We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthy of all those rave reviews.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Domaine Madeleine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Domaine Madeleine to your Saves list
Domaine Madeleine
146 Wildflower Lane, Port Angeles, WA 98362   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Port Angeles B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Homer, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worthy of all those rave reviews.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were intending to stay 1 night here but after our breakfast and first night, we asked for another night. It is January so we were given an excellent rate and we were the only guests for both nights. The B&B is the right blend of comfortable hospitality and tasteful style. We enjoyed the winter gardens, the eagles chirping from the shore and the ships passing. The owners are interested in solar power as well as organic gardening. At this time, they are designing and building an aquaponic system for growing garden vegetables as well as fresh fish for the table! It was an inspiration.
The breakfast/brunch deserves a chapter in itself; freshly juiced tangerine, apple crepes, chocolate croissants, fruit compodes-- all homemade there. It was almost too much for my little french heart to take!

Room Tip: Our room was in the main house on the second floor. It had a wood burning fireplace, a decadently co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
54
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

While researching our trip to the Olympic peninsula, I came across the National Geographic website "Road Trip" http://travel.nationalgeographic.com/travel/road-trips/olympic-peninsula-washington-road-trip/ Domaine Madeline was mentioned as the place to stay in Port Angeles.
I read the reviews on this site and booked 2 nights thinking it was as a slam dunk.
I never thought it would be as outstanding as it is, Jeri is the warmest, friendliest hostess you could ever imagine, everything you could imagine she has thought of and provided. I have never felt so comfortable away from home. My wife owns a travel agency and we have stayed at many top notch resorts. None of them outshine Domaine Madeline. Breakfasts are incredible, Creative and delicious, you wont need lunch. We enjoyed conversations with other guests hearing about their travels and getting new ideas.
Stay here as many nights as you can!!!

Room Tip: The Ming room is wonderful, large, recliners, comfortable bed, deck overlooking the Strait of San Ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My husband and I ended up at Domaine Madeleine by a "happy accident" (the place we intended to stay double booked us). So glad we did! We chose to stay in "The Cottage" for our three-night stay to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. It was like being in our own little house, tucked in among the towering fir trees and beautiful wildflowers. There's a little waterfall, a foot bridge, and park-like area to stroll in, just beside the small patio off the cottage. Bed was super comfortable. TV/VCR worked great, and we brought our own movies but there is an extensive library in the main quarters to choose from (free). Wonderful cookies and beverages always available. Gorgeous views. Elegant dining room with the best food we've ever had at a bed and breakfast -- in both taste and presentation. The owner (Jeri) is friendly and warm, but not intrusive. Sequim, Port Townsend, Port Angeles all easily accessible. We didn't go to Victoria this trip, but this would be a great place to stay if you want to take the ferry from Port Angeles and go over for a day trip to BC.

Room Tip: The cottage is "quaint and cozy" -- not as elegantly fancy as some of the other rooms perh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Over the course of six nights, we stayed at three different B & B’s in the Port Angeles / Sequim area (two nights each). Although this post is a bit lengthy, it is a review of all three, and is intended for comparison purposes....at least for three of the B &B’s that are available in this area.

This comes with the usual disclaimers: our tastes may differ from yours, we may have different budgets, we may have different notions of quality and value, we may have different interests, yada, yada, yada.

Also, apologies for the length of this post, but our philosophy is, the more information the better when choosing where to stay.

