We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast Room could use updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Domaine Madeleine

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Domaine Madeleine
146 Wildflower Lane, Port Angeles, WA 98362   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Port Angeles B&B and Inns
everett
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Room could use updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2006

The breakfast was outstanding! Jeri is very willing to make breakfast that are enjoyable and willing to working with guest dietary restictions. I stayed in the madeleine a room seperate from the main house. Jeri's residence is in the back. The room needs a new valance & headboard. The matching fabrics are very faded and sun damaged and dirty. The pillow are hard and flat. I was expecting more for the $199 charge for the room.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
41
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2006

This B&B is a gem. Four different rooms, two in separate buildings. Located between Pt Angeles and Sequim, directly on the water. I stayed in the Rendezvous and Ming rooms--spacious, well appointed, mini kitchen, spa tubs, fireplaces. The Ming room has its own huge deck for gazing at the water or checking out the birds (binoculars provided). The breakfasts are amazing (more like a gourmet dinner). When I wanted an early get away for a day of hiking (breakfast is served at 9:00), they packed a cooler for breakfast (so much food it lasted all day). The gardens are lovely--it is an oasis. They really think of everything to ensure a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2005

For lovers of bed and breakfast accommodations, this is ideal. I can still remember what the breakfasts taste like from 5 years ago - it's that good! The view is incredible and the rooms are spotless.

I gave it 4 stars because this is where we learned that a true bed and breakfast stay is not an experience we will seek out again. All guests gather at the breakfast table. The staff live in the basement of the house, so it felt to us like we were invading their space when we decided to stay in one day. The staff could not be any nicer - we got so much good advice on what to do in the area and they were unobtrusive when they needed to be. But it still felt like we were guests in someone else's house.

I sound like I didn't like this place. I think it's the best of the best for bed and breakfasts. You just need to know up front that you really are staying in a bedroom in a house. If that sounds appealing to you, then I highly recommend this. And ask them to make extra pain au chocolats!

  • Stayed November 2000
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2005

The BEST B&B Inn I have ever visited, after over 20 years visiting B&B's all over the U.S. The panoramic views of the Strait of Juan de Fuca was awe-inspiring. The in-house chef is classically trained and beautifully presents the most delectible breakfasts, in each of the FIVE courses. Breakfast was a thrill to the senses. The view of the water and across to Canada at breakfast was hard to leave. But then we toured the remarkable gardens with waterfall, koi pond, moss-garden and rare, luscious plants. This was as gratifying to our spirit as was breakfast to our stomachs. Incredibly refreshing! The Ming Room is the pinnacle of luxury, but I will be back to try the Rendez-vous! Peaceful and quiet, this place is not to be missed. I will return again. And again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2004

We absolutely loved Domaine Madeline! Even though we stayed in the smallest room (the Monet), everything about it -- from the crisp linens to the large jacuzzi tub with candles -- was perfect. The gardens are gorgeous, the view of the Straits of Juan de Fuca amazing, the innkeeper warm and friendly -- but unobtrusive. And the piece de resistance: a five-course gourmet breakfast exquisitely presented by the resident chef. Domaine Madeline is literally right next door to Colette's and definitely ought to share in that #1 rating!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Domaine Madeleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine Madeleine

Address: 146 Wildflower Lane, Port Angeles, WA 98362
Location: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find your bliss as you explore almost 10 acres of ancient trees, exquisite natural gardens, our sustainable organic farm, and aquaponics greenhouse. Absorb the majestic beauty of mountains and ocean that will soothe your spirit and calm your soul. Retreat through a private entrance into your comfortably decorated room with private ensuite bath, jacuzzi-style tub, fireplace, TV w/ DVD, and WiFi. Feel pampered with designer robes, luxury linens, and personal service. Indulge each morning in our full-service renowned 5-course gourmet brunch featuring healthy, local organic ingredients. Our expert staff provides friendly uncomplicated service to help you find your heart's happiness. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domaine Madeleine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Domaine Madeleine to your Saves list