We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Michaels Seafood and Steakhouse

Michaels Seafood and Steakhouse
117 B East First Street, Port Angeles, WA 98362
360-417-6929
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 95 restaurants in Port Angeles
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Was recommended by I don't remember who, but glad we went. First impression was one of uncertainty as you begin a walk down a flight of stairs into a rather dark setting. Once your eyes begin to adjust it’s a nicely decorated area. Our waiter brought us fresh bread and oil which was the best I’ve had. I asked if by some chance it was bottled for sale, to which he laughed and said no, it was their own mixture. The food was very good and was reasonably priced. I would visit again no problem.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    96
    58
    21
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A bad night out....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Well we'd had a very positive review from the guys on the desk at our hotel, and the cab driver was equally enthusiastic so expectations were high when we walked into Michaels. So let's try and be fair - it was a Sunday night so I guess the main man in the kitchen was resting and they were jammed with customers on account of a fixed price deal, but this one just went from bad to worse. We were slow to get served which happens and decided to share a hummus and pitta bread starter ....nice and easy for the kitchen, what could possibly go wrong ? Well you could cremate one side of the pitta then flip it over and send it out and hope that no one would notice the chunks of black carbon and the all-pervading smell of burning. For mains one of us had salmon that was fine, but the other had seafood "stew" which was more of a cream broth containing a number of unopened clams and an extraordinary amount of fennel seeds that had been thrown in for good measure - the crowning glory was the waitress spilling this over the chair that my wife was sat on catching her leg slightly. On sending the clams back to the kitchen more were eventually sent out with apologies this time covered in the cream broth once more and large amounts of inexplicably raw onion and garlic. We decided to draw the meal to a conclusion without experiencing the joys of dessert. The bill without wine came to $75 with no deductions for the poor quality of the offering from the staff. As visitors from the UK we can't ever be regulars but we do expect to be treated with respect.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We drove through the entire town looking for restaurants and were lucky to find Michaels. I had the salmon carbonara which was delicious. The place had a quaint and cozy atmosphere and a good bar area. I would highly recommend a dinner at Michaels.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“good restuarant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My wife and I had the Alaskan Salmnon and it was very good but small. The service was also good. The section we sat in was dark some people like that kind of ambiance. We shared the German Chocolate cake. We weren't impressed with it and their were other choices on the menu that sounded good. Overall good restaurant. There is wi fi.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“expensive...worth it for special treat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Attentive service, lots of seating options. Excellent meal. Family friendly, perhaps not young children. Cozy atmosphere.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michaels Seafood and Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Michaels Seafood and Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michaels Seafood and Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.