We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and relaxing with a great breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of George Washington Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
George Washington Inn
939 Finn Hall Rd, Port Angeles, WA 98362   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off in Gift Shop
Ranked #3 of 16 Port Angeles B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Oregon City, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful and relaxing with a great breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed at the George Washington Inn in the General's Suite for our honeymoon. The house and grounds are beautifully maintained and the innkeepers are welcoming and attentive but not fussy. Our room was amazing, everything from the air jet bathtub to the ocean view from the bed was wonderful. We watched three movies from the DVD collection in the library and browsed through some of the multitude of historical books. While the Inn was recently built (I believe it was built between 2006 - 2007) it feels historical and established without seeming old and worn. The onsite lavendar farm must add to the relaxing environment because even the bees are content! The breakfasts we enjoyed were amazing and they even catered to my husband's vegetarian lifestyle. This Inn is for people looking to get away (Sequim is about 10 miles away), relax and enjoy the peacefulness of watching the ocean. If you want hustle and bustle, go somewhere else. They also roast their own coffee and it is so good I had to buy a bag on our way out! If they made it a bed, breakfast and dinner, there would be no conceivable reason to leave the grounds. We will return next year.

Room Tip: The General's Suite has a private entrance to both the front of the building and onto the verand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    4
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
126
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at the George Washington Inn during our trip to the peninsula! Dan and Janet are so sweet and do an amazing job making their guests feel at home. The home is immaculate with beautiful views from both the front (Olympic mountains and lavender fields) and the back (Puget Sound).

Our favorite parts:
- Indoor breakfast veranda with sweeping views of the Puget Sound.
- Janet packed us a "to-go" breakfast one day for our early morning trip to catch the ferry to Victoria.
- Beautiful back yard grounds with benches and sweeping views of the sound.
- My husband loved the house blend coffee bar available all day.
- Our room was spectacular! Fireplace, fridge, soaking tub, views of the sound, and very roomy!!
- Delicious breakfast each morning!

You really can't ask for a better B&B in the Port Angeles/Sequim area! The George Washington Inn is the place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This B&B is located on secluded property. The back of the house over looks the ocean, and the front over looks their lavendar farm. The owners Dan and Janet Abbott are awesome people, the breakfasts were outstanding, and the Presidentail Suite was 110% excellent!! This is a must-stay at place, highly highly highly recommend this B&B. If you are ever in the Port Angeles WA area, you must stay here!!!

Room Tip: Book the Presidentail Suite, private entrance, large expansive bedroom and bath, excellent kitchen a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Over the course of six nights, we stayed at three different B & B’s in the Port Angeles / Sequim area (two nights each). Although this post is a bit lengthy, it is a review of all three, and is intended for comparison purposes....at least for three of the B &B’s that are available in this area.

This comes with the usual disclaimers: our tastes may differ from yours, we may have different budgets, we may have different notions of quality and value, we may have different interests, yada, yada, yada.

Also, apologies for the length of this post, but our philosophy is, the more information the better when choosing where to stay.

George Washington Inn
Your first impression of this property will be memorable. The long driveway is lined with the purple of lavender plants (it is also a working lavender farm), and the two story inn is an impressive structure as it has the design and footprint of George Washington’s Mount Vernon.
The interior is just as impressive as the exterior. We had a private entrance on the ground floor, but our suite was upstairs and Dan carried our luggage up. We stayed in the General’s Suite ($280 /night). It was large and airy with a large bathroom, a king-sized bed, flat screen TV, and kitchen area that included a fridge, microwave, sink, and 4-seat dining table. The bedding was extremely comfortable, the bathroom toiletries/amenities were exceptional, the kitchen was well stocked with plates, glasses, silverware, and the cleanliness of the room and the common areas was exceptional. In other words, this inn has all of the small touches covered the way you would expect from a premium property, which this definitely is.
Although the front of the property is impressive, the back of the inn is equally, if not more impressive. Off of our suite, and running the full length of the inn, was a covered veranda (great for inclement weather) that afforded an unbelievable view of the Strait of Juan de Fuca. You can watch container ships, cruise ships, military ships, and nuclear subs(only seldom) pass by. It is so quiet and peaceful, it could easily lull you to sleep.
The breakfast room is below the upper veranda and offers the same exceptional views. The size and openness of the veranda and the breakfast room certainly add to the ambiance.
The food was also exceptional, with an offering of fruit, an egg dish, and lavender flavored biscuits of pastries (remember, it’s a lavender farm also).
Janet and Dan are very friendly hosts/owners and provide excellent hospitality.
The only con we encountered was the shower/bath in the General’s Suite. The shower has a rain shower head which is located over the center of the jacuzzi tub. It is surrounded by a circular shower curtain. This is visible in the photos of the suite. Because the tub is rather deep and the floor of the tub is not flat but irregular, getting in and out of the tub can be cumbersome, and the irregular floor makes for unsure footing. In addition, the controls are behind the curtain which makes adjustments a bit problematic. This could probably be solved by reconfiguration and installing a small separate shower. I would not stay in this particular suite again due to this issue.
All in all, the George Washington Inn is an exceptional B&B, and we would definitely stay here again.


