We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special, caring owners & clean, comfortable rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Victorian Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Victorian Motel to your Saves list
Royal Victorian Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   521 E. First Street, Port Angeles, WA 98362   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Port Angeles
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very special, caring owners & clean, comfortable rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had stayed in this motel more than 10 years ago & remembered it was clean, comfortable, & affordable. That is still is. Even includes mini-fridge & microwave. As noted by others, this isn't a fancy place, just a good, basic, friendly place. The owner, KC, goes out of her way to make you welcome & accommodates all needs. She really makes the place special. Walkable distance to the Victoria ferry, which we did. KC even greeted us with bottles of cold water when we returned from our uphill walk from the ferry terminal! You won't find owners who care more about their customers & their property. I am glad I chose to come back here & will do so again if overnight in the area again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a downstairs room that had two bedrooms & the one in the back was dark & quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    119
    43
    13
    7
See reviews for
75
132
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We recently stayed at this motel twice in one week. the rooms upstairs are the best with new beds and new carpeting. The owners are really nice and accomodating to everything you ask and are very friendly. The motel is very close to town and they have some excellent suggestions for places to eat!
We really liked this place!

Room Tip: Take the rooms upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

An older 2-story motel that's moderately priced for the area/season, located on the main drag E 1st St (aka Rt 101). The manager ("KC") was very friendly and helpful in helping us with our vacation laundry even though this is not a normal service and she was not obligated to do this. Not the topt accommodations we've ever experienced, but perfectly fine for somewhere to shower/sleep when my wife and I were visiting Olympic NP July 2013.

We had a very large, clean, odorless room that had a king bed, and bathroom with the sink/counter inside. Room also had the usual TV (did not use), microwave, and small refrigerator. Bath towels were a bit thinner than usual, but passable for a short stay. Room was generally quiet with just an occasional vehicle noise from the main street.

The free WiFi connection was intermittent and a bit slow. Our AT&T cellphone coverage was OK.

The free "continental" breakfast in the small office was really bare-bones with coffee and a few pastries, not worth consideration unless one does not do much breakfast. There are many services and restaurants within short distances from the motel, both on the main drag and streets nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Top Contributor
401 reviews 401 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

if you want ' fancy' or ' new ' -don't stay. if you want to feel welcome, wanted, appreciated, and are okay with plain, older, ( clean ) rooms, then this is the place. you can pay a lot more, and not get much better in Port Angeles. Its an older, tired town. We selected this motel, based entirely on TA reviews, and it proved true. the owners , KC, and her husband, are very very friendly.
I had a " bed Nazi " - and these are the best ever !!! Soft. Room is nice an big, bathroom nice and big. easy parking , in front of your room. Free coffee in the morning. Free Wi-Fi.
relatively quiet for sleeping, traffic noise not too bad. no jets overhead. good location for walking to restaurants and shopping. I like business people who care. And these people care about their guests and their business. I don't think you will be disappointed . ( as long as you don't want a fancy place with all the bells and whistles )

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Knowing what you'll receive before you arrive prevents disappointments. What you'll receive when you arrive at this motel is a safe, secure, clean economy accommodation where the basics are covered: no smells, comfortable bed, shower & tub, microwave, television, alarm clock, writing table, a/c and heat. Hair dryers are kept in the office due to theft. There is coffee and continental type breakfast food in the office in the mornings and coffee is available throughout the day. Sometimes they have a dinner spread cooked which the guests are invited to enjoy. It's donation based.

Be sure to ask for rooms on the 2nd floor. Those are the nicer, larger rooms.

The location is very close to the ferry to Victoria and the waterfront. There are restaurants, shopping, a bank, and a gas station within walking distance,

If you're traveling with a group, ask for a group discount.

A friendly and helpful lady named KC is in charge of the motel. She's eager to help travelers and wants her guests to be comfortable.

I stayed at this hotel as part of a motorbike trip with 9 other ladies. Not only were we well taken care of but our bikes and belongings were safe.

When we checked out KC gave each of us a small tube of toothpaste and an energy bar for the road. It was a very thoughtful gesture. When we checked out KC did ask us that if we wrote reviews would we please take a moment and write a review for the motel. There's nothing wrong with asking your customers if they're pleased with your service would they mind writing a review for you. It's smart business. KC told me that people pull in to the parking lot but leave because they don't think the curb appeal is compelling enough. I can say that if you look beneath the surface here you'll have a safe, secure, clean, affordable, safe accommodation. If you judge this book by its cover you'll miss a good story.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room on the top (2nd) floor. These are the nicer, larger most modern rooms. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The Royal Victorian Motel is a bright spot in the middle of the city with its sunny yellow siding, green shutters, and many window boxes and pots of beautiful flowers. For tourists on a budget this was the best choice in Port Angeles. There were 9 of us, and the motel accomodated us with no problems. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The beds were comfortable, and there was plenty of hot water in the shower. The manager was very friendly and helpful, making wonderful suggestions for restaurants in the vicinity that provided good food at excellent prices.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

When you pull up, you may be unsure of how your stay will go, but don't! You can be absolutely, 100% certain that you are in very good hands! My boyfriend and I stayed at the Royal Victorian this winter and were so impressed by how personable, kind, thoughtful, and caring the owners were! The rooms are clean and comfortable. The value for the money was great! But truly, what made it shine were the owners! They treated everyone like family. They even had a cookout for everyone staying the night the evening we were there! And as if that weren't enough, we were running behind on catching the ferry the next morning, so the owner insisted on driving us there! When we got out, she handed us each a sack lunch! True story! These people were unbelievable! Stay here and have your faith in humanity restored! You would not be treated better if you stayed in a palace. I'll always remember and be grateful for their kindness.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Victorian Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victorian Motel

Address: 521 E. First Street, Port Angeles, WA 98362
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Victorian Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Victorian Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Victorian Hotel Port Angeles
Royal Victorian Port Angeles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Victorian Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.