We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and fine. Bring ear plugs.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Port Angeles Downtown Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Port Angeles Downtown Hotel
Save Saved
You added Port Angeles Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
101 1/2 Front Street, Port Angeles, WA 98362   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Port Angeles
Chicago
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Unique and fine. Bring ear plugs.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

A good value above a delicious restaurant in downtown Port Angeles. There are many stairs to climb, and free parking behind Chase bank. Traffic noise at night merits ear plugs.

Clean, shared washroom facilities. So it turned out to be one of those lovely vacation mornings where I skipped the shower. Sink in the room, so I did shave. So I am not a total savage.

Memorable grandmother bedspread.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    66
    23
    12
    5
See reviews for
22
70
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Spokane Valley, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

My Hubbie and I were only staying one night in Port Angeles and were looking for a good value. This place is clean, quaint and provides for your needs well. We got a room with a bathroom. Our only complaint was that you could very well hear the other people in their rooms.... Other than that, we really enjoy this cute hotel and its great location!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The hotel is located one block from the ferry landing to leave for Victoria Canada and within walking distance of lots of nice restaurants and shops. Our room was spacious and spotless. We opted for a room with shared bathroom. This was not a problem as there were numerous bathrooms with showers steps away from our room. All were squeaky clean.

Room Tip: There is no elevator and all rooms are either on the second or third floor of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

There are two sets of stairs with no elevator for the bargain rooms with shared bathrooms. We upgraded so we only had 19 steps to climb. The hotel is on the main logging truck route. Sleep became impossible unless you are used to living on a busy highway where loaded trucks shift gears by your window. I'm not. Nice flat screen tv. Got to see Breaking Bad.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Quite adequate and a good value. The shared bathrooms are among the cleanest facilities I've seen in any hotel - actually better than the half cleaned mildewey grouted shower/tub you are apt to find in a typical name brand chain's in-room bathroom. We stayed two nights as part of a tour of the Olympics. So convenient for the day trip on the ferry to Victoria, and breakfast in the restaurant on the ground level (as well as the next door donut shop) were both recommended. The noise on the street side was an issue, and I can see how this could be a deal breaker for someone not prepared. Good sleep if you have earplugs. Would be nice is the management provided a fan so you could have white noise and be able to shut the windows but still have some air movement - may want to consider bringing your own. I can also see how this place can get mixed reviews. You need to decide whether this arrangement meshes with you before booking, but if you come in knowing what to expect, you should be able to leave satisfied

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is my second stay at the Downtown Hotel. It was clean and comfortable. The shared bathroom thing is still no big deal. This time I brought the kids and they were totall ok with it. Checked in early which was nice. The only problem, in case mgmt reads this, is the back door that leads down the fire escape was propped open most of the day. Anyone from the alley could have walked right up to the rooms. I should have just closed it but I thought maybe people were hauling something etc. I would def stay here yet again. I really like this place and did I mention it's cheap!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my mom and sister for 5 nights just a couple of weeks ago. We really liked this place for the most part. We got the apartment suite, which included two queen beds, private bathroom, fairly modern furnishings, a flat screen TV, and a full kitchen (including glasses, utensils, and even pots and pans to cook with!). It was also very clean, and here's the best part: it was super cheap! The suite was only $110 during the peak season, which is probably cheaper than a crappy standard room somewhere else. The main thing we didn't like so much was the noise. Our room faced the street which I believe was the truck route for the 101 so we heard a lot of loud trucks. We got earplugs though and slept fine. There's not much the hotel can do about this though except maybe give out free earplugs. Also the owner might want to think about putting dressers in the rooms; there weren't very many places to put our clothes. There's a cute restaurant underneath the hotel that we had a really good breakfast at and a really good donut shop next door also (maple bacon donuts!). If you want to take the ferry to Victoria, it's the best place to stay because it's literally a two minute walk right into the terminal. The manager was nice and very accommodating. All in all, I would stay there again and recommend it to anyone. Just bring earplugs!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Port Angeles Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Angeles Downtown Hotel

Address: 101 1/2 Front Street, Port Angeles, WA 98362
Location: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small yet elegant family-owned hotel in the heart of Port Angeles, just one block away from the Coho ferry to Victoria, BC. Recently remodeled, located in the shopping and dining center of Port Angeles, The Downtown Hotel retains its old world charm with neat and tidy rooms ranging from budget-oriented Euro-Style one-beds to a two-bedroom apartment suite with a full kitchen. Some harbor or mountain views available. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port Angeles Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.