We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of George Washington Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
George Washington Inn
939 Finn Hall Rd, Port Angeles, WA 98362   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off in Gift Shop
Ranked #3 of 16 Port Angeles B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reno, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

An amazing place in an amazing location. Water views from the back porch of the inn and views of the olympic mountains from the front windows of the house.. Beautiful very large rooms, immaculate and comfortable with access to common areas both upstairs and downstairs. Fabulous tubs to soak in as well as a shower. Nicer in person than their video tour. Breakfast in the mornings at 8:30. They also have their own lavender store. Very accommodating hosts. A wonderful experience. We would happily return. Top notch!

Room Tip: We stayed in the smallest room which was probably 500 square feet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    4
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
127
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Capped off an 8 day trip to Oregon and Washington with a three night stay at the George Washington Inn. My wife and I had never been to the Olympic peninsula and wanted to end at a nice B&B. We could not have made a better choice. We were the only guests for the first two of our three nights and having one of the two top floor corner suites was a treat. The owner, Janet was a perfect host and the replica home was beautifully furnished and situated on a bluff overlooking the the straights with Victoria BC off in the distance. Breakfast on the glass porch each morning was a perfect way to start our day exploring Olympic Park.

Room Tip: Either of the top two corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The George Washington Inn is amazing - visually inside and out. What a wonderful creation by Dan and Janet, our warm, friendly and accomplished hosts who have established a most interesting replica of the historical house. The furnishings and atmosphere reflect the careful consideration that has been given to provide a restful, welcoming ambience. Nothing is too much trouble. The standard within the bedroom accommodation is outstanding and we so enjoyed the air jet bathtub and view out to sea. Breakfast was nutritious and enjoyable and we appreciated the way our hosts were accommodating as we made an earlier start than stated. For that extra special break away!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are well positioned and of a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is a beautiful Bed and Breakfast on the Strait of Juan de Fuca overlooking Vicrtoria and the San Juan Islands. The location, views, rooms, staff and ambiance are all great. We highly recommend it for a relaxing vacation or as a base to explore the northern parts of the Olympic Peninsula, including Port Townsend, Sequim, Huricane Ridge, Lake Crescent, Neah Bay, etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed at the Washington Inn for 4 Nights during your Honeymoon Trip! And we can say this was the best Place of the whole Trip. And we give five points to the breakfast! Many many many thanks to Janet...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed at the George Washington Inn in the General's Suite for our honeymoon. The house and grounds are beautifully maintained and the innkeepers are welcoming and attentive but not fussy. Our room was amazing, everything from the air jet bathtub to the ocean view from the bed was wonderful. We watched three movies from the DVD collection in the library and browsed through some of the multitude of historical books. While the Inn was recently built (I believe it was built between 2006 - 2007) it feels historical and established without seeming old and worn. The onsite lavendar farm must add to the relaxing environment because even the bees are content! The breakfasts we enjoyed were amazing and they even catered to my husband's vegetarian lifestyle. This Inn is for people looking to get away (Sequim is about 10 miles away), relax and enjoy the peacefulness of watching the ocean. If you want hustle and bustle, go somewhere else. They also roast their own coffee and it is so good I had to buy a bag on our way out! If they made it a bed, breakfast and dinner, there would be no conceivable reason to leave the grounds. We will return next year.

Room Tip: The General's Suite has a private entrance to both the front of the building and onto the verand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at the George Washington Inn during our trip to the peninsula! Dan and Janet are so sweet and do an amazing job making their guests feel at home. The home is immaculate with beautiful views from both the front (Olympic mountains and lavender fields) and the back (Puget Sound).

Our favorite parts:
- Indoor breakfast veranda with sweeping views of the Puget Sound.
- Janet packed us a "to-go" breakfast one day for our early morning trip to catch the ferry to Victoria.
- Beautiful back yard grounds with benches and sweeping views of the sound.
- My husband loved the house blend coffee bar available all day.
- Our room was spectacular! Fireplace, fridge, soaking tub, views of the sound, and very roomy!!
- Delicious breakfast each morning!

You really can't ask for a better B&B in the Port Angeles/Sequim area! The George Washington Inn is the place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to George Washington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Washington Inn

Address: 939 Finn Hall Rd, Port Angeles, WA 98362
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new oceanfront inn was built as a replica of George Washington's mansion near the Olympic National Park. George Washington Inn is a luxury oceanfront boutique inn with stunning mountain views and overlooks the Strait of Juan de Fuca from a high bluff between Sequim and Port Angeles, WA. Take a short drive or ferry ride from Seattle, Vancouver or Victoria and you can enjoy fine lodging and find nature at its best. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George Washington Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added George Washington Inn to your Saves list