We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly clean room, friendly owner and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Victorian Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Victorian Motel to your Saves list
Royal Victorian Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   521 E. First Street, Port Angeles, WA 98362   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Port Angeles
memphis, tn
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Incredibly clean room, friendly owner and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2008

We loved our stay here. The beds and pillows were comfortable. The room and bathroom impeccably clean, the owner and staff super friendly and helpful. We received a generous off-season rate, all with a smile and obvious appreciation for our business.
The rooms are basic but all anyone would need. Ours had a small fridge and microwave. If you need a hair dryer or iron/board just ask and they will quickly provide it.
There is a small but good enough continental breakfast to get you going in the morning.
The main point is when traveling you really want a clean comfortable room right? This motel delivers.
It's exterior is very cute also with it's bright yellow paint and colorful hanging flower baskets.
Regarding the noise from the road, it is there but it won't keep you up at night. Just turn the room fan on for background noise or plug your ears with tissue. I slept very good.
I recommend this motel and would absolutely stay there again.
Thank you KC and staff!
(Don't forget to tip your housekeeper! They obviously do a great job!)
Dinner tip: See my review for Sabai Thai - might be the best Thai food we've ever had!

  • Liked — Clean rooms, friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    119
    43
    13
    7
See reviews for
75
132
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sidney B.C.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

All the reviews previous were correct! Adorable little saffron motel. It was like stepping into the 1960's in this old little motel but stepping when it was first built because it was in great condition. It was amazingly clean, sparkling actually. The rooms had ample space complete with micro and fridge and large cable TV selection. Very nice place indeed!

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Low water pressure from really small shower head
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

This is an older motel, but the exterior is well-kept. It is a small, two story motel - not hotel. There are just enough parking spaces for the number of units. The managers are attentive and go a step beyond to make sure that your stay is pleasant. We arrived late in the evening. The next day, I went down to get some things from the continental breakfast right before they would be closed. The manager then told me that she had set aside a tray with assorted selections for us. I guess that she had anticipated that we might not make it within the specified time for the breakfast. It was the basic fare, but certainly adequate, complete with bottles of water for each of us.

The bottom line is that the management seems to care about the satisfaction of the guests. The furnishings are old, curtains dated and not hung perfect - but the clean carpets, clean bedding, clean bathroom, clean (without bleach smell) towels and the attentive managers far outweigh the dated furnishings.

The motel is located right on Highway 101, as are most of them in Port Angeles, so there is going to be some highway noise, but it is not constant noise late in the night. I would suggest requesting rooms other than the two on the very end closest to the highway. We had waited until the week before to make reservations, so we had to be in one room the first night and switch to another room for the second night, (both with kitchenettes). Housekeeping staff moved our luggage for us while we were at the Sequim Lavender Festival during the day.

The previous reviews about this motel led us to the decision to stay here and I feel that they were accurate. The place was as expected - an old motel with clean rooms and good staff. If we attend the Lavender Festival again, we would gladly stay at this hotel, but would certainly remember to reserve our room a few weeks ahead, in order to get choice of rooms.

  • Liked — Cleanliness of rooms and attentive staff
  • Disliked — Some highway noise
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

I stayed here for one night but was impressed by the friendly staff and cleanliness. I will say I was a tiny bit taken aback by the provision of Christian literature - books and print outs about saving my soul and so on, not just the customary bible. Clearly the owners are serious about their faith and want to take the chance to spread the message but it was something I had never seen before.

The room was large and the bed comfortable. There was a fridge and a large television. The man behind the front desk was very helpful on finding somewhere to eat and they let me leave my car in the lot after checkout so I could meet a friend for lunch which was much appreciated.

Good value and would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Liked — Comfort and cleanliness
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamont, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Royal Victorian for a few nights in Sept of 07 while visiting the Olympic Penninsula and BC. I'm usually not a fan of motels (outside entrance), but it received excellent reviews so we gave it a try.
What a pleasant surprise! The staff was VERY VERY friendly and quite helpful when it came to suggesting activities, restaurants and giving directions. Since we were going to be there for about 4 nights, the owner even upgraded us to a little suite that had two bedrooms and a kitchenette. The rooms weren't modern, but they were clean and comfortable. You can tell they take pride in their business!
It was very convenient access to the Olympic Peninsula (Hurricane ridge is right down the road and we also visited Rialto beach and the Hoh Rainforest) and it was very easy access to the ferry to Victoria, BC (10 min walk).
Without a doubt I would stay there again and recommend it to anyone!

  • Liked — Clean, friendly and access to everything, continental breakfast
  • Disliked — Not the hotel itself per say, but the restuarants all seem to close early around there!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahrump, NV
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2008

Great Hotel in downtown Port Angeles centrally located to all the downtown shops and the ferry. Older but very well maintained exterior and interior. Some downtown hotels make you feel uncomfortable or not safe. You won't feel that at this hotel! Cassey and Ed go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible. They take a personal interest in ensuring that your visit to their hotel and community is enjoyable. Depending on which room you have, you may experience some road noise, but that is typical of any downtown hotel. Don't hesitate to stay with them. You'll be pleasantly surprised at the level of service you will receive.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Tx
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2007

Stayed with my wife for three days. Large room and bathroom. Older property, but very clean. Staff was very friendly.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Victorian Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victorian Motel

Address: 521 E. First Street, Port Angeles, WA 98362
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Victorian Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Victorian Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Victorian Hotel Port Angeles
Royal Victorian Port Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Victorian Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.