Domaine Madeleine
The Domain Madeleine is another exceptional B&B. Although the entrance is not as impressive as the George Washington, these grounds have their own exceptional qualities. Like the GW, there are fantastic views of the Strait, and the peace and quite are alluring. They may not have a covered veranda for inclement weather, but they have multiple seating areas, and one very special place to sit.
When facing the water, there is a new stairway built at the far right end of the property that leads to the beach. For various reasons, beach access is not allowed, but don’t despair. There is a bench provided at the first landing of the stairway. When sitting here you are in a different world. The only sounds you hear are the waves crashing below, or the occasional ship that passes by. Being an early riser, I sat there both mornings and was kept company by a sap-sucker, hummingbirds, and bald eagles that nest nearby. If for no other reason, this made it worth staying here.
We stayed in the Renoir Room ($250 /night) one night and the Monet ($215) the other night. Both rooms are spacious and well appointed with extremely comfortable bedding and great attention to detail and small touches. There is no fridge in either room, but there is one available to guests in the main kitchen, which is accessible at all hours. In addition, there is an ice machine in the main kitchen area.
The major difference between the Monet and Renoir rooms is the Monet has a gas fireplace, a small corner shower, and a large jacuzzi tub, whereas the Renoir has no fireplace, and has a large walk-in shower only. The Renoir does include exclusive use of a separate living room where there is a fireplace.
The Domain M highly advertises its five course breakfast, and with good reason. The food is truly exceptional. The second morning we had a pistachio encrusted halibut that was out of this world.
Like GW, this is an exceptional B&B, and Jeri and her staff provide fantastic hospitality.



Inn at Rooster Hill
The Inn at Rooster Hill operates in a different spectrum than the George Washington or the Domain Madeleine. It is for the more budget-conscious and has more of the feel of a boarding house. The property is not nearly as nice nor as maintained, and there is no view nor attraction to the location as it is located on a dead end in a rural neighborhood just outside Port Angeles. We stayed in the Roiel (pronounced royal) room ($179) which was quite spacious with a jacuzzi tub, corner shower, and a large walk-in closet that also contained a fridge, microwave, and sink.
Unlike the GW and DM, the small touches and details are missing, an indication that corners are cut to save money and keep prices low: no bar soap at all, no lotions, the bedding is adequate and, in addition, the rooms are cleaned only every three days if you stay multiple nights. No fresh sheets (and the bed is unmade), no new towels, and if you use any plates, glasses, or silverware, it won’t get cleaned for three days. This is freely stated on the website.
The food is adequate but nothing special and, back to the missing details, there was only sugar for tea or coffee, no artificial sweetener like Splenda or Sweet and Low. The common area and the dining arrangements are small, although you can eat on the deck if you wish. All in all, as mentioned before, it has the feel of a boarding house, where special amenities or frills aren’t provided.
That said, the rooms are clean, there is plenty of hot water, and the location affords a quite night’s sleep. In addition, Peggy and Layne are very hospitable, very free with information and, for the budget conscious, the rooms are less per night than the GW or DM, and there is no two-night minimum. Also, some of their policies are a little more flexible than the upscale B&B’s.

In conclusion, since our budget will allow for it, the George Washington Inn and the Domain Madeleine run neck and neck as our preferred B&B. They each have their own special attributes. If you are looking for an upscale B&B experience, you can’t go wrong with either place. They are both truly exceptional properties. We have stayed at many B&B’s and we don’t say that lightly. If instead you are very budget-conscious and don’t care about the location or frills, the Inn at Rooster Hill will definitely meet your needs. Like was mentioned before, they simply operate in a different spectrum.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

For some reason the George Washington Inn was a little off our radar - with other nearby B&B's in guidebooks, etc. But after some not-so-welcoming attempts to book another b&b we stumbled upon this lovely inn and thank goodness! We were so impressed with the property as we drove up the lovely, lavender lined driveway to the stately residence. It has the appeal of a luxury inn - and not that of staying in someone's home that sometimes B&B's have. Janet was there to welcome us, show us around the inn and show us to our lovely and large room with a huge bathroom complete with separate shower and state of the art jetted tub. We were travelling for a while so the big room and comfy bed was a real treat. Janet and Dan are welcoming and hospitable hosts that really take this business seriously. They gladly accommodated our need for an early breakfast for a sea kayaking adventure and made sure we were seriously fed for all our daily adventures. The entire inn is very well kept, fresh and new and extremely clean. It's a wonderful place to come "home" to at the end of the day with spectacular views of the Straight and Victoria. I would (will) stay here on our next visit and recommend it highly. I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Choosing the George Washington Inn made our vacation perfect. This place is fabulous! Every detail is attended to, the innkeepers are lovely, the setting is unsurpassed, and bald eagles during breakfast - over the top! We loved hiking all day in the Olympic National Park and then having this relaxing, first rate venue to return to. Their breakfast is delightful. Excellent food in just the right portions.

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

The George Washington in not only is in one of the most beautiful settings on the Olympic Peninsula, but as guests, we were treated like Royalty. Proprietors, Dan and Janet Abbott, greeted us with a warm and friendly welcome and made us feel right at home. Since we were unfamiliar with the area, the Abbotts went out of there way to tell us where we should go to eat, sight see and even made a few phone calls for us. They also gave us the name and number of a real estate agent who could help us with our real estate needs. We have since moved to the Peninsula largely do to the love and care that the Abbotts showed us when we were here. We have recommeded the George Washington Inn to many people, and several of our friends have stayed there every time they visit the Peninsula. WE HIGHLY RECOMMEND THE GEORGE WASHINGTON INN!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to George Washington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Washington Inn

Address: 939 Finn Hall Rd, Port Angeles, WA 98362
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new oceanfront inn was built as a replica of George Washington's mansion near the Olympic National Park. George Washington Inn is a luxury oceanfront boutique inn with stunning mountain views and overlooks the Strait of Juan de Fuca from a high bluff between Sequim and Port Angeles, WA. Take a short drive or ferry ride from Seattle, Vancouver or Victoria and you can enjoy fine lodging and find nature at its best. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George Washington Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added George Washington Inn to your Saves list