George Washington Inn
Your first impression of this property will be memorable. The long driveway is lined with the purple of lavender plants (it is also a working lavender farm), and the two story inn is an impressive structure as it has the design and footprint of George Washington’s Mount Vernon.
The interior is just as impressive as the exterior. We had a private entrance on the ground floor, but our suite was upstairs and Dan carried our luggage up. We stayed in the General’s Suite ($280 /night). It was large and airy with a large bathroom, a king-sized bed, flat screen TV, and kitchen area that included a fridge, microwave, sink, and 4-seat dining table. The bedding was extremely comfortable, the bathroom toiletries/amenities were exceptional, the kitchen was well stocked with plates, glasses, silverware, and the cleanliness of the room and the common areas was exceptional. In other words, this inn has all of the small touches covered the way you would expect from a premium property, which this definitely is.
Although the front of the property is impressive, the back of the inn is equally, if not more impressive. Off of our suite, and running the full length of the inn, was a covered veranda (great for inclement weather) that afforded an unbelievable view of the Strait of Juan de Fuca. You can watch container ships, cruise ships, military ships, and nuclear subs(only seldom) pass by. It is so quiet and peaceful, it could easily lull you to sleep.
The breakfast room is below the upper veranda and offers the same exceptional views. The size and openness of the veranda and the breakfast room certainly add to the ambiance.
The food was also exceptional, with an offering of fruit, an egg dish, and lavender flavored biscuits of pastries (remember, it’s a lavender farm also).
Janet and Dan are very friendly hosts/owners and provide excellent hospitality.
The only con we encountered was the shower/bath in the General’s Suite. The shower has a rain shower head which is located over the center of the jacuzzi tub. It is surrounded by a circular shower curtain. This is visible in the photos of the suite. Because the tub is rather deep and the floor of the tub is not flat but irregular, getting in and out of the tub can be cumbersome, and the irregular floor makes for unsure footing. In addition, the controls are behind the curtain which makes adjustments a bit problematic. This could probably be solved by reconfiguration and installing a small separate shower. I would not stay in this particular suite again due to this issue.
All in all, the George Washington Inn is an exceptional B&B, and we would definitely stay here again.


Domaine Madeleine
The Domain Madeleine is another exceptional B&B. Although the entrance is not as impressive as the George Washington, these grounds have their own exceptional qualities. Like the GW, there are fantastic views of the Strait, and the peace and quite are alluring. They may not have a covered veranda for inclement weather, but they have multiple seating areas, and one very special place to sit.
When facing the water, there is a new stairway built at the far right end of the property that leads to the beach. For various reasons, beach access is not allowed, but don’t despair. There is a bench provided at the first landing of the stairway. When sitting here you are in a different world. The only sounds you hear are the waves crashing below, or the occasional ship that passes by. Being an early riser, I sat there both mornings and was kept company by a sap-sucker, hummingbirds, and bald eagles that nest nearby. If for no other reason, this made it worth staying here.
We stayed in the Renoir Room ($250 /night) one night and the Monet ($215) the other night. Both rooms are spacious and well appointed with extremely comfortable bedding and great attention to detail and small touches. There is no fridge in either room, but there is one available to guests in the main kitchen, which is accessible at all hours. In addition, there is an ice machine in the main kitchen area.
The major difference between the Monet and Renoir rooms is the Monet has a gas fireplace, a small corner shower, and a large jacuzzi tub, whereas the Renoir has no fireplace, and has a large walk-in shower only. The Renoir does include exclusive use of a separate living room where there is a fireplace.
The Domain M highly advertises its five course breakfast, and with good reason. The food is truly exceptional. The second morning we had a pistachio encrusted halibut that was out of this world.
Like GW, this is an exceptional B&B, and Jeri and her staff provide fantastic hospitality.



Inn at Rooster Hill
The Inn at Rooster Hill operates in a different spectrum than the George Washington or the Domain Madeleine. It is for the more budget-conscious and has more of the feel of a boarding house. The property is not nearly as nice nor as maintained, and there is no view nor attraction to the location as it is located on a dead end in a rural neighborhood just outside Port Angeles. We stayed in the Roiel (pronounced royal) room ($179) which was quite spacious with a jacuzzi tub, corner shower, and a large walk-in closet that also contained a fridge, microwave, and sink.
Unlike the GW and DM, the small touches and details are missing, an indication that corners are cut to save money and keep prices low: no bar soap at all, no lotions, the bedding is adequate and, in addition, the rooms are cleaned only every three days if you stay multiple nights. No fresh sheets (and the bed is unmade), no new towels, and if you use any plates, glasses, or silverware, it won’t get cleaned for three days. This is freely stated on the website.
The food is adequate but nothing special and, back to the missing details, there was only sugar for tea or coffee, no artificial sweetener like Splenda or Sweet and Low. The common area and the dining arrangements are small, although you can eat on the deck if you wish. All in all, as mentioned before, it has the feel of a boarding house, where special amenities or frills aren’t provided.
That said, the rooms are clean, there is plenty of hot water, and the location affords a quite night’s sleep. In addition, Peggy and Layne are very hospitable, very free with information and, for the budget conscious, the rooms are less per night than the GW or DM, and there is no two-night minimum. Also, some of their policies are a little more flexible than the upscale B&B’s.

In conclusion, since our budget will allow for it, the George Washington Inn and the Domain Madeleine run neck and neck as our preferred B&B. They each have their own special attributes. If you are looking for an upscale B&B experience, you can’t go wrong with either place. They are both truly exceptional properties. We have stayed at many B&B’s and we don’t say that lightly. If instead you are very budget-conscious and don’t care about the location or frills, the Inn at Rooster Hill will definitely meet your needs. Like was mentioned before, they simply operate in a different spectrum.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

IN the area to do some hiking and camping and spent one night here. Loved everything about the place from the delightful owner to the cozy romantic room to the beautiful views of gardens and the Strait of Juan de Fuca. The food was just great and way better than your average B&B breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We recently stayed at Domaine Madeline for 3 days over a long weekend, celebraing our 5th wedding anniversary. This was our first visit, and we definitely plan to come back. We have stayed at a number of other B&Bs, but this one tops our list, hitting five stars on all fronts: the room; the property; the food; the hospitality; the location.

Amazing attention to detail throughout, and our room (Ming) was great - beautiful, quiet, comfortable, private, with a wonderful water view. Supercomfy king size bed. Very private and relaxing, with many thoughtful in-room touches (slippers, robes, coffeemaker, small fridge, cd player and nice music collection, books/magazines, binoculars to watch the whales/eagles, wine opener/ice bucket) Comfy recliner chairs in front of the fireplace for reading, a flat screen TV/DVD player (with DVDS to borrow) Huge bathroom with jacuzzi, well stocked with toiletries an hair dryer. Dressing room with lots of closet hanging space and drawers for your clothes, and an iron/ironing board. Spotlessly clean throughout.

Owner/Innkeeper Jeri went out of her way to pamper us. The five course gourmet breakfast was amazing each of the three days, and Jeri was especially thoughtful in catering to my "food fussy" husband. We enjoyed chatting with Jeri and the other guests over the leisurely breakfast, but if you are on a time schedule, Jeri can accomodate if you let her know in advance.

All of the staff were friendly and helpful, and made us feel truly welcome. Jeri is very knowledgable about the area restaurants and attractions. Her recommendations were great (favorite restaurant was Alderwood Bistro in Sequim).

The Inn has a wonderful comfortable/classic house feel, more warm and personal than other "hotel type" inns, but still very private, as the rooms are spaced well apart. Although we went in mid-April before the blooms of summer, the garden was delightful. I can't wait to see it mid-summer!

Super base for exploring the Olympic Peninsula. We went to Lake Crescent, Sol Duc Hotsprings, Hurricane Ridge, Dungeness Spit, We also enjoyed exploring the shops in Port Angeles and Sequim, short drive away.

Room Tip: Ming room is top floor of house with fabulous views, huge jacuzzi, fireplace, supercomfy king bed an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

My husband and I went here for a few days just to get away. It was wonderful. The breakfast is a 5 course meal. The staff is knowledgable about the area and it's attractions. The room was so comfortable it was hard to leave it to go hiking.

Room Tip: there is no such thing as a bad room in this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Domaine Madeleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine Madeleine

Address: 146 Wildflower Lane, Port Angeles, WA 98362
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find your bliss as you explore almost 10 acres of ancient trees, exquisite natural gardens, our sustainable organic farm, and aquaponics greenhouse. Absorb the majestic beauty of mountains and ocean that will soothe your spirit and calm your soul. Retreat through a private entrance into your comfortably decorated room with private ensuite bath, jacuzzi-style tub, fireplace, TV w/ DVD, and WiFi. Feel pampered with designer robes, luxury linens, and personal service. Indulge each morning in our full-service renowned 5-course gourmet brunch featuring healthy, local organic ingredients. Our expert staff provides friendly uncomplicated service to help you find your heart's happiness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B and Odigeo so you can book your Domaine Madeleine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domaine Madeleine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.