We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place, but too expensive and too many restrictions” 3 of 5 stars
Review of A Hidden Haven Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Hidden Haven Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added A Hidden Haven Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1428 Dan Kelly Road, Port Angeles, WA 98363   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Port Angeles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Nice Place, but too expensive and too many restrictions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had booked the "Whimsical bear log cabin" and the "Bird song suite" for the previous weekend. The log cabin was great with all the amenities, very clean and well maintained. It seemed very new, however, we were charged $310 per night and that was too expensive! We could not find any other place close by and so we had to book this place. The owners also told us multiple times that kids need to be quiet because. We were there with a 3, 4 & 5 year old (two families) and our kids were relatively well behaved kids. But being told multiple times that kids are not welcome due to the fact that other guests may not like the noise was a bit annoying. The owners have grand kids of their own so they said they don't mind it, however other guests might. Olympics is a family vacation type of a place, so I am not sure if they built this with that in mind. So overall I would recommend this place if you are ready to pay $$ and not take your kids along :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at A Hidden Haven Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
First we would like to apologize for any offence taken by this guest. The price is clearly stated on our website. It was clearly stated on the telephone and every guest including this guest was given a written confirmation stating exactly what the exact charges are including total price with taxes. Yes we do charge for extras and that was also stated clearly. However we did NOT charge anything for the three children, we only charged for the extra adult. The fact this guest states they could not find other lodging was probably due to the fact there are only 1 or 2 other lodgings like ours that will take children. For the first time in our 13 years of business we did make an exception for this guest and allowed her to have a child in a suite in our main home. We are sorry she took offence that we stated that there were other guests staying in the suite next to her, therefore it would be nice if the child or children that came from the cottage could be considerate of the noise level. We have always welcomed children in our cottages, however as we stated this is the 1st time for a child in the main house and due to this response we believe this will be the last time we will make an exception like this to accommodate a guest. Once again we are sorry this guest took offence at anything that was stated to her as we did not intend any offence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
57
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our third stay at Hidden Haven, this visit for 10 days/9 nights. The wife and I with Mom along for the first time in an adjacent cabin; Mom too was charmed as we have been on our previous stays. Chris and Jodi were again the gracious and caring hosts that were perfect for a relaxing vacation stay. The Inn's grounds are wonderful and the location is perfect for day trips (Port Townsend, Victoria (a ferry trip from Port Angeles), Lake Cresent and Hurricane Ridge in the Olympic National Forrest). Most mornings we just spent together on the cabin deck; a quiet place in a forrest setting, tea, coffee and pastries, and some great books and time spent together - perfect! We did venture out each day to find a market (Sunny Farms or Nash's Organic Produce in Sequim, or Country-Aire Market in Port Angeles). And we did have an adventure day hitting three farmers markets in Port Angeles, Sequim, and Port Townsend. Local fish and produce, a well-equipped kitchen and the barbeque on the deck - great meals. The main thing about this and our previous stays, that keeps us coming back (and planning for next year) is the relaxing and peaceful time we all enjoyed. Thank-you Chris & Jodi! Highly recommended for a quiet, peaceful and relaxing vacation!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

staying at Hidden Haven was a wonderful experience and we wish we had been able to stay longer. very comfortable and in a lovely setting. it is an excellent place for visiting the nearby Olympic rain forest a well as the sea side nearby.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria,BC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

As we were unable to book a hotel in Port Angeles on short notice decided to try a B&B. Called Hidden Haven and they gave us their last room. The place is a little out of town but worth the drive. Gorgeous setting, mainly cabins, although our room in main house. Large suite with bedroom and rose room sitting room, and large bathroom has tub with a view. Our room had views of garden & pond. Decor a little too froo froo for my liking, but works here. Gorgeous deer on property, and there are trout in pond. Room didnt come with breakfast, I guess because they mainly have cottages. But a nice coffee set up in room. Wish we weren't on route, would be a lovely place to spend a few dats. I highly recommend, lovely place and people are accommodating and nice!