We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated and overpriced!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Five SeaSuns Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Five SeaSuns Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Five SeaSuns Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1006 S. Lincoln Street, Port Angeles, WA 98362   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Port Angeles B&B and Inns
Peachland, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overrated and overpriced!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Unfortunately, Bob was not at home to make the breakfast others have raved about. We were told that breakfast would be served at 8:30, which meant our departure was delayed. Breakfast consisted of one very small portion of sherbet with a five small pieces of fruit and a set plate of two rashers of bacon (cold), a small portion of scrambled eggs (luke warm) and one serving of Yorkshire pudding with strawberries and maple syrup. There was no offer of fruit, toast, muffins, or anything else. We left hungry. The cost of the bed and this mediocre meagre breakfast was an exorbitant $186.00.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiveSeasunsBandB, Owner at Five SeaSuns Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
It is always our goal to make sure that our guests enjoy their stay with us and that we meet or exceed their expectations. This comment is very unsettling and a bit confusing. We would hope that if a guest was dissatisfied, they would have voiced it to us at the time of their visit.

Over the past 17 years in serving our guests, we have received numerous awards and raves from our guests about our breakfasts, the balance of flavor, texture and presentation. That is part of the B&B experience and we always strive to make sure that it is enjoyed.

When looking for a delightful and comfortable place to stay in Port Angeles, we would encourage you to visit our website at www.seasuns.com and view our photos of our breakfast, our guest rooms and the inn. Hospitatility, good company and great food are our trademark.

Bob & Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    17
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
45
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Wanting an inn with close proximity to the Olympic hiking trails, we turned to TripAdvisor for advice, typed in Port Angeles, WA, and scanned the reviews. The one for Five SeaSuns contained all the buzz words we value in a B &B: welcoming innkeepers, good housekeeping, well appointed, comfortable, delicious breakfasts, good location, nice garden, even afternoon cookies. The only negative was that the inn is located on a very busy, noisy street so when we called to make a reservation we expressed our concern. Jan, the innkeeper, suggested the coach house suite that's away from the traffic.

We're writing this review because want others to know that this inn is not for everyone. It is warm and the innkeepers are helpful and friendly, but all-in-all, we found the inn to be over the top for a casual Washington port town. The reviews do contain the keywords, but based on our experience, it can be a bit too much. Let us explain. Jan's husband, Bob, greeted us and showed us around. We noted the abundance of antiques that covered every space available. The public areas in the main house were filled with a crowd of comfy chairs, over stuffed sofas, fluffy pillows, and enormous stuffed bunnies. Not our taste, but warm, and to some, charming. Our suite had an outdoor, sportsman theme and again, every available space had suitable decoration. In a weird way, this excess of ornamentation made us feel somewhat claustrophobic.

The reviews that noted the excellence of breakfasts were spot-on. The food was elegantly served, abundant and delicious. The environment would have been perfect in an English country house with the good china, silver, lace tablecloth, flowers and candle light. It may be our own idiosyncrasy, but we felt underdressed and shabby. Ready for a day on the hiking trails, we were downright grubby, not appropriate guests for such an eloquent occasion.

For some, this inn provides the perfect setting, warmth and hospitality. But for others, it might exceed every expectation.

Room Tip: The coach house suite is a spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

A beautiful B and B. we stayed 3 nights and were treated like royalty every morning with a different breakfast each day. Dutch babies and angel wings to name a few. We stated in the carriage house across the garden from the house. Very private. Our hosts were also really helpful in guiding our days in the park. Walking distance to town. On a somewhat busy street but lovely waterfall in beautiful garden drowned out the street noise

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

definitely a good choice for accommodation in comparison to other places of olympic peninsula

+ very kind owners available for help or advice

+ parking available

+ delicious breakfast with local berries

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Hands down the best B&B I have ever stayed in. Jan and Bob were so friendly and really made the experience enjoyable. We stayed in the Indian Summer room one night, which is a separate guest house, and the Winter room a different night. Bob is a cook so his breakfasts were top notch. We will be staying here again when we return to the Peninsula.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, WA, USA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This B&B is located at 10th and Lincoln, up the hill from the waterfront park. Built in 1926 it is a very attractive residence with prices for the five rooms ranging from US$129 to $175 for the carriage house suite. Hosts Bob and Jan are very welcoming and helpful. Each morning they serve a wonderful breakfast. (Note: per Bob, breakfast is at 8:00 am unless advised otherwise. Our breakfasts were at 8:30 and 8:00.) We stayed in the Herfst (Autumn) room and my brother and his wife stayed in the larger Winter room. All rooms have a private bath. Robes are provided and are hung in the closet. The Herfst and Winter rooms felt a little cluttered with all the decorations on the tables. The beds were very comfortable. The windows, when closed, block the sound of the occasional vehicle passing by from 4:00- 6:00 am. Tea is always available; homemade cookies are served each afternoon beginning around 4:00 pm (1600 hrs). There is a sunny patio with seating for 6 and the surrounding gardens are very attractive. There is no pool or fitness center. Walking through the surrounding neighborhoods is pleasant.

Two waterfront restaurants are a short drive away.

The B&B is located about 20 miles from the Hurricane Lookout in the Olympic National Park, about a 40 minute drive. The Hoh Rain forest, near the town of Forks, is about 1.5 hours distant.

Room Tip: The Winter and Herfst rooms are on the street with early morning traffic. The Winter room has a bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

By chance we stumbled on this B&B, one of those "everyone is full but we have a cancellation" type of things. Those that cause a little concern. Worry not! The hosts were extremely helpful starting with directions (really easy) understanding our frustration with our delayed flight from Denver, to what restaurants were open. We arrive to a absolutely lovely home with gardens and views of Hurricane Ridge. Perfect weather! The breakfast both mornings rivaled any I have eaten anywhere around the world. No unusual tastes required, just very good food, a hand made, home made meal with pastries.

My bottom line, you go to a B&B to get out of the pedestrian hotels, but you expect a good B & B (bed and breakfast). Both don't have to be great but must be good. This place passes with flying colors on both. Try it, I'm sure you will enjoy your stay and the Olympic Peninsula is a fantastic destination.

We're going back!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Five SeaSuns Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five SeaSuns Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1006 S. Lincoln Street, Port Angeles, WA 98362
Location: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you enjoy relaxation with ‘a touch of class’, the Five SeaSuns is the place for you. It is a surprisingly quiet and peaceful oasis in the heart of the city, a treat for the eyes on the inside and a gardener’s Eden outside. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five SeaSuns Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.