We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confusing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Family History Library

Family History Library
35 N. West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84150
801-240-2331
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Libraries
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Largest collection of genealogical information in the world.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Confusing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I found it very confusing and when I asked for help, there was definitely an attitude problem and I am obviously not LDS. I think this should not be public because of their attitude and only open to Church Members.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    35
    7
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Time Well Spent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

If you have any interest in your genealogy, and are curious how to get started, or are stuck, avail yourself of this friendly, helpful, ministry of the LDS Church. They do a wonderful job of personalized assistance, and no, you are not expected to be a member of the church. The library gives testimony to the church's value of family history.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Family history Library in Temple Square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Very helpful volunteers to assist you in researching your ancesters. My spouse and I each had a seperate volunteer to assist in researching our ancesters. We each came home with useful information that we could not access elsewhere.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Been trying to come for years!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Wish I had more time to be there. Enjoyed my self so much. I found family information I have been looking for forever. My husband found his father, grandfather and grandmother. It was very exciting. This is something he has been trying to find for 50 years!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous - wanted more time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Wonderful quantity and quality of resources. Staff was extremely available, friendly, and helpful. Open many hours each days, except Sunday. I want to return.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Family History Library also viewed

 

Been to Family History Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Family History Library, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Family History Library to your Saves list