We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, bad room location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Salt Lake City / Murray

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Salt Lake City / Murray to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City / Murray
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   606 West 4500 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84123   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 76 hotels in Salt Lake City
SF, United States
1 review
“Nice hotel, bad room location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Pros: The rooms were very clean and newly remodeled. The staff was helpful and friendly. Cons: Swimming pool had been emptied and wasn't available for use, but they let us know we could use the pool at the hotel across the parking lot. It was kind of awkward, but nice to have another option. Our room was right next to a stairwell and we were awakened numerous times during the night by the door being slammed and people coming in and out. Since we were there for a marathon and had to be up at 4am, that was very frustrating. We also had a hard time getting the room at the right temperature. Overall we were happy with the hotel itself, just not super happy that our room was located were there was a lot of traffic and noise that kept us awake.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    35
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
34
17
12
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yakima, Washington
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

All the front desk staff (from a.m. to late p.m.) were very friendly and helpful, offering any assistance needed. There was a tasty breakfast buffet which included a variety of fresh fruit, yogurt, breads, pastries, juices, and freshly made hot choices. Conveniently located to access freeway, with short trip to airport. For those of us who enjoy walking outdoors, it's not in a very scenic location, though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is a very typical Hampton Inn near a major highway exit with the usual supply of chain fast food places nearby. The breakfast seemed a bit lower quality than other but I find the breakfast at all Hamptons to be mediocore at best.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexburg, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Clean, quiet room nice breakfast. Excellent staff. I had a two night stay and needed to have quick access to Interstate 15. I checked in late and was quickly given the key and instructions to room. The breakfast was very good and several hot dishes. Wonderful warm cookies in the evening.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed here last winter. I was looking for an affordable hotel that offered easy on/off access to the highway to get me to/from the ski resorts and downtown SLC. This was perfect for me, as this hotel is situation right off the highway. You really can't walk anywhere from the hotel, in terms of going out to eat, as you'd need to cross the interstate on foot, but that didn't bother me. There is a gas station and convenient mart next door so if you did need anything in a pinch, you could go there. Very clean and staff was friendly and helpful. As all Hamptons do, they offer a free hot breakfast every morning. The room, as well as the hotel in general, is very clean. Really nice hotel for the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

There were some significant problems with a leaking air conditioning unit (causing wet carpet in the room)and the shower. We were somewhat disappointed in the stay even though I generally really like Hampton Inns

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

If you don't want to pay the downtown prices, this is a good option. Clean, good food, and nice rooms, as expected at Hampton Inn. The neighborhood wasn't the fanciest, but it is close to the interstate and easy enough to get to most places from here. The staff was friendly and we were given a large room near the backdoor. Breakfast was as typical here, which is good. I would stay here again if I was in SLC and didn't want to be near downtown.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Salt Lake City / Murray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Salt Lake City / Murray

Address: 606 West 4500 South, Salt Lake City, UT 84123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Salt Lake City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Salt Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Salt Lake City / Murray 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy all the historical and natural adventures of Salt Lake City, but from a haven of small-town serenity in the nearby suburb of Murray. The Hampton Inn® hotel in Salt Lake City/Murray is located just fifteen minutes from the heart of the city in the center of the beautiful Salt Lake Valley.Step outside the hotel and onto a picturesque jogging trail that follows the Jordan River through the valley, only steps from our Salt Lake City hotel. For more intense thrills, take a short drive to a nearby ski resort for world-class skiing and snowboarding on the famous Utah powder snow...Or take a day trip to experience breathtaking scenery at Zion National Park, Capitol Reef National Park or Bryce Canyon National Park. Head into the downtown area to see the Historic Temple Square featuring the Salt Lake Temple, the Salt Lake Tabernacle (home of the Mormon Tabernacle Choir) and Brigham Young Historic Park. Our hotel in Salt Lake City also puts you within reach of the State Capitol, as well as many sites of the 2002 Winter Olympics. Get more tips on all this area has to offer from the team at our hotel in Salt Lake City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Salt Lake City / Murray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City / Murray Utah
Salt Lake City Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Salt Lake City / Murray, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.