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My daughter and I stayed 3 nights in the Whimsical Bear cottage. The location is off major roads in a secluded area. Our cottage was charmingly decorated and spacious for 2. The bath had a shower and large spa tub which were very clean. Those were the good points. We arrived in the late afternoon to a dead bird lying on the front stoop. I had to kick it out into the yard while trying to unload the car and groceries. But that I could overlook. What I can't overlook is what happened the last night we were there. After dinner we were blocked from our drive by a SWAT team with semi-automatic rifles. There had been a "home invasion" nearby and the police had just arrested two men hiding in the heavy foliage near our cottage. We were told by the police to stay inside our cottage and call 911 if we saw the other, still missing suspect (who is still missing and on the state's most wanted list). I could expand on the story as it went on all night. What distressed me the most was that, even though we called and spoke with a person at the main house twice during the night, no one ever called to check on us, no one offered an apology or any explanation or update on the situation. Basically they never expressed any concern for our safety, or the distress this caused us all through the night. Luckily our cell phones worked OK there, but the land line that was mentioned in the house folder was not present. So if our cell phones didn't work we would have had no way to contact 911. And the locks on the doors (especially the sliding glass doors) were certainly not adequate to make us feel secure if someone wanted to get inside. I cannot recommend a place where the host has so little regard for the safety and security of their guests. I know they could never have predicted such an event, but not to have made an effort to be sure we were aware of the situation and of the safety precautions we needed to take...that is inexcusable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at A Hidden Haven Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
We would like to say we are truly sorry any guest at any time would think that we would be anything less than very concerned about their safety. We have lived here for 40 years and never once had anything like this even remotely happen. The robbery did not occur in our neighborhood. It occurred in the town of Port Angeles. The police chased the guilty parties all the way from town to our neighborhood, where they abandoned their car and ran into the woods. We would like any of our guests that experienced this as we also did, to know the police did not give us any updates other than to say by a recorded message on our phone at one point, that they had all been arrested. Then came to our door after that and said they had one more person to arrest and that we would be told when that person was in custody. The police were in such a hurry we could not even ask questions. We never heard from the police after that. And because of the prior recorded message (and lack of police communication) actually thought that maybe the last guilty party had been caught. We kept all guest updated to everything that we knew. As for a land phone there is one in the main guest entrance of our main house. If it were off the hook it had to be very temporary and I don't understand why if it wasn't present the guest didn't simply call our cell number which is posted everywhere. Or they could have called our landline at anytime which is also posted everywhere. In a situation like this we did the best we could with the information we were given by the police. There was much confusion with the police communication. As for the dead bird it must have happened at the last minute. Because we sweep and clean the porches before guests arrive. We are in the country and occasionally nature can throw a curve ball. The fact is this manhunt was beyond our control. Also we would like to note any of our guests that experienced this could have asked the police to keep them informed via their own personal cell phone? We were not the only ones with a telephone. We are sorry for any guest that experienced this unfortunate event. The fact is this was beyond our control. And once again are sorry it had to happen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We agree with all the raves by other reviewers for this place. We stayed in the Birdsong suite for 2 nights, then switched to a cottage. The suite, located in the owner's house, is beautifully decorated, very large, has a private entrance and a big deck which gets the morning sun. We switched to the cottage so our daughter could join us and sleep on the couch in the living room. All the cottages have the same lay-out though they are all decorated differently. They are all decorated beautifully, are very spacious with a large deck with a table and chairs in a woodsy setting.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This place was all that was promised on the website and more! My family and I stayed in the Whimsical Bear cottage for two nights and loved every bit of it. The grounds are amazing and so peaceful! Chris is very helpful in directing you to sights in the area. We are looking forward to going back and creating more fun family memories in the Hidden Haven!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to A Hidden Haven Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Hidden Haven Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1428 Dan Kelly Road, Port Angeles, WA 98363
Location: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Inn with enchanting fully equipped cottages. Adjacent to the Olympic National Park near Port Angeles, Forks and Sequim Washington. Nestled in the lush forest at the foothills of the Olympic Peninsula on 20 secluded acres with waterfalls, ponds, plants and wildlife. Hand feed Prancer our private reindeer, fallow deer, spot the turtle and trout that bubble out of our large pond. Meander on our nature trail to experience the local flora and fauna and 100 year old trees. Only a few minutes to the beaches and tidepooling. Ten minutes to Victoria BC. Ferries. Winter snow skiing and snow shoeing close by. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Hidden Haven Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.