We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not be afraid!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Port Angeles Downtown Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Port Angeles Downtown Hotel
Save
You added Port Angeles Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
101 1/2 Front Street, Port Angeles, WA 98362   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Port Angeles
Minnesota
Level Contributor
163 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Do not be afraid!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed here Saturday Aug 18th 2012. I was a bit apprehensive about a room with no bath. Luckily I got a room right next to the bathroom so it felt like I had my own bath. And for $66 you can't beat it. Yes the seagulls were very loud and the roof next door and my view was the roof but that is not the hotel's fault and it was $66!!!! It was clean and the bed was magnificent! The shared bath was clean and the shower was not like a normal hotel shower that is pressure controlled. This was a full blast! Awesome! I highly recommend this place. Do not be afraid. I was a solo traveller and felt very safe.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    72
    25
    12
    5
See reviews for
24
72
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This place was exactly what we needed. It was clean and the owner was helpful with dinner suggestions. Location right downtown was convenient. I don't think there was AC, but this wasn't a problem as long as we left the window open. The shared bathrooms were clean and there was never a wait. The only slight downside was the incredibly noisy seagulls who perch on the top of the roof. Luckily we were so exhausted from our hikes each day that we slept well anyway.

Room Tip: Rooms on the right side of the hotel (as you walk up the stairs) might be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

If you are a smart traveler and bring earplugs you will have a not be bothered by noise. Great room, great staff, great location.(If you need luxury, the Red Lion is next door for triple the price). I would recommend this Hotel to any serious traveler.

Room Tip: I had a Euro room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

As a 27yr old woman traveling alone I felt very safe & welcome. I found it on here and called & got a room for $60. I needed a place to sleep and shower & it provided all I needed in a better setting than for instance a Super 8. Almost felt like a B&B I personally found it very charming. I did have the "euro style" room with a separate bathroom but it was next door to my room & it was private (door locks- no one is going to walk in on you) plus there were plenty to accomodate multiple people.
The doors slammed a little too easily and loud and walls seemed thin. I'm guessing its not great if u want a private, romantic night or just want to be able to make noise. I am bringing my hubby back in a couple of days so we'll see what he thinks.

GREAT location.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This is a cute, cozy, clean, friendly hotel in downtown- one block away from the water with a nice restaurant that serves great breakfasts below the hotel!! Euro style bathrooms are very clean and no problem to take a short walk down the hall to use them! it is a great little hotel with a good price--- it does not feel like a large hotel chain at all---much more personal!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed in a room that was street side. The racket from the trucks at the intersection below could not be shut out even with the windows closed. (And I don't like sleeping with the windows closed). Hence the lower rating. We traveled with others and their room was just as noisy. Our room itself could be described as either eclectic or dumpy. I don't consider that a deal breaker as long as the room and bathroom are clean, which they were. Good location if you don't plan to spend any time in the room but bring ear plugs and/or be prepared to share a bathroom.

Room Tip: avoid a room facing the street.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island BC Canada eh.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed here for one night before a road trip. It was conveniently close to the ferry terminal and a variety of conveniences such as the downtown core and a grocery store.
Nice clean room, felt very safe. The staff was welcoming and friendly.
Do note there was no elevator so people with disabilities would have difficulties getting upstairs to the rooms.
Also, the walls are paper thin-- we were stuck listening to our neighbours getting busy (thankfully they didn't take too long).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Angeles hotels
1.9 mi away
Olympic Lodge
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 18 in Port Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 1,030 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
#6 of 18 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 1,011 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Port Angeles
Days Inn Port Angeles
#11 of 18 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Uptown
Quality Inn Uptown
#10 of 18 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Port Angeles Inn
Port Angeles Inn
#5 of 18 in Port Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
1.9 mi away
Super 8 Port Angeles
Super 8 Port Angeles
#3 of 18 in Port Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Angeles Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Angeles Downtown Hotel

Address: 101 1/2 Front Street, Port Angeles, WA 98362
Location: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small yet elegant family-owned hotel in the heart of Port Angeles, just one block away from the Coho ferry to Victoria, BC. Recently remodeled, located in the shopping and dining center of Port Angeles, The Downtown Hotel retains its old world charm with neat and tidy rooms ranging from budget-oriented Euro-Style one-beds to a two-bedroom apartment suite with a full kitchen. Some harbor or mountain views available. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port Angeles Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.