We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Uptown

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn Uptown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn Uptown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 East 2nd. Street, Port Angeles, WA 98362   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 17 hotels in Port Angeles
Radford
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

From this motel, you can walk down a substantial flight of steps to the historical area of Port Angeles which is worth some time. The room (across the street from the office) was clean and large, and the breakfast was nice. The only problem could be access. There was no elevator, so if you cannot carry luggage up a regular flight of steps, this is not the motel for you. Also, the room was not air conditioned, but our weather was cool (even in August), so we did not miss the A.C.

Room Tip: We liked the newer section of the motel which was across the street from the office. The rooms att...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QIPA, General Manager at Quality Inn Uptown, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for placing your review on Tripadvisor. Your comments are very important to us. I am pleased you enjoyed our location. It's great to hear you had the opportunity to explore the historical areas in Port Angeles. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel and Port Angeles in the future.

Liz Conrad & Quality Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    53
    33
    12
    14
See reviews for
32
61
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Due to a problem with planned reservation ended here. Tired and run down, dated decor, yet clean. Bed very creaky. Only double in our room, so 10 year old on floor with bed covers! Good breakfast, helpful staff. We did arrive 10pm so probably room due to this. Cheap and adequate, but not a quality experience.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QIPA, General Manager at Quality Inn Uptown, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear valued guest;

First and foremost let me extend a very sincere apology for your recent experience at my hotel. Although reservations are supposed to come in on real time we have been experiencing an issue with up to 20 minute delays. As we are filling our rooms directly at the hotel they are being overbooked on line. With the lag time and occurrence of overbookings we have been relocating these overbooked guests at alternative hotels.

You have my deepest apology. We did our best to accomodate your reservation as best as we were able.

Be aware the hotel has increased our front desk staff knowledge to do everything we are able to do to prevent this from happening to future guests.

Again,
My apologies,

Liz Conrad & Quality Inn Uptown staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This hotel was very average but something incredible happened! We left a diamond engagement and wedding ring on the night stand---valued at about $4,000. We didn't even realize it until the desk clerk called us and said the girl cleaning our room found them and turned them in! Although we had checked out, we were sight-seeing in Olympic Nat'f forest so we went back to retrieve them. Needless to say, we are going to mail her a reward for her honesty.

Room Tip: No pool---so I don't know how to rate this. I don't think there was a fitness center either...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QIPA, General Manager at Quality Inn Uptown, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for placing your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate all our guest comments.
Although it appears there were some aspects of your stay you were dissatisfied with we are happy to hear you were overall happy with your stay with us.
It is our hotels policy to attempt to contact guests who leave personal belongings behind in their guest room, in an effort to allow them to pick them up before they are too far out of the area.
I am pleased to hear and acknowledge our staff's honestly and that you received your belongings that were left behind. Honesty is important to us and I am happy you were able to retreive your rings.

Thank you again for your kind words,
We look forward to your future stays at the Quality Inn Uptown

Liz Conrad & Quality Inn Uptown staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I'm rating this hotel a three only because the employees are great and the keep it clean. Pros: the breakfast was good and the attendant was exceptionally hard working. She kept it spotless and well-stocked. The location was good. Just a staircase down the hill to downtown and close to safeway. Cons: the carpets and curtains in the room were ancient. It smelled a little and there was no a/c, but there was a small fan in the room. Bathroom was pink (circa 1950?) But it was clean. Three stories and no elevator, which made it tough for our senior family member. I loved the shower, but my daughters could not get consistent temperature--it was either freezing or hot. There is no fan but the bathroom faces the walkway. So you can open the window to air it out but be sure you are dressed because if you do people can look right in at you. I know one reviewer said she paid $98. We paid $150 with AAA in the height of summer. It was too much. Oh and the curtains do nothing to block out the massive lights they have lighting up the building.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if you can't climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QIPA, General Manager at Quality Inn Uptown, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We value all our guests opinions.I am happy to hear you enjoyed our breakfast service. I am unhappy to hear you had issues with your guestroom and it's location. Unfortunately our hotel is not a new hotel, and we do not have elevators. I am surprised you had issues with the water temperature in your guestroom. My maintenence department is looking into this issue to prevent other guests from experiencing this issue.
Thank you for posting your review
Quality Inn Uptown & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Well when we arrived the hotel was full so we were given a room in their overflow motel property. ok, to get ice you have to go across the street, the remote batteries were dead, the sink didn't drain, and when I took out the extra blanket I was shocked! On the bright side this is close to downtown and the ferries to Canada. but not worth 140 a night!

Room Tip: don't stay in they overflow rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QIPA, General Manager at Quality Inn Uptown, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Please reserve a room in the future at the Quality Inn Uptown in July and August. This is a busy time of the year in our area. My research shows that you did not stay at the Quality Inn Uptown however we were able to find you a room at another hotel the Uptown Inn. I apologize that you were not totally happy with your room accomodations.This is not an overflow room but rather a seperate hotel. I would like to invite you to a future stay at the Quality Inn Uptown in the future with an advance reservation during our busy season. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly to place your reservation for your next visit in the Port Angeles area.

Liz Conrad & Quality Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a repeat of many reviews for this location, I'll try and add a little different. We stayed here because it was the best price with a known name brand, $98pn for Tues/Wed nights. There isn't a lot to choose from here, PRO's- ALL the staff are extremely friendly and helpful and care about you, from check in, to the girls working breakfast and cleaning the rooms. They seem to take pride in this, very nice to see. The location of the place is very quiet and just a 5 min walk right below the property to downtown. Our room was upstairs and looked and smelled clean. Refrigerator inside which is nice as Safeway is 3 blocks away. The breakfast was good, hot waffles, fruit, yogurt, cereal, the basic needed stuff like everywhere USE to have. CON's- very basic things that are easy to replace are not being done here, the floor lamps, bathroom lights/fixtures, and towel rods are all cleaned, but about 30% rusted and pitted, and look like there from the early 90's, as are the wall pics. The light bulb strip over the bathroom sink took about a minute before they warmed up enough to be bright. that's pretty bad. There isn't a/c in any rooms, so if it gets warm and muggy (which it does in summer) be prepared for that. having said this, we didn't have issues with any of it, it's old but very clean. For $98 a night though, these things should be replaced a few rooms at a time or else lower the rates. We would look elsewhere for a b&b type place next time. Something one should be aware of while out in the town, there is a problem with street drugs here (meth), and even a few prostitutes up around the Safeway and the general port area. Be aware of keeping things out of sight in your car, and be aware of your surroundings. We didn't have an issue, but it appears to be a problem here.

Room Tip: Thin walls and floors, ask for a room upstairs (no elevator)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QIPA, General Manager at Quality Inn Uptown, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
We appreciate you placing your review on TripAdvisor. Thank you for your comments. I appreciate your feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed many features of our hotel, our staff, location,breakfast, and room cleanliness. The issue you experienced with our vanity lights was due to our use of CFL - energy efficient bulbs, they do light slowly. We are working on an answer to stay energy efficient and produce better lighting in our bathroom area.We value your opinions and share these with all staff members. I apologize that aspects of your stay were rough, but note we are working to make sure that all future guests will have a great experience. We are in the planning stages of improving our rooms with updated renovations this fall.
Thank you,
Liz Conrad & Quality Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is an older Quality Inn that probably needs a little updating, but the stay was very pleasant. The room was large and the location was perfect. The walk down the park stairs takes you right to the heart of downtown Port Angeles. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. All the staff was helpful, very nice and all around great. I did get amused about the saloon doors that separated the tub/toilet area from the sink. It wasn't a bad thing, just a little dated. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QIPA, General Manager at Quality Inn Uptown, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and placing your review on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed our location. I appreciate your kind comments about our staff. We are in the process of planning updated features in our guest rooms. I hope you will visit us again in the future and enjoy the changes we are making.

Liz Conrad & Quality Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Uptown

Address: 101 East 2nd. Street, Port Angeles, WA 98362
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 hotels in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Uptown 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Choice Hotels and Agoda so you can book your Quality Inn Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Uptown Hotel Port Angeles
Quality Inn Port Angeles
Port Angeles Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Uptown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.