We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“traveling grandma” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Port Angeles Downtown Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Port Angeles Downtown Hotel
101 1/2 Front Street, Port Angeles, WA 98362   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 hotels in Port Angeles
Corvallis, Oregon
1 review
“traveling grandma”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I plan on returning and making this pleasant hotel a base for exploring. I was exhausted when I arrived. There was some confusion about my reservation; but luckily a room was ready. And, it was a charming space, clean with a wide open window to the sea air. A bit funky to look out onto a neighboring roof; but I was not there for the view. The stairs are steep with a suitcase. The bathrooms are down the hall (the sink in the room is a good feature; the towels were ample and the bathroom was as close as it is at home). But, it was definitely better than most chain hotel/motel experiences I've had. I slept soundly...no traffic noise; nothing particularly disturbing from the other guests. A good meal in the diner on the corner. A dandy doughnut from the next door shop as I headed to the MV Coho Ferry the next morning. Fun art to walk around and see.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    63
    23
    11
    5
See reviews for
22
66
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aiken, South Carolina, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My family stayed at the Port Angeles Downtown Hotel for one night. The room was very clean and did not have any unpleasant odors at all. We were a bit confused on the entrance to the hotel and parking. Luckily we were there on a Saturday night and parking was not an issue. I was a little skeptical about sharing bathrooms with other guest, but each bathroom was private and very clean. The guy at the front desk was also very kind and helpful.

Room Tip: If you're staying for more that two nights, reserve a room with it's own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

A good value above a delicious restaurant in downtown Port Angeles. There are many stairs to climb, and free parking behind Chase bank. Traffic noise at night merits ear plugs.

Clean, shared washroom facilities. So it turned out to be one of those lovely vacation mornings where I skipped the shower. Sink in the room, so I did shave. So I am not a total savage.

Memorable grandmother bedspread.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

My Hubbie and I were only staying one night in Port Angeles and were looking for a good value. This place is clean, quaint and provides for your needs well. We got a room with a bathroom. Our only complaint was that you could very well hear the other people in their rooms.... Other than that, we really enjoy this cute hotel and its great location!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The hotel is located one block from the ferry landing to leave for Victoria Canada and within walking distance of lots of nice restaurants and shops. Our room was spacious and spotless. We opted for a room with shared bathroom. This was not a problem as there were numerous bathrooms with showers steps away from our room. All were squeaky clean.

Room Tip: There is no elevator and all rooms are either on the second or third floor of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

There are two sets of stairs with no elevator for the bargain rooms with shared bathrooms. We upgraded so we only had 19 steps to climb. The hotel is on the main logging truck route. Sleep became impossible unless you are used to living on a busy highway where loaded trucks shift gears by your window. I'm not. Nice flat screen tv. Got to see Breaking Bad.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Quite adequate and a good value. The shared bathrooms are among the cleanest facilities I've seen in any hotel - actually better than the half cleaned mildewey grouted shower/tub you are apt to find in a typical name brand chain's in-room bathroom. We stayed two nights as part of a tour of the Olympics. So convenient for the day trip on the ferry to Victoria, and breakfast in the restaurant on the ground level (as well as the next door donut shop) were both recommended. The noise on the street side was an issue, and I can see how this could be a deal breaker for someone not prepared. Good sleep if you have earplugs. Would be nice is the management provided a fan so you could have white noise and be able to shut the windows but still have some air movement - may want to consider bringing your own. I can also see how this place can get mixed reviews. You need to decide whether this arrangement meshes with you before booking, but if you come in knowing what to expect, you should be able to leave satisfied

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Port Angeles Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Angeles Downtown Hotel

Address: 101 1/2 Front Street, Port Angeles, WA 98362
Location: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 hotels in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small yet elegant family-owned hotel in the heart of Port Angeles, just one block away from the Coho ferry to Victoria, BC. Recently remodeled, located in the shopping and dining center of Port Angeles, The Downtown Hotel retains its old world charm with neat and tidy rooms ranging from budget-oriented Euro-Style one-beds to a two-bedroom apartment suite with a full kitchen. Some harbor or mountain views available. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port Angeles Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Port Angeles Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
;