We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Precious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Port Angeles Downtown Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Port Angeles Downtown Hotel
Save
You added Port Angeles Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
101 1/2 Front Street, Port Angeles, WA 98362   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Port Angeles
Aiken, South Carolina, United States
1 review
“Precious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My family stayed at the Port Angeles Downtown Hotel for one night. The room was very clean and did not have any unpleasant odors at all. We were a bit confused on the entrance to the hotel and parking. Luckily we were there on a Saturday night and parking was not an issue. I was a little skeptical about sharing bathrooms with other guest, but each bathroom was private and very clean. The guy at the front desk was also very kind and helpful.

Room Tip: If you're staying for more that two nights, reserve a room with it's own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    73
    25
    12
    5
See reviews for
24
74
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

A good value above a delicious restaurant in downtown Port Angeles. There are many stairs to climb, and free parking behind Chase bank. Traffic noise at night merits ear plugs.

Clean, shared washroom facilities. So it turned out to be one of those lovely vacation mornings where I skipped the shower. Sink in the room, so I did shave. So I am not a total savage.

Memorable grandmother bedspread.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

My Hubbie and I were only staying one night in Port Angeles and were looking for a good value. This place is clean, quaint and provides for your needs well. We got a room with a bathroom. Our only complaint was that you could very well hear the other people in their rooms.... Other than that, we really enjoy this cute hotel and its great location!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The hotel is located one block from the ferry landing to leave for Victoria Canada and within walking distance of lots of nice restaurants and shops. Our room was spacious and spotless. We opted for a room with shared bathroom. This was not a problem as there were numerous bathrooms with showers steps away from our room. All were squeaky clean.

Room Tip: There is no elevator and all rooms are either on the second or third floor of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

There are two sets of stairs with no elevator for the bargain rooms with shared bathrooms. We upgraded so we only had 19 steps to climb. The hotel is on the main logging truck route. Sleep became impossible unless you are used to living on a busy highway where loaded trucks shift gears by your window. I'm not. Nice flat screen tv. Got to see Breaking Bad.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Quite adequate and a good value. The shared bathrooms are among the cleanest facilities I've seen in any hotel - actually better than the half cleaned mildewey grouted shower/tub you are apt to find in a typical name brand chain's in-room bathroom. We stayed two nights as part of a tour of the Olympics. So convenient for the day trip on the ferry to Victoria, and breakfast in the restaurant on the ground level (as well as the next door donut shop) were both recommended. The noise on the street side was an issue, and I can see how this could be a deal breaker for someone not prepared. Good sleep if you have earplugs. Would be nice is the management provided a fan so you could have white noise and be able to shut the windows but still have some air movement - may want to consider bringing your own. I can also see how this place can get mixed reviews. You need to decide whether this arrangement meshes with you before booking, but if you come in knowing what to expect, you should be able to leave satisfied

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
172 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is my second stay at the Downtown Hotel. It was clean and comfortable. The shared bathroom thing is still no big deal. This time I brought the kids and they were totall ok with it. Checked in early which was nice. The only problem, in case mgmt reads this, is the back door that leads down the fire escape was propped open most of the day. Anyone from the alley could have walked right up to the rooms. I should have just closed it but I thought maybe people were hauling something etc. I would def stay here yet again. I really like this place and did I mention it's cheap!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Angeles hotels
1.9 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 18 in Port Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 1,052 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#6 of 18 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 1,041 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Port Angeles
Days Inn Port Angeles
#12 of 18 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Uptown
Quality Inn Uptown
#11 of 18 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Port Angeles Inn
Port Angeles Inn
#5 of 18 in Port Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
1.9 mi away
Super 8 Port Angeles
Super 8 Port Angeles
#3 of 18 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Angeles Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Angeles Downtown Hotel

Address: 101 1/2 Front Street, Port Angeles, WA 98362
Location: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small yet elegant family-owned hotel in the heart of Port Angeles, just one block away from the Coho ferry to Victoria, BC. Recently remodeled, located in the shopping and dining center of Port Angeles, The Downtown Hotel retains its old world charm with neat and tidy rooms ranging from budget-oriented Euro-Style one-beds to a two-bedroom apartment suite with a full kitchen. Some harbor or mountain views available. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port Angeles Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.