We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   221 North Lincoln Street, Port Angeles, WA 98362   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Port Angeles
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The property sits directly on the water front with a walking/biking trail along the water. Be sure to ask for a water view, otherwise you could possibly have a view of the parking lot. The hotel is very close walking distance to good breakfast and other restaurants and just a few miles away from the Olympic Park Visitors Center and then another 10+ miles to Hurricane Ridge. The mattress was very comfortable. The bathroom had a sink and then a separate sink outside the bathroom. I will stay here again. The check-in staff person was very nice. There is an outdoor hot tub.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    270
    188
    85
    37
See reviews for
198
274
36
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

My parents and I were on our way home from a fabulous 10 day trip down the Oregon Coast. We had a very enjoyable time and we had stayed at hotels that varied in price and style during the trip. When we decided to return to Victoria via Port Angeles, we chose to stay at the Red Lion. How can you go wrong, close to the Blackball Ferry Terminal, overlooking the water and a seafood restaurant right in the hotel. Great. We were quoted a rate of $189.00 per night. At this rate you expect to get a nice comfortable,clean room and probably a look at the water right? Wrong. Upon entry the room smelled musty, there was what we hoped were just water stains on the furniture. We decided not to use the tub or the shower as it was not that inviting. I'll let you surmise what that means. Never mind,our last night, lets have a nice dinner. Reviewed the menu on line for the Crab House, looks great. We were seated in the restaurant and when we received the menus, we were surprised to see only a small selection of what we saw on the website menu. Disappointing. The service was good so we stayed. Will we be staying again? Likely not.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah H, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. It is disappointing to hear that we fell short in meeting your expectations. We strive to meet all guest expectations and to be your home away from home. I can understand how frustrating it is to feel as though the value for price is not there, and I apologize that your room seemed to have an odor. I hope that one day we will have the chance to have you back in Port Angeles, with our best foot forward. If you would like to discuss matters further, please contact me directly.

Best regards,

Hannah Hooper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Facing the water on our own balcony was great. So peaceful! We woke up to a beautiful sunrise. The room was clean and the bed was comfy - 2 super important things! The breakfast buffet was quite good also.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The annual Dungeness Crab Festival is located adjacent to the hotel. You cannot get a better hotel location to attend this event. We had a room along the water with a small balconey and a view of the water. Large room with a king sized comfortable bed. The TV operation is a little bit difficult. You get a scrolling menu that you cannot control or select from. This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. We will stay here in the future as well.

Room Tip: Select a room away from the access door or the stairway if you bring a dog. The dog goes on point e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We took the Blackball ferry from Victoria to PA and this hotel is an easy two block walk from the ferry terminal. We had a very nice king size room which was clean and very presentable. The staff were informative and courteous. Good value for the money paid.

Room Tip: We stayed at the back of the hotel due to the Crabfest activities on the water side (quieter) During...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I am rating the Red Lion excellent because Port Angeles is, what I consider a small town, and this hotel goes beyond what I expected. I live in Victoria, BC and went, with a friend, to Pt. Angeles for their annual Crab Festival this weekend ( October 11-12, 2013). My friend and I stayed at the Red Lion Hotel, a short walking distance from the Coho Ferry Dock. The Coho Ferry takes passengers to and from Victoria, BC, Canada to Pt. Angeles, Washington, USA. We had a package deal...hotel pre-paid. Check in went with out any problems, a tad slow, but with no problems. We got our room facing the water with two beds. The room was a very pleasant surprise. Very spacious, very clean, very comfy mattresses and pillows, bathroom just fine and a very nice view. Who could ask for anything more? We ate our lunch at their restaurant and had the BEST Dungeness Crab/corn chowder we had both ever eaten! Don't go with the cup...enjoy a bowl of this delight. We enjoyed room service for breakfast and our meals were very good. My friend had a Dungeness Crab omelette with veggies and cheese and and I had a bagel, ask them to toast it twice, with cream cheese and fresh fruit...delightfully fresh fruit and a lot of it. Both meals were good. I would not hesitate staying at the Red Lion Hotel in Port Angeles again. Oh yes...........there is a free shuttle to the casino!

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the water...you only live once! You will be able to watch the Coho Ferry comi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Had stayed here a few years ago and liked the location but the hotel itself was nothing special. I was pleasantly surprised to find that the rooms have been updated since that first trip and are really quite lovely. I was on the second floor with a parking lot view and did not experience any noise problems. We were a group of 30 plus people and most of us had dinner at the on site restaurant. Service was slow but we understood that they were overwhelmed by all of us eating at the same time. The bed was the most comfortable I've ever had in a hotel/motel, etc. and several others in the group also remarked on how good the beds are. My only complaint would be that there were hardly any television stations and no HD channels. Hotel employees were very welcoming and helpful. I would/will definitely stay there again,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles

Address: 221 North Lincoln Street, Port Angeles, WA 98362
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Port Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Port Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles has been setting the standard for Olympic Peninsula hospitality for over 30 years. Situated on the shores of Hollywood Beach overlooking the Strait of Juan de Fuca, we are one block from the town center and steps away from ferries leaving daily for Victoria, B.C. Our unique location is one of the most scenic the Northwest has to offer. Nearby you'll find great shopping and the many natural attractions of Olympic National Park, including rainforests and beaches. Hiking, golfing, fishing, and skiing are also close by.Many of our 186 spacious guestrooms and suites have balconies overlooking the harbor and feature Red Lion's signature plush Sealy pillowtop beds, Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), complimentary wi-fi, complimentary parking and airport shuttle, as well as microwaves and refrigerators. All rooms feature coffee makers, complimentary wi-fi, telephone dataports and cable TV with Encore. When it's time to relax, we also have an outdoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center.The Port Angeles CrabHouse and Lounge serves up the best in seafood and steaks. We also offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... and don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. With 3,010 square feet of meeting space, we are also able to accommodate up to 220 guests for your next conference or special occasion. Our superior staff and shoreline location, make the Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles the right choice, whether you are on the Olympic Peninsula for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Port Angeles
Port Angeles Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Port Angeles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.