We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chestnut Cottage Restaurant

Chestnut Cottage Restaurant
929 E. Front St., Port Angeles, WA
360-452-8344
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 98 Restaurants in Port Angeles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great food, great people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My husband and I just stumbled upon this place while on one of our many visits to the Olympics. Wish I had seen it sooner. First, the place is decorated so nicely: homey, fun, and relaxing. Great use of Tiffany lamps, wooden benches, plants, fireplace, the works. Immediately felt welcome, and when our server came we felt even moreso.

Rich and flavorful breakfast and lunch and oh so heavenly pastries that are made on the property are fantastic. For total decadence, try their cinnamon rolls smothered in a rich brown sugar cinnamon sauce. Ok, so you have to workout a bit more after eating here. It is absolutely worth it! Really!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    34
    9
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
sequim
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“enjoyeachvisit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Have been coming here to eat breakfast and lunch for the past 16 years and have always had a wonderful meal. The staff is friendly and the owners go out of their way to welcome guests. Enjoy the traditional breakfast and the Thai stir fry for lunch. Our out of town friends said it was the best breakfast they ever ate at a restauran!.We enjoy the atmosphere and music as well as the food.I love to use the weekly coupons printed in the local paper.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Yum Yum, i recommend splitting a meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

For an upscale breakfast joint this is a nice place, very classy. They always seem to hire cute high school girls. There is way too much food to eat for breakfast all by yourself so I'd recommend splitting a dish.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“For Special Occasions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

The food is great if you have no dietary restrictions. They were very nice and offered to make special dishes, but it became an ordeal.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent decor, helpful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

After several disappointing breakfasts at other Port Angeles restaurants, we found the Chesnut Cottage to be what we wanted in food, service, and prices. We were impressed by cute building housing the restaurant. Although we didn't have any children with us, we noticed many young kids enjoying breakfast with their parents. We will definitely return there the next time we are near Port Angeles.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chestnut Cottage Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chestnut Cottage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chestnut Cottage Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.