We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just an Average Burger” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Frugals

Frugals
1520 East Front Street, Port Angeles, WA 98362
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 98 Restaurants in Port Angeles
Cuisines: Fast Food
Description: Fast food drive thru restaurant. Fresh, never frozen hamburgers, sandwiches, fries, shakes and drinks.
Restaurant details
Description: Fast food drive thru restaurant. Fresh, never frozen hamburgers, sandwiches, fries, shakes and drinks.
Vancouver, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just an Average Burger”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I had high hopes for this little place, since I remembered it as having a fantastic burger about 15 years ago. Unfortunately, the burger I had here on this trip was just average, and nothing to write home about. It's a cheap meal for those on a budget, but I prefer Burger King flavorwise. The entry to this tiny drive-through kiosk-style place is a bit dangerous and intimidating, with a short driveway requiring a quick manuever off a busy street followed by a very abrupt stop at the end of a line of cars.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“What happened, they were so good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were in Port Angeles today and yesterday. Looking forwars to Frugal Burger, we have been there 4-5 times before. The burgers were dry and enough salt for several weeks and the fries no longer have seasoning. Major disappointment, couldn't even eat mine and through it out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice old fashioned hamburger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Wanted a good lunch before going up to Hurricane Ridge. Drove in and got a regular hamburger, swiss mushroom burger, fries, and chocolate miikshake. All was very good. The fries were very nice and hot!! And haven't had a great chocolate shake like this in a while. Price was reasonable (except for the 50 cent add-on for using a credit card).

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neah Bay, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yummmm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Frugals is a neat strictly drive-thru food place.

We always order the BBQ pulled pork sandwich. It is good, saucy and the bun is crisped just enough to keep it from being soggy. The fries are good, and there are a lot of milkshakes available along with some seasonal ones as well (pumpkin spice).

It can be a little hard to get your order taken, but if you yell and speak clearly it gets the job done.

Plus, there is a sign as you're leaving saying "thank you" in the native languages from the two closest Native American tribes. (One is from our home town!)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“I Don't Get The Appeal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

We've given this place three tries seeing that it's so popular based on the long lines of cars. The burgers are very dry and hard to swallow. The fries are really salty but are perfect when dipped in the awesome fry sauce. The servers at the drive thru windows are very nice. I'll go again for the fries and that great sauce but I'll skip the burgers.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frugals also viewed

 

Been to Frugals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frugals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.