to skiing. Snowbird and Alta about 20 minutes drive.

Parking is OK and hotel has an elevator. Good, free WiFi

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrennaJackson, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
All of our rooms are equipped with kitchens, which are very convenient, making us your home away from home! We are planning on going through a remodel and the date is set for June 1st where all of the rooms will be upgraded, along with the televisions. We have many amenities to offer, including complimentary washers and dryers, grab and go breakfast, free Wi-Fi, and we are nearby to many shopping, restaurants, and ski attractions. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again next time you’re passing through!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Great location with a range of shops and restaurants very close.

Check in person was helpful but there was no local information eg maps available. As a first time visitor to SLC with no local knowledge and a long way from the tourist office this is not helpful. There is also no in room info informing of the existence of pantry /fitness etc and telling of availability of grab and go breakfast. We did not discover this until 3rd morning of stay.
The airconditioner and fridge are both very noisy. We turned both off each night in order to be able to sleep. The plumbing from rooms adjoining and above was also very noisy.

The maid service was patchy. We left a note on the table with empty salt shaker asking for more salt which was ignored. There was no plug for sink nor dishwashing liquid. The dishcloth was not replaced when removed. A visit to front desk quickly solved these issues. There was only 2 of each cutlery and crockery item and no wine glasses. Not everybody wants to use the dishwasher for minimum amounts of dishes.
After 3 days we discovered that the outside window to the carpark was not locked. When we tried to watch TV it wouldn't work. Front desk staff solved the problem - the last guest had changed the cable connection in order to watch a video as there is only one cable doing 2 jobs so it has to be switched behind the set if a video is watched. A time waster for everybody and a source of frustration.
These are relatively minor items which could be simply remedied.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrennaJackson, Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
I am sorry to hear of your frustrations during your stay. I have had a meeting with the staff that they need to inform guests upon check-in of all of our amenities. I apologize you did not know of these things right at check-in. In our pantry/laundry facility is a shelf with all of the maps and activities in the area. There should have been dishwashing soap located beneath the sink, along with extra dishwasher detergent. I am happy to hear that we were able to fix most of these things, but understand that is frustrating. I do hope you that next time you are in the area you will choose to stay with us and contact me personally and I will do all I can to make your next stay amazing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union

Address: 6990 South Park Centre Drive, Salt Lake City, UT 84107 (Formerly Candlewood Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
#34 Business Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hawthorn Suites Salt Lake City Fort Union Hotel is an ideal choice for both business and leisure travelers. Each spacious suite has a fully equipped kitchen with a full-size refrigerator, microwave, range, and dishwasher. Bring your laptop and work efficiently at your executive desk. Communication is no problem with voicemail, free local calls, free WI-FI. Enjoy the brand new 32" flat screen HD TVs. Work off some stress in our Fitness Center. Staying a long time? Take advantage of our complimentary laundry facility. We are also a pet friendly hotel (fees apply). The Hawthorn Suites Salt Lake City Fort Union Hotel is centrally located in the Fort Union area bordering Midvale, Murray and Sandy, just off of I-215. We are only 12 miles from Downtown Salt Lake City and 20 minutes from the Salt Lake City International Airport. The Cottonwood Corporate Center and the Union Park Center are just minutes from our hotel. The University of Utah, St. Marks Hospital and IHC are also close by. Within walking distance you will find grocery shopping to stock your kitchen, not to mention several restaurants to choose from. We are the perfect choice whether you are here for business, to ski, or just to relax on vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Wyndham, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Salt Lake City - Fort Union Hotel Salt Lake City
Candlewood Salt Lake City
Salt Lake City Candlewood Suites
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.