We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dishonest to their Customers - poor service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Uptown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Uptown to your Saves list
Quality Inn Uptown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 East 2nd. Street, Port Angeles, WA 98362   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Port Angeles
marcgjr
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dishonest to their Customers - poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

The worst hotel you could stay in. Charged me for a room I didn't even stay in. This was after I was told it would be re-credited and I need not worry about it. Two faced is not a way to treat your customers. I certainly wont stay here again and hope you don't waste your time either. Don't give them a chance to hassel you too!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QIPA, General Manager at Quality Inn Uptown, responded to this review, June 29, 2009
A missunderstanding must have occurred. Our hotel has a 24 hour cancellation policy. Perhaps this guest called less then 24 hours prior to arrival date/time. If this was the case the Guest Service agent may have overrode the policy and extended a courtesy cancellation. The guests credit card would have been "authorized" to guarantee this reservation by this time. If a credit card was authorized this authorization would have been released by the credit card company within 72 hours. If a debit card was used to guarantee this reservation the release can take up to 14 days. My apologies for how room reservation guarantees are processed. Our hotel "would not have charged a guest after stating to the guest they would not be charged"A missunderstanding obviously occured here .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    63
    36
    18
    17
See reviews for
38
76
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
baltimore
Top Contributor
344 reviews 344 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2008

We stayed at the Quality Inn for one night. The room needs to be remodeled. Small bed, very old small bathroom that needs updating. We were located on the second floor with no elevator. There is no A/C, the room was very stuffy so we had the windows open and you could hear people coming and going. The location is great if you are taking the ferry. The steps take you right downtown and you are two blocks from the ferry. Breakfast was minimal and I thought the room rate was expensive for what you got. Stay elsewhere.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QIPA, General Manager at Quality Inn Uptown, responded to this review, December 14, 2010
I appreciate your review of our hotel. Our breakfast has been updated with many new options. Our full Q Corner hot breakfast is an improvement. We offer Queen bed and King bed rooms as a choice for our guests. We are a two - three story hotel and unfortunately do not have elevators. Please accept my apology that your experience you not enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2008

This is the best of the worst. It's clean but desperately needs renovating: torn upholstery, stained carpet, pink shower and toilet (!), painted plywood bathroom cabinets, fluorescent throughout. Staff is nice and helpful. Goodlocation near passenger ferry to Victoria. A better value for the same money is the Olympia Best Western West only a couple of miles on 101.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — decor
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QIPA, General Manager at Quality Inn Uptown, responded to this review, December 14, 2010
I appreciate your review of our hotel. We strive to ensure each guest experience is positive. We consistantly evaluate and update areas to provide guest satisfaction. Your comments matter and help us improve our overall guest satisfaction.Thank-you Liz Conrad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

We stayed two nights at this hotel located on a hilltop above the downtown Port Angeles area. A lengthy flight of stairs leads down to shops---the ferry dock is two blocks further.
The rooms in the main hotel were nice, clean, and remodeled, but there was no air-conditioning. A nice breeze from the open window and table-top fan provided cooling and ventilation.
Although my relatives stayed in a large room with windows facing the waterfront, our room was small with entry from an inner passageway with a window above the back street. The street noise quited down nicely enough for us to get good rest.
Breakfast provided protein in the form of hard-broiled eggs (and minimally in the form or yogurt), but the rest was carbs via waffles, cereal, muffins, breads, etc.
I felt the price was high, even with our AAA discount, for the quality of the room.

  • Liked — Internet service
  • Disliked — Cramped room with no air conditioning
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QIPA, General Manager at Quality Inn Uptown, responded to this review, December 14, 2010
Thank you for your review! Many of our guest rooms offer a view of Port Angele's inner harbor, however, we also have rooms that offer a spectacular view of the Olympic Mountains.From your room descriptions you stayed in one of each. I apologize for any discomfort our lack of air conditioning caused you. The Pacific Northwest has very few days of high temperatures, so it is not a standard at many of the hotels in our area. Our breakfast is always a work in progress and we listen to our guests and change\add items as guest preferences become known.
Thank you for your input. Liz Conrad General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon Coast
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2008

We stayed there one night, before taking morning ferry over to Victoria, BC. Room was small, but clean. We had a nice view of the Olympic Mountains. The breakfast was pretty good - expanded continental, with waffles, biscuits and gravy. Staff was pleasant and helpful.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Small room, dated decor
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QIPA, General Manager at Quality Inn Uptown, responded to this review, December 14, 2010
Thank you for placing your review on tripadvisor.Your comments let us know what we are doing right and where we can improve. If you travel to Port Angeles, WA again we hope to provide you with a satisfying visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

First the good things: Clean room, comfortable bed, friendly staff and decent breakfast ( waffles, cereal, fruit, yogurt, biscuits/gravy, juice, coffee). Also, requested a wake up call and recieved it at the time I requested which was appreciated.
Now the not so good: The hotel sits on a bluff overlooking downtown which includes the main street thru town. So you can hear traffic (semi-trucks included) most of the time. The rooms are situated so that the windows face the side (NOT northfacing - towards the water) so except for the last 2 rooms at the end, the "view rooms" aren't much of a view (views of parking lot). Plus the windows look right out onto the walkways which does not allow for much privacy if you keep the shades open. The walls are thin - I heard my neighbors as they stomped up the stairs and when they were in their rooms. Also, since the rooms look out to the parking lot, anyone arriving, leaving, unpacking, packing (morning, noon, night) can be heard with clarity. I also asked the front desk girl when I checked in, where I could get a good seafood dinner. She said "The Landing" at the waterfront had "The Best" fish & Chips. That may be true as I did go there but did not order that. I ordered a caesar salad with crab and cup of clam chowder. $25.00 later I had picked out some crab meat - ate the soup (just okay - have had MUCH better - even at Ivars...) and wished I'd just gone to the local bar - even the garlic toast served with the salad was awful - I couldn't finish even one piece. Service was lacking and there was a constant loud noise/vibration coming from the bar that I could not understand at all?? So, if you stay in Port Angeles (or passing thru) do not waste your money on the expensive and tasteless food at "The Landing".
Back to the hotel - this is not a horrible place to stay - just not as nice as advertised and is overpriced. This is basically an old hotel, renovated but still lacking.

  • Liked — comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Noisy location
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QIPA, General Manager at Quality Inn Uptown, responded to this review, December 14, 2010
We strive to create a positive memorable experience for each guest staying at our motel. I sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay with us. Our motel was built to take advantage of the inner harbor and and Olympic Mountain views in our area. Not all rooms offer the same view experience and unfortunately it seems you were not happy with the view you received. I want to also apologize for the dinner recommendation you received and were not happy with. Port Angeles offers many great restaurants. Every guest experience is unique and our goal is to create a positive impression of Port Angeles and our motel.
Thank-you for placing your review on tripadvisor - your opinion counts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2007

The Quality Inn Uptown was a nice, clean, affordable, and very convenient hotel for an early morning ferry to Victoria. The room was very clean, cookies in the evening a nice touch, and the morning breakfast enjoyable. I would stay there again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QIPA, General Manager at Quality Inn Uptown, responded to this review, December 21, 2010
I very much enjoyed your review of our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to tell others about our hotel. Your opinions count. I'm looking forward to welcoming you back to Port Angeles and our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Uptown

Address: 101 East 2nd. Street, Port Angeles, WA 98362
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Uptown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Uptown Hotel Port Angeles
Quality Inn Port Angeles
Port Angeles Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Uptown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.