We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of George Washington Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
George Washington Inn
Save
You added George Washington Inn to your Saves list
939 Finn Hall Rd, Port Angeles, WA 98362   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Port Angeles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Helena, Montana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

The George Washington Inn offers luxury as well as the friendliness I wish ALL business worked at. The room was comfortable and cozy. the views? Well...amazing. Plenty to see and do and Janet of course, amazing lady with a gift of making a delicious breakfast. Can't wait to go back for a 3rd time. Wouldn't change a thing!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    4
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
138
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Orchard WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

This surely has to be one of the more unique B&B's around. I had visited in the summer while planning elements of our wedding, and found both Dan and Janet to be very accommodating and personable. I received a tour of the whole place, even places that might not normally be shown.
We decided to book two nights of our honeymoon there.

The grounds and interior are immaculate, and you will feel like a King if you are in the Presidential (which we were). All of the other rooms are VERY nice as well, The layout of the entire building is open and inviting, and allows you to enjoy every area without feeling as though you are ever confined. Very spacious.

The "theme" is steeped in colonial and early revolutionary history, focusing, of course, on George Washington.

We will certainly make it a point to be back... and back...

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville, VA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

My wife, daughter and son in law stayed for three nights in early July. It was a great base from which to explore the northern penninsula. Dan and Janet were delightful hosts - very knowledgable sources of information as we planned our daily excursions and they gracefully tolerated of our coming in late from those excursions were prolonged.
Dan led us up to the cupola atop the roof on the night of July 4. There are windows on all sides so it was the perfect place to see the numerous small fireworks displays that take place in that part of our country. For the better part of an hour we watched them pop in and out of view in every landward direction. I've been around for close to six decades and watching grassroots fireworks from the top of an exact replica of Mount Vernon is on my short list of best ways to celebrate the 4th of July.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

This bed and breakfast was the absolute perfect place to relax after a very busy day of travel. It would not be possible to say enough nice things about the inn keepers as well as the inn, service, breakfast, views, etc. My husband and I are already planning a trip back as soon as possible. The breakfast was incredible! The entire place was immaculate, inside and out. We have absolutely NO complaints, and would recommend this place to anyone! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

We arrived early (about 2:30pm). Our hostess opened the door and stood blocking it. She told us the rooms were not ready. She was abrupt, bordering on rude. She did not invite us in to relax while the rooms where prepared. She did not introduce herself. There were NO cars there, no other guests, and the place is huge, with enough room for an early guest to lounge around and relax. When my husband asked to go to the bathroom, she finally let us in to the lobby and hovered around. She grudgingly offered us coffee AFTER about 10 minutes. She was the OPPOSITE of welcoming. We left and returned about 2 hours later She was significantly changed. Now, she welcomed us and explained about the keys and took us to our suite. She did NOT give a tour but pointed rooms/areas out instead. The suite was beautiful, but frankly our bedrrooom set is more expensive and the bathroom was poorly arranged. The view was awesome, the breakfast was good. The price was WAY TOO MUCH. I have traveled extensively both in the US and abroad. I have stayed in pensiones, B&B's and 5 star hotels. I was apalled at the price compared to the sevice/rooms. I have paid $500 per night in the past and loved it. Frankly, however, the whole experience was simply not worth $300 per night.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanAbbott, Owner at George Washington Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2010
"Thank you for reviewing GWI. All guests' comments are important to us, and afford us the opportunity to grow.

Innkeeping is a 24/7 responsibility. The short period of time between check-out and check-in is a flurry of activity as common areas and guest rooms are cleaned, laundry is done, and the inn is made ready for arriving and returning guests. Depending on how many rooms need to be turned and how much needs to be done in each room, it may require every minute of that short period of time. When these guests arrived early, the room was not ready. We graciously offered to hold their luggage while they did some sightseeing, we offered a cup of coffee (which was declined), and we offered to suggest things they might want to do in the area until check-in. However, since we were still cleaning common areas as well as rooms, we could not offer a quiet place for them to come in and relax. It was obvious that they were displeased, but perhaps they didn't realize all that we still needed to accomplish before 4:00. We made every effort throughout the remainder of their stay to make it a pleasant and enjoyable weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

If you want the ultimate in elegance inside and stunning scenery outside this is the place to stay. From the moment you enter through the front door it is a 'wow' experience and the rooms do not disappoint . We were fortunate enough to see a gray whale from the balcony at the back of the house and then from the grounds themselves overlooking the straits.

I would absolutely recommend staying here if you can and if you are traveling around and looking for a similar standard take a look at 'A Lighthouse on Hammersley' - I'm sure there are more Band Bs of this standard but for us these two were just outstanding .

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

Port Angeles is an ideal spot to endeavour the Olympic Peninsulaand the San Juan Islands, or Vancouver Island. And the the George Washington Inn is an ideal focal point, without many comparable alternatives in the area. This was simply one of the best B&B experiences we encountered in the U.S., primarily attributed to the hospitality offered by Janet & Dan, and - of course - the reference to The Father of the Nation: Perfect service, a fantastic room with great views (including watching deer during breakfast). Similar to some other great locations the inn keepers reduce your choices to yes or no - and adaptability helps tremendously to improve the experience. If you're looking for an opportunity to learn about the general, this is an excellent place to be, and we'll certainly return.

The only possible area of improvement, not attributed to the Inn but to the surroundings: There's no restaurant close by which would match quality, friendliness, and service capabilities of the Inn.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to George Washington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Washington Inn

Address: 939 Finn Hall Rd, Port Angeles, WA 98362
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new oceanfront inn was built as a replica of George Washington's mansion near the Olympic National Park. George Washington Inn is a luxury oceanfront boutique inn with stunning mountain views and overlooks the Strait of Juan de Fuca from a high bluff between Sequim and Port Angeles, WA. Take a short drive or ferry ride from Seattle, Vancouver or Victoria and you can enjoy fine lodging and find nature at its best. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George Washington Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.