We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atrocious customer service!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   221 North Lincoln Street, Port Angeles, WA 98362   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Port Angeles
Bell, Florida
1 review
“Atrocious customer service!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We were really looking forward to staying at the red lion however when we went to check in Cassie the front desk agent was sour, rude, no smile and no help. We looked at a room which we liked so decided we'd stay but when my husband went to get a room Cassie was once again rude and uninviting.
Too bad that they lose business because they are unable to hire a professional staff!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn M, Director of Sales at Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us. We take all customer issues very seriously. I'm sorry to hear our front office staff did not handle your interaction with professionalism. Please accept my apologies --- I can only imagine the frustration and disappointment you must have felt. While I realize it does not erase your experience, I do hope you will allow us a chance to make it up to you on your next stay.

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    258
    183
    84
    37
See reviews for
191
267
34
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kogarah, Australia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Poor signage to the Hotel (very large restaurant sign in front of hotel instead of Red Lion). Partial renovation of the building - the outside is dated and unremarkable. The restaurant is gaunt and the food barely edible (for fear of food borne illness). During our stay the hallway and people above us were very loud (this lasted for nearly 4 hours - even after calling front desk. It only stopped after threatening to call Police for disturbance). Pros: in room fridge and microwave - bathroom was clean and the view of the water and pier was very nice (excluding the roadway and walking trail directly in front of your room window - lacks privacy). Over priced and over rated - Great Water View with Poor Amenities (especially the Crab House and the outside decor).

Room Tip: First floor water view isn't worth listening to the guest above you and there is a road way and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn M, Director of Sales at Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you very much for providing helpful feedback regarding your stay. I am glad you enjoyed the beautiful water view but I am sorry to hear about the poor experience you had at the restaurant as well as your dismay at the outdoor décor of the Hotel. We take all of our guest’s comments seriously as they assist us in providing a better customer experience. To that end, we will act to rectify the negative points you mentioned. That said, we do hope you will be staying with us again so we can prove our ability to exceed your expectations.

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

This hotel was surprisingly in line with larger, more urban than I expected. Linens were nice, everything clean. I would stay again... Maybe a few days now that I know Port Angeles is so lovely and accommodations nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

we stayed in one of the newly remodeled rooms and it was lovely. The beds were very comfortable, the room was spotlessly clean and the view of the bay from our balcony was wonderful. Everyone on staff was very helpful. We enjoyed having the fridge, microwave and in room coffeemaker.

we will recommend this hotel and plan on staying here again.

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room with a veiw of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Room was clean and comfortable. Situated right on the water perfect for an afternoon walk along the coastline. Beyond that... Breakfast was horrible... told us they normally have waffles but "Their maching Broke???" Then ate at the Crab House... only real mention of crab is the crab cocktail and the crab cakes... crab cakes taste like stuffing...no crab. Overall meal took over an hour an a half for the appetizers and the food. Had Shrimp & Grits and the entire entree had 4 small shrimp. Also have Creme' Brulee on menu in the room ... not in restaurant and the waitress says... we havent had that for a year I dont know why they still advertise it. DO NOT EAT AT THE CRAB HOUSE ... It is not what you would expect and it is WAY over priced!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Past reviews have indicated that this hotel was somewhat worn and tired. Our remodeled room was anything but. Comfortable beds, new carpeting and furniture, good Wifi and on the water to boot. Right in the center of the old town and adjacent to the ferry to Victoria. Breakfast in the dining room was very good and service throughout the hotel was excellent. Lots of parking. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River, Canada
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Luckily, we got to this hotel fast because we has a reservation. We were second in line to check in. The crowd off the ferry wasn't so lucky. By the time we got our key, the line up was out the door and snaking into the parking lot. The very sweet and unflappable desk clerk, on shift alone, was handling the situation graciously, but it is unfair to place an employee in this situation. The exterior areas of this hotel are not very nice. Grungy comes to mind. However, the rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Putting money into the rooms is of course the best idea and this hotel has done this. Pay a few extra dollars for the water view. It's worth it.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles

Address: 221 North Lincoln Street, Port Angeles, WA 98362
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles has been setting the standard for Olympic Peninsula hospitality for over 30 years. Situated on the shores of Hollywood Beach overlooking the Strait of Juan de Fuca, we are one block from the town center and steps away from ferries leaving daily for Victoria, B.C. Our unique location is one of the most scenic the Northwest has to offer. Nearby you'll find great shopping and the many natural attractions of Olympic National Park, including rainforests and beaches. Hiking, golfing, fishing, and skiing are also close by.Many of our 186 spacious guestrooms and suites have balconies overlooking the harbor and feature Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, complimentary parking and airport shuttle, as well as microwaves and refrigerators. All rooms feature coffee makers, complimentary wi-fi, telephone dataports and cable TV with Encore. When it's time to relax, we also have an outdoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center.The Port Angeles CrabHouse and Lounge serves up the best in seafood and steaks. We also offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... and don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. With 3,010 square feet of meeting space, we are also able to accommodate up to 220 guests for your next conference or special occasion. Our superior staff and shoreline location, make the Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles the right choice, whether you are on the Olympic Peninsula for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Port Angeles
Port Angeles Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.