We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Michaels Seafood and Steakhouse

Michaels Seafood and Steakhouse
117 B East First Street, Port Angeles, WA 98362
360-417-6929
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 93 Restaurants in Port Angeles
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The restaurant was very crowded and reservations are needed, so you know this is a very popular place. The food was delicious. I had King Salmon and it was done to perfection. Others in our group did not have seafood and they liked their meals as well.
If I was in Port Angeles I would definitely eat here again. Be sure to make reservations though before you go.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    68
    23
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My wife and I recently dined here on our last night in the U.S. before departing for two months in Canada. The concierge at our hotel recommended Michaels and one other place. We were very happy we chose Michaels, an intimate restaurant located downstairs in a funky basement setting. My wife decided on Salmon--I faced a dilemma. Black Cod was listed as a special, but as a salad. When I asked the very nice waitress if they could perhaps prepare the Black Cod another way, she said she thought so.... then moments later returned with the Chef, Caleb, who made some inquiries and discussed alternatives. We decided on a risotto based meal featuring the Black Cod. It was glorious. After some reviews complaining about service and food here we were a bit skeptical. But the restaurant was full, with what appeared to be locals, which says a lot. We join in highly recommending dining here. The atmosphere, the service and the food were memorable. Thanks, again, Caleb and crew.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Good food but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We ate here on a recent vacation after we couldn't get into Bella Italia across the street without a reservation. We were told there was a 30 minute wait but were seated in 15.

This is another Twilight mecca since it is the actual restaurant ambiance described in the book for Edward and Bella's first date.

The food is pricey but was very good. My husband enjoyed his seafood and my daughter and I had excellent soup and salad dinners.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colville, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Evening of Disasters”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The server recommended their "special" combinations which were two appetizers, an entree to be shared and two desserts. We found a pasta combination that sounded attractive. My companion ordered the crab chowder, which she said was very good. I opted for a crab broth which was the soup of the day. I have an allergy to dairy products which prevented me from also ordering the crab. That broth was inedible. It had a 1/4 inch of oil floating on the top. Couldn't get to the actual broth without spooning out a layer of distasteful oil. The server offered me a Greek salad instead. It, too, was overdressed and dripping with oil. The entree would have been good except for yet another heavy handed application of oil. Not a great dinner. The iced desserts were, well, ice cream. Everything on the menu was over-priced.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fine Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My wife & I dined at Michaels on a Sunday night. Seating is below ground level in cozy, private booths with lovely indirect lighting over tables from hansome glass fixture. We split a delicious Dungeness crab dinner salad and King Salmon entree. Quality and service was excellent

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michaels Seafood and Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Michaels Seafood and Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michaels Seafood and Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.