We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Port Angeles Downtown Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Port Angeles Downtown Hotel
Save
You added Port Angeles Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
101 1/2 Front Street, Port Angeles, WA 98362   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Port Angeles
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clean & Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The hotel is located one block from the ferry landing to leave for Victoria Canada and within walking distance of lots of nice restaurants and shops. Our room was spacious and spotless. We opted for a room with shared bathroom. This was not a problem as there were numerous bathrooms with showers steps away from our room. All were squeaky clean.

Room Tip: There is no elevator and all rooms are either on the second or third floor of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dixie_Kangaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

There are two sets of stairs with no elevator for the bargain rooms with shared bathrooms. We upgraded so we only had 19 steps to climb. The hotel is on the main logging truck route. Sleep became impossible unless you are used to living on a busy highway where loaded trucks shift gears by your window. I'm not. Nice flat screen tv. Got to see Breaking Bad.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Quite adequate and a good value. The shared bathrooms are among the cleanest facilities I've seen in any hotel - actually better than the half cleaned mildewey grouted shower/tub you are apt to find in a typical name brand chain's in-room bathroom. We stayed two nights as part of a tour of the Olympics. So convenient for the day trip on the ferry to Victoria, and breakfast in the restaurant on the ground level (as well as the next door donut shop) were both recommended. The noise on the street side was an issue, and I can see how this could be a deal breaker for someone not prepared. Good sleep if you have earplugs. Would be nice is the management provided a fan so you could have white noise and be able to shut the windows but still have some air movement - may want to consider bringing your own. I can also see how this place can get mixed reviews. You need to decide whether this arrangement meshes with you before booking, but if you come in knowing what to expect, you should be able to leave satisfied

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SWDCtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
211 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is my second stay at the Downtown Hotel. It was clean and comfortable. The shared bathroom thing is still no big deal. This time I brought the kids and they were totall ok with it. Checked in early which was nice. The only problem, in case mgmt reads this, is the back door that leads down the fire escape was propped open most of the day. Anyone from the alley could have walked right up to the rooms. I should have just closed it but I thought maybe people were hauling something etc. I would def stay here yet again. I really like this place and did I mention it's cheap!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank janelje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my mom and sister for 5 nights just a couple of weeks ago. We really liked this place for the most part. We got the apartment suite, which included two queen beds, private bathroom, fairly modern furnishings, a flat screen TV, and a full kitchen (including glasses, utensils, and even pots and pans to cook with!). It was also very clean, and here's the best part: it was super cheap! The suite was only $110 during the peak season, which is probably cheaper than a crappy standard room somewhere else. The main thing we didn't like so much was the noise. Our room faced the street which I believe was the truck route for the 101 so we heard a lot of loud trucks. We got earplugs though and slept fine. There's not much the hotel can do about this though except maybe give out free earplugs. Also the owner might want to think about putting dressers in the rooms; there weren't very many places to put our clothes. There's a cute restaurant underneath the hotel that we had a really good breakfast at and a really good donut shop next door also (maple bacon donuts!). If you want to take the ferry to Victoria, it's the best place to stay because it's literally a two minute walk right into the terminal. The manager was nice and very accommodating. All in all, I would stay there again and recommend it to anyone. Just bring earplugs!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This place was more than we thought. We came into town and had booked another place, but it looked so horrible on the outside we stopped by the hotel to check it out. The room was clean, fresh paint on the walls. Overall wonderful, my friend even said she could deal with the BR down the all. Only complaint was the road noise. Next time I will bring ear plugs and shut the window. Also, we walked just 500 feet to ferry to for Victoria. They let us park free for the day in the hotel parking lot.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 52Bonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Always helpful to read the reviews of others. This place was reasonably priced and located right in downtown. It was quiet, clean and the room was a typical small town hotel, but with a full kitchen. We had booked a trip to Seattle which included our hotel there, but wanted to spend a night on the Olympic Penninsula. Our double room was $95/night & much, much nicer than any economy chain Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main street not as nice, as trucks come thru in the early hours of the morning. Alt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Angeles hotels
1.9 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 16 in Port Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 1,141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#5 of 16 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 1,107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Uptown
Quality Inn Uptown
#11 of 16 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Port Angeles
Days Inn Port Angeles
#12 of 16 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 538 reviews
0.1 mi away
Port Angeles Inn
Port Angeles Inn
#4 of 16 in Port Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
1.9 mi away
Super 8 Port Angeles
Super 8 Port Angeles
#3 of 16 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Angeles Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Angeles Downtown Hotel

Address: 101 1/2 Front Street, Port Angeles, WA 98362
Location: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small yet elegant family-owned hotel in the heart of Port Angeles, just one block away from the Coho ferry to Victoria, BC. Recently remodeled, located in the shopping and dining center of Port Angeles, The Downtown Hotel retains its old world charm with neat and tidy rooms ranging from budget-oriented Euro-Style one-beds to a two-bedroom apartment suite with a full kitchen. Some harbor or mountain views available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing