We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully Landscaped Wonderland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olympic Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Olympic Lodge to your Saves list
Olympic Lodge
140 Del Guzzi Drive, Port Angeles, WA 98362   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Port Angeles
Belton, Texas, United States
1 review
“Beautifully Landscaped Wonderland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel was very clean and beautiful inside and out. The rooms were very airy and the beds were very comfortable. Although the hotel did not have a restaurant for dinner the staff did recommend two excellent restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: Restaurants were close by and the hotel made excellent recommendations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanLFrench, Manager at Olympic Lodge, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at our hotel! I'm so glad that our Front Desk staff was able to help you find a great restaurant for dinner. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    349
    52
    7
    11
See reviews for
258
441
25
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

First of all, the lobby is a wow -- a great place to prepare for or wind down from a trip to the Olympic National Park. The sitting area is big but cozy, with overstuffed leather chairs, big stone fireplace, and large photos of the park. Very inviting.

I wish I'd spent more time at the Olympic Lodge. I arrived late, after driving all day from Tofino and taking the ferry from Victoria. And I was off very early for Hurricane Ridge.

The room might've actually been bigger than I needed for a 10-hour or so stay. If I were ferrying to ONP from there for a few days, it would have felt homier. One "however" is the location, and the hotel's response to it. It's not close to many amenities. Breakfast is served in the Bistro, but that's the only food available. The usual assortment of soda and bottled water is available in vending machines. A small shop or even limited room service would have been welcomed.

Breakfast was good. The Bistro is up and running early, and the staff is chipper and the food pretty good and filling.

I definitely will

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanLFrench, Manager at Olympic Lodge, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review! I'm sorry you didn't have more time to enjoy the atmosphere in the lobby--I love seeing guests come down to read in front of the fire place or watch for deer crossing the golf course in the early morning. Thank you again, and we hope to see you back here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

When initially planning my trip to Port Angeles I was a little surprised by the lack of big-name hotels in the area. Infact accommodation in general is thin on the ground here, so I was pleased to stumble across the Olympic Lodge, which was able to offer me a room that would accommodate the family.

We actually had the suite which wasn't that much of a premium over the standard room. We had a sofa bed in the lounge and a king bed in the main bedroom. They also provided extra bedding so we could make room for all three of the kids and despite being a little sceptical at the outset this worked really well.

Staff were friendly and helpful at every interaction and the room was in immaculate condition.

Breakfast is good and although not cheap, I'd say it offered good value when compared to other places we ate at in the area.

The pool was a pleasant temperature, well maintained and had a nice view of the golf course.

The absence of onsite laundry facilities was a bit of a pain, but we were directed to a "wash & fold" place on the other side of town that did laundry for us at just a shade over $1 per lb as I recall. So for $25, the 5 of us got 5 days of laundry sorted.

Another minor issue (from my European perspective anyway) is that you really have to drive everywhere. There was a diner over the road that no one seemed to rate and a KFC a little further away, but the nearest decent restaurants were about 1 mile away.

Finally the hotel has a wonderful lobby with a large stone fireplace. I'm sure this would make an ideal setting for a bar selling local beers & wines, but other than breakfast there's no F&B offering in the property at all.

I would however highly recommend you stay at the Olympic Lodge if you're ever in town.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the hotel overlook the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanLFrench, Manager at Olympic Lodge, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel! I love feedback that shows what we're doing right, but I'm glad you also showed us a few areas in which we can improve. I'll pass on the request for a guest laundry facility, but as for food & beverage options -- we've tried several evening offerings in the past, but we haven't quite found the right option that makes sense for our guests while still being sustainable from a business standpoint. Again, thank you very much for the feedback and I hope the rest of your vacation was as enjoyable as your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

I was upset that I couldn't book a hotel room at crescent lake lodge, they are all full booked months ago. I checked Olympic lodge and saw big room with two queen bed and also a pool & spa.i am very happy with everything here. It's lobby is huge and cozy, the pool is heated and the spa is perfect from the day trip.

The location has many restaurants and close to visitor center, also close to hurrican ridge drive and crescent lake.

I am glad I made the right choice to stay in Olympic lodge, will certainly come back again next summer.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanLFrench, Manager at Olympic Lodge, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel here on TripAdvisor! Our number one goal is to exceed the expectations of our guests, and I'm so glad we accomplished that for you! We look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had a nice stay. We paid full price and checked in plenty early in the evening but still only managed to get a parking lot view. Not sure how to get a mountain view but the room itself was nice. Just came from an expensive downtown Seattle Hotel but definitely had a better night's sleep here at the Olympic Lodge. Prices were a little steep for CLM if you had breakfast there. Breakfast was very good but the breakfast room was sure set up for a breakfast buffet and it would have been a better overall experience.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the mountain side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanLFrench, Manager at Olympic Lodge, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your review! We actually sell our mountain view rooms at different rates than the non-view options, so the only way to get the view is to reserve a room that specifies that view--and the best way to do that is always to call our Front Desk directly. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and thanks again for posting here on TripAdvisor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our stay was much too brief, but we were impressed with the size of the room; it was exceptionally clean and the bedding was crisp and nice quality. The beds were very comfortable and despite being on the first floor which has a stone surface, our room was very quiet. The breakfast we had in the lodge was terrific. We moved on to Hurricane Ridge and to the coast later that day so this was a perfect waypoint between Seattle and places further west.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanLFrench, Manager at Olympic Lodge, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Olympic Lodge! I'm so glad you enjoyed your room, as well as our restaurant for breakfast. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Good experience when entering the hotel. Mathew, at reception, could not be more welcoming. How such a young man could be so intuitive is a wonder.

Rooms are fine. Ours faced the back towards the golf course.
The bed is comfortable and the room has all the usual amenities.

The hotel lights a wood burning fireplace, in the lobby, with surrounding leather chairs and sofas.

I think they must be the number one in town. On a Wed. night they are full and most of the others have vacancy signs that were quite visible as we returned from dinner

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanLFrench, Manager at Olympic Lodge, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you very much for posting your review. Thanks to guests like you, we are indeed the #1 ranked hotel in Port Angeles here on TripAdvisor, and have held that spot for seven consecutive years! Our goal is to exceed the expectations of our guests, and I'm so glad that Matthew and the rest of our staff were able to do that. Thank you, and we hope you can visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olympic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympic Lodge

Address: 140 Del Guzzi Drive, Port Angeles, WA 98362
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come visit Port Angeles’ Premier Hotel, the Olympic Lodge! Located on the Olympic Peninsula in Washington State, the Olympic Lodge offers the finest accommodations in a location that’s difficult to beat. Backed by the Olympic Mountains with the Strait of Juan de Fuca in the foreground, a variety of adventures are all close at hand. ▪ Choose from our 105 spacious rooms ▪ We have meeting space for any occasion: business meetings, retreats, receptions, family gatherings ▪ Relax by our heated pool and hot tub, open year round ▪ Play golf at the course adjacent to the hotel ▪ Join us for a scrumptious breakfast ▪ Enjoy the personalized service and hospitality offered by our experienced staff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Olympic Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Hotel Port Angeles
Best Western Port Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olympic